We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hortus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #239 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel Hortus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

*****STAY 2006*****

I stayed in this hotel in March, 2006. It was my first time leaving USA and this was the hotel we chose. We had no idea how to get there and just as luck had it someone who worked for the hotel was asking travelers in the subway station if they need a place to stay. We stayed in this hotel for 11 days and it was more than enough for what we had to spend. We met a lot of great people here and I would totally suggest staying here to anyone traveler 18-21. We had a fun time with the workers named Nick and Jada. Our stay for 11 days for 3 people including breakfast.....$75 USD.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    152
    82
    54
    33
See reviews for
22
161
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here on a trip around Europe between 16th and 18th June 2014. It had a very hostel-like feel about it and we had a great time. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was filling. We were able to come and go as we pleased and we felt as though we were in a very safe area. Hotel Hortus is in a fantastic location and for the good price you are able to walk into the centre of Amsterdam (and in fact all parts of Amsterdam) very quickly, you won't even need to use trams if you don't mind walking. The staff were really helpful and spoke great English. When we arrived we had to leave our bags in the corridor which we didn't feel 100% comfortable with as anyone could have taken something from them and they weren't in a locked room. The breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, bread, jams, spreads and croissants. An important thing to consider is what kind of trip you are undertaking. I would certainly recommend Hotel Hortus to travellers wanting a quiet, safe and comfortable stay, people coming to Amsterdam for the obvious reasons with friends, and anyone wanting a cheap place to stay. Nonetheless, if you're travelling for a more waited upon holiday, spend a bit more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Hortus is the ideal place for a stay in Amsterdam, all the staff here are very welcoming and informative and cannot do enough to help you. Breakfast is a bonus which not many other places include in the price, and is really good. We rented bikes from the hotel and the price was much cheaper than all of the other prices we saw (10 euros compared to average of around 15 elsewhere) and the bikes were really high quality and faultless. The staff guided us on how to get here we wanted to go and made suggestions on nice places to go.

Rooms are very spacious, beds very comfy. Would happily recommend anyone to stay here of all ages.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there from 13th to 16th June 2014. Can't fault the place. Cheap clean and excellent location. On arrival the guy from Oakland on the front desk was very helpful and drew on a map for us the best places to go. The other american guy ordered a pizza for us and brought it to the room. Rooms were very clean and the shower was great. The location is excellent, 5 minute walk from the red light district and if you go here you should try food at Rembrandts Corner. Really really nice. We went round Central station area of Amsterdam and we really didn't like it. Hortus is located in a quiet street near some good shops and as I say quite close to the red light. Were going back to Dam in June next year and I won't even look for anywhere else I will be booking Hortus.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I recently returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel Hortus, we stayed in a private twin room on the ground floor and it was a lot more than I expected. The place was extremely clean and the beds were so comfy. Our room had a sink, tv, wardrobe and an electronic safe.

Communal toilet and shower were very clean. Staff really friendly and helpful. If I were to stay in Amsterdam I would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lottiedavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night in Amsterdam and stayed at the hotel. Had a tough them finding the place, not very accurate information by google map. But its really easy to locate if you take the Tram No 9 from Amsterdam Central and stop at Artis. The hotel is abt 3 mins walk from there.

Very friendly staff. Our room came with breakfast but since we were leaving early the next day, they allowed us to have breakfast when we arrived. Before we checked in.

They gave us tips on the moving around Amsterdam. The environment is cosy and informal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank csoosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

the hortus is a basic hostel style accomodation, perfect for a few nights.
we had a room for 4, which had 3 bunk beds shower and sink. the rooms where a good size and clean.
location is good and near the tram or a short walk to the attractions.
breakfast was good, but basic, toast, hams, cereals, hot drinks etc.
the staff at hortus made us welcome and felt very comfortable comming and going, with no cerfew!
great place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: stairs to top floor are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#203 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#301 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#211 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#255 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#201 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#190 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parklaan 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing