We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abba
Ranked #204 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tehran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was better than I expected. breakfast was suitable. staff were friendly and ready to help. location was close to facilities. There is a supermarket downstairs and the tram station opposite to entrance. As you know the hotel is an economic so do not expect elevator, ordinary room service.... My room was on the top floor. It was quite enough but a little damp. I passed narrow staircase and reached my room on the fifth floor. I met no other guests however I was told this is the only available room at that time. Bot it was a double bed and I payed for a single one. The hotel has two entrances. one passes stairs and reaches to reception and breakfast room. The other has a separate key and goes to the rooms. Anyway I would stay there in my next journey to Amsterdam in the similar situation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    164
    111
    28
    15
See reviews for
20
122
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

You you read the previous reviews you already know what to expect :The rooms are very modest and not very clean, smelling smoke bathrooms. Ok continental breakfast and location, easy to walk to all major attractions, if not just catch the tram that stops right in front of the hotel.
While in Amsterdam don't miss the canal cruise, walk along the streets and the local markets, it's a lovely, young and relaxed city, that I would mind living in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovetotravel22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I m happy with location and breakfast.. Staff also friendly but rooms are not enough clean and it is quite old. I understand it is a budget hotel but you can do it better with small spending. Internet is extra charge and it was 3 euro per an hour. Which century now!!! Internet is free all over the world..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenhorn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Agree with recent reviewers. As long as you are not allergic to smoke/weed and narrow staircases it's all good! Great central heating too. Clean rooms, OK continental breakfast, common showers and toilet clean enough. Also good walk-in rates - the same as with booking.com etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is not the Hilton. It does not claim to be nor would it want to be. It is a pot friendly budget hotel in Amsterdam.
You get what you pay for and i personaly had no problem with this place.
I knew what i was getting when i booked up.
Its a great location with a good grocer underneath. Outside on the street is a little noisy but when you are staying in the middle of a big city what do you expect ? Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 185Nikki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Considering this is a budget hotel, it's very good. I thought the trams may keep me awake but the double glazing ensured it they not. Good size room, very comfy bed etc... Breakfast was a decent selection and the breakfast room was bright and clean. I must say that my three nights in Hotel Abba were very comfortable and better than I was expecting. Tram stop right outside the hotel to take you into town or out to Lelylaan to catch the train out to Schipol. Hotel Abba is within very easy walking distance to central Amsterdam and its visitor attractions etc.. The staff in Hotel Abba were very helpful. They have a secure luggage room for your bags if you require it. I shall leave similar feedback on booking.com when they invite me to do so as that's where I booked the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff were pleasant, things were clean, smoking allowed as long as you didn't set the alarm off, which is civilised. It's always nice to have a resident cat on the premises, though this one is a placid old lady of 15. Only problem was smell from toilet that I was going to say something about, but closing the door eliminated the immediately problem, and later it seemed to have righted itself.

Room Tip: It's 68 steps to the top floor, and they're typical Amsterdam steps, but you feel virtuous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#238 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#294 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#195 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#194 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#191 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Property: Hotel Abba
Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing