We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not what I anticipated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Hotel Abba
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not what I anticipated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After 3 weeks in Europe, this was the least expensive place that I stayed in. This would be a fine hotel if I was still in my 20's or 30's and on a tighter budget. In hindsight I should have spent more money to get a little more luxury. As noted by others the rooms are tiny, the stairs are steep and shallow making hauling our bags to the second floor a pain.

On the good side the hotel has an excellent location with a tram stop in front. It is an easy walk to the Van Gogh museum, Rijk. Museum, and canal boat tour. There is also a nice grocery store below the hotel. Breakfast was adequate and the WiFi free.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room, and one that faces the inner courtyard to avoid the noise of the tram an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    164
    111
    28
    15
See reviews for
20
120
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was so grateful to finally have a room to myself (and a double bed to boot) after nearly a month on the road sharing with my mate that I didn't care about the size, comfort or noise level the first day.

However.....the stairs would make this place difficult for anyone whose mobility is even slightly impaired. There is no lift for guest use so whatever you are carrying, including suitcases, needs to make its way up to your floor on your steam. We both had top floor rooms at opposite ends of the building. Three flights up near vertical stairs after navigating the initial staircase up to the building. I didn't mind the stairs so much but my friend hated them.

The rooms are basic - we got a double with a bathroom. The bathroom was small but not tiny. The room was also small but not tiny. Basic. If the window was open, the noise from the streets below would keep you awake or wake you up when the first tram ran. I'm not sure if there was air con in the room - it got stuffy but the window was adequate ventilation, however we live in a hot climate so are more adjusted to heat than many.

The number 1 tram stops right outside and that will take you right into the city, past many major attractions. VERY, VERY easy and convenient. You can buy a 2 or 3 day ticket (probably a week one if you are there that long).

The guy that checked us in and was there on the last day (sorry I forgot your name) was AWESOME - very helpful and friendly. All staff were pleasant. Breakfast was good and the hotel was clean - very spick and span (kudos to those girls and guys that lug vacuum cleaners etc up and down those stairs!).

If you want a convenient located, clean and friendly, budget hotel, then this is your place. I will certainly go back.

Amsterdam is FAB!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkies_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago in 2006, I think. great place to stay for a weekend or a few days. rooms are average with a shower and toilet. Breakfast is pretty basic with a selection of bread and cold meats......you are in the Netherlands after all....There is a supermarket next door and loads of shops and bars nearby. It's a bit far from Amsterdam centre, but a tram is no problem.....they are right outside the door. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. Just ask and they deliver. I was there in November, a bit cold and rainy, but the bed was cosy and warm and heating in the room. It's great fun going to breakfast the next morning and everyone has a hangover....you are made so welcome. give it a go.....well worth it

Room Tip: all the rooms are good......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Hotel Abba in May 2013. I'm positively surprised at how well everything with the hotel went, because some of the reviews here got me kinda worried.

However, everything went great. Our room was plain but it had everything we needed, and the shared bathroom was clean. Being young and healthy I didn't mind climbing the stairs. I slept well - but recommend having earplugs in case you've got noisy neighbors. Luckily, we didn't.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oona93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Those are my two priorities when traveling so if you are looking for luxury look elsewhere. The breakfast included was okay, nothing amazing but when on a budget it's a nice addition. The room was a nice size in a clean safe location. I'd say its shabby but certainly not dirty. We had a pretty courtyard view from our window so it was pretty quiet.

We went summer of 2011 but I wasn't allowed to choose a date that fear back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollydc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and was in a great location (walking distance from main attractions). The room was pretty big considering this was Europe, but everything was dimly lit. We were having some issues with the faucet, and when we went to the front desk they basically told us that they couldn't do anything about it and that we would have to have it running all night until they had someone who could come look at it the next morning. Showers and bathrooms are communal and weren't dirty but not exactly the cleanest. For the price it was ok, but next time I might pay more for something better. The free breakfast in the morning is very good I must admit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

when we arrived i feel good..... it is in a nice place of Amsterdam: near voldelpark.. and walking in 3 minutes you can arrive at leidsplain. The rooms are not so big but the little park iinside is wonderful. you can stay there for smoke... just sigarettes.. ya.... and drink, is very beautiful.
the guys that work inside have kindly approach and verry pretty. the breakfast's food have much choice. ENJOY YOURSERLFES!!! ABBA IS GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoluxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#241 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#190 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#195 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#194 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Property: Hotel Abba
Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing