We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A good hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abba
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very good location near the centre of Amsterdam , near to the most important museums, very good tram connections to the centre and to the railway station.
Very clean , big bright room , basically furnished but with all necessary.Be sure to ask for a backside room which is very quiet and has a nice wiew to an inner court )
I had two power outlets for my rechargeable batteries and for my phone.
The breakfast is basic but fresh and good quality.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and ready to help .
Would definitely stay there again and recomend it to every traveler in search of a good hotel for a reasonable price ( for Amsterdam which is relatively expensive !)

Room Tip: ask for a backside room ( I explained why )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandrinatatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    164
    111
    28
    15
See reviews for
20
121
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, not far walk from attractions and just outside the tram stop. Rooms were basic but worth the money. Receptionist was lovely and put up with a lot from us! Smoking in the rooms is a plus and a must for people on a smokers holiday!! Stairs are a challenge but it made the hotel more fun and different! We had two rooms so had the floor to ourselves but i know otherwise you might have to share a bathroom, which i wouldnt fancy. Cant complain about anything else, great value!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themaskofzoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Abba is a decent, low price place, a bit far from the center of the city which means a lot of walking or tram. It offers a nice breakfast and very warm rooms. We were given a room at the top floor so we had to climb many stairs which is common in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower floors. Less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. What gets your attention is the location that is excellent, near the main streets where you gonna find all the pubs and parks, museums and tran (tre local train). Not very var from the train station as well.

Room Tip: I got a double room on the street side. I was actually june 2010.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgustec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Amsterdam is very expensive and this was one of the few places we could find within our budget that had a bathroom included. I believe some rooms had shared bathrooms down the hall.

It's not luxury but you get a pretty decent place for the price. There's a supermarket right below the hotel, which makes it very convenient. Also a tram #1 stop right across the street. The room and bathroom were clean.

There's no elevator, only a very windy, narrow, steep staircase. The girl at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. There was another guy there who wasn't as friendly.

The hotel is very close to all the museums, about 20-30 minute walk to red light district/dam square. Also a few minutes walk to a bus stop that goes directly to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sauciehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for the second time recently. The staff, who recognised me, were as helpful as they had been the previous time; the cat didn't seem to recall me, but you can't have everything. I had lost my continental adapter, and they had one; I couldn't see that what was plugged in wasn't the television but a table light, so thought the former didn't work, and they didn't tell me I was an idiot, although I was. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Close to the city center (and with a supermarket just downstairs). The building is old but the interior is fixed. We booked a room with private bathroom and all the fixtures were brand new and working perfectly. The room and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#241 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#190 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#195 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#194 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Property: Hotel Abba
Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing