We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and central”
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abba
Ranked #196 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and central”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Perfectly ok if you are using it as a base - near the centre, convenient for airport (metro to Laayland and then train to Schipol). The stairs are daunting but you get used to them. Supermarket downstairs and five minutes walk into older part of city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    209
    135
    36
    23
See reviews for
35
159
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I went here because of the good reviews from tripadvisor. The only quality of this hotel is its relatively good location. Our room stank of weed and it was not at all as clean as it is advertised on the website. I tried to refresh the rooms by leaving the windows open but it didn't do. The air in the room was humid and stinky, probably coming from the shower (although I didn't showered there). I just went there to sleep, anyway Amsterdam has plenty to offer during the night. But it wasn't a nice, restful experience at the hotel. I really don't understand why there are so many good reviews. I would recommend to (save money) pay more and get a decent hotel. Or stay in the suburbs and take a bike.

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels are better. If you are planning to stay here just don't forget to bring yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergiu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Tustin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Pros: great location, reception is great and helpful, a decent breakfast

Cons: shared bathroom, room reeked of tobacco smoke, TV not even worth turning on (not that big of a deal though), and quality of rooms clean but not quality, also not many outlets

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nupshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for four nights, travelling alone. The staff were friendly and helpful when checking in. The first night, the shared bathroom was dirty, urine on the seat, toilet unflushed, no toilet paper (the bathroom was shared between two rooms) but I had arrived about 10pm, was tired and just went to bed. If I had complained it probably would have got cleaned, as it was cleaned the next day, and when the people in the other room had left it stayed clean. So it really is down to luck as to whether you get someone dirty sharing the bathroom, rather than poor housekeeping. The room was very basic, but very clean. A small complaint about the room was the TV reception was poor, and there was no remote control, but as I was out most of the day this was not really a problem.
The dining room and reception were clean and bright, and the breakfast was great, a buffet with a good choice on offer.
There were some steep steps up to the hotel, and to the upper floors, I didn't find this a problem as I only had hand luggage, but something to be aware of if you have cases.
The walls were thin, on the last night I was kept awake by a group of lads shouting and slamming doors so I would be wary of staying there at busier times, or next time I would recommend buying earplugs! Having said all this though, I paid just £35 or so per night for the room so cannot really complain too much.
It was in a great location, 5-10 minutes walk from town, and a tram stop to and from the station right outside the hotel. There is a supermarket underneath the hotel and a nightshop across the road. All in all I would recommend this hotel as it is cheap and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank master_midian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for the third time recently. Glad to see that nothing had changed. Staff friendly and helpful as always. Discovered what I should have done before, which is that it's easier to book directly through their website than do it via booking.com, who managed to leak my credit card details the last time I used them. Couldn't get a room for my entire stay, and the other hotel, while pleasant enough, made me appreciate things like Abba's breakfast the more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was slightly apprehensive to be staying in a 'budget' hotel, however I needn't have been worried. The reception area was welcoming, the rooms were basic but very clean, and the bathroom was also really decent (with a new shower curtain). So we were happy as soon as we arrived. Our double bed was made with pristine white sheets, and towels were provided.

The location of this hotel is brilliant. A supermarket and ATM just downstairs, a tram stop directly opposite, and a five minute walk to Leidesplein.

The only downside for us was that we found the bed extremely hard, and the pillows very firm, however this is surely personal preference. We did not make it to breakfast so cannot comment on this, but based on our overall experience we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kierakiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Abba Hotel is well located, it is not in the center, but walking distance. Perfect if you don't like the confusion and noise of a busy downtown! If you don't like to walk either, than trams are available right at the doorstep!
Is also easy accessible from the airport, either by train/ tram or by direct bus (197) to Leidsplein.
The staff is friendly: we arrived before check-in and the recepcionist was very nice, giving us some information and talking about daily life - Olá desde Portugal Bartak! (hope I have got your name correctly!)
The breakfast is really good! The breakfast room is very nice and clean and they offer a good range of food and beverages.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and most of all, warm (as we went in November)!
Overall, a very good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosarinhoPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#224 of 368 in Amsterdam
284 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#307 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
#217 of 368 in Amsterdam
583 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#296 of 368 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Property: Hotel Abba
Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing