We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The steep stairs inside the building, it's so dangerous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The steep stairs inside the building, it's so dangerous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Firstly, the morning guy in the reception is so rude. I was asking how to operate the heater in the room, but he rudely replies in a difficult to understand English slang that the heater does not work if the temperature does not drop to a certain degree. And he will show u an impatient face if u ask again bcoz u Don understand what he says. And again Upon check out, I put my luggage on the sofa at the reception, again he rudely ask me to move it somewhere else as if I'm in military. He really has an attitude problem. And Don even ask them to help u to print any letters, bcoz they always run out of paper. The stairs to 2nd night 3rd floor is so steep and dangerous if u have to carry huge piece of luggage. Not recommended for elder ppl. On the other hand, the lady in the evening shift is by friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    149
    81
    53
    33
See reviews for
22
159
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Hortus earlier in March 2014 with 13 other friends from university, having headed to amsterdam for a weekend seeing Fall Out Boy live and also several members of the groups birthdays.

Price - the price is reasonable especially for us as students which being on "student budgets" speaks for itself really

Location - the hostel is outside of the centre of the village, yes amsterdam is a village not a city, as we were informed upon arrival, anyways due to its village status you can imagine the place is rather small, and it does live up to that expectation! so whilst the hostel is outside of the centre it is literally no more than a 15-20 minute walk from amsterdam central station.

Rooms - we stayed in a 6 bed room, a 4 bed room, and two twin rooms for the two couples among us. the two larger rooms had showers of there own, whereas the double rooms had to use communal showers, which were perfectly fine regardless. the beds are pretty comfy, and a towel each is provided. each room has a smoke detector, which if set off we were warned is up to a 200 euro fine, but if you use the windows in your room it should be fine :)

Breakfast - part of the stay included breakfast which mainly consisted of bread for bread or toast, with various toppings provided to use, cooked meats, boiled eggs/fried eggs, and cereal, as well as tea, coffee, juice and water.

Facilities - the hostel also has a pool table, and sofas, and wifi that is free to use. you can also hire bikes to get around amsterdam if you wish.

Owners - the owners are lovely and very helpful, including helping mark places on our map to see and try, they can also help in booking stuff you may with to do whilst in amsterdam.

overall it was a great place to stay and i would highly recommend it. I would definitely stay there again when visiting amsterdam in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamwhite92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

14 of us stayed, in a 6 bed, 4 bed and 2 doubles.
Price - Good for just group of students etc.
Location - The city is TINY, this looked bit further out then you get there and realise literally everything is within walking distance.
Owners - Helpful, drew a map out for us, we rented 12 bikes but they only had 3 so rang to get us 3 more within half an hour really helpful. Had storage space for bag if we wanted to arrive early/ leave late.
Breakfast - Basic breakfast, cereal, toast, eggs, great start to the day saves wasting time going to get breakfast somewhere.
Showers - Communal ones great, really clean, looked newly done, private bathrooms, bit less impressive but still did the job.
Communal area - Decent had a pool table, was a good laugh.
Rooms - All rooms were decent sized, had enough space

Downside - The double rooms were 2 singles pushed together which then split throughout the night, kinda annoying, but not the end of the world for a few nights.

Overall would recommend for a group of people who just want to see the city cheaply!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, only down side is double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late Tuesday night, Staff were all very helpful! They have maps you can grab at the couches which would help get about. We had a double bed at a reasonable price! Room was better than I had imagined. Space to move and hang clothes. Small safe to keep valuable items. The view out the window was to a brick wall but we didn't mind. This hotel has shared toilets and showers. Our room was next to both of them so it would wake you up in the morning when people start to go for showers. Beds are mega comfortable! We got a smoking room which was great for the morning when you are waiting on the shower. You get a key to the front door so no curfew! The hotel is about a 15 min walk (5 mins on bike) from the main stips. It is easy to get lost if you are coming in from anywhere else. All in all the hotel was nice, staff were friendly and helpful and the room was adequate!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. We arrived early and they let us into our room as soon as it was ready. Staff helpful and friendly. We got breakfast included which was an added bonus! Able to leave bags while we went out for the day before return journey. Clean rooms, super clean shower and toilets. Just be ready for a surprise when you use the vending machine as it doesn't give you what you want! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed there for 4 days in November. Easy place to travel to and would definitely stay there again, the only downfall was the noise. For the price we paid for the room i felt as if we couldnt really complain about the room. Our room was quite large with very high ceilings and we had a view into the small back garden, as I said before the only downfall was the noise. After walking up about one million steps we arrived at our room on the second floor, you go in one door and there was 6 bedroom doors, from about 12 at night to 3 in the morning the doors were constantly slamming shut as the shared bathroom was outside the main door to the bedrooms. About 6 am the noise would start again as travelers left, it was just a genuinely loud hotel i was dying to get home to my bed for a good rest!! The breakfast was pretty straight forward boiled eggs, toast etc..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#201 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#295 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#196 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#191 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parklaan 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing