We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Everything you need for a short stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #230 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a short stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late Tuesday night, Staff were all very helpful! They have maps you can grab at the couches which would help get about. We had a double bed at a reasonable price! Room was better than I had imagined. Space to move and hang clothes. Small safe to keep valuable items. The view out the window was to a brick wall but we didn't mind. This hotel has shared toilets and showers. Our room was next to both of them so it would wake you up in the morning when people start to go for showers. Beds are mega comfortable! We got a smoking room which was great for the morning when you are waiting on the shower. You get a key to the front door so no curfew! The hotel is about a 15 min walk (5 mins on bike) from the main stips. It is easy to get lost if you are coming in from anywhere else. All in all the hotel was nice, staff were friendly and helpful and the room was adequate!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    161
    86
    56
    33
See reviews for
25
169
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. We arrived early and they let us into our room as soon as it was ready. Staff helpful and friendly. We got breakfast included which was an added bonus! Able to leave bags while we went out for the day before return journey. Clean rooms, super clean shower and toilets. Just be ready for a surprise when you use the vending machine as it doesn't give you what you want! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed there for 4 days in November. Easy place to travel to and would definitely stay there again, the only downfall was the noise. For the price we paid for the room i felt as if we couldnt really complain about the room. Our room was quite large with very high ceilings and we had a view into the small back garden, as I said before the only downfall was the noise. After walking up about one million steps we arrived at our room on the second floor, you go in one door and there was 6 bedroom doors, from about 12 at night to 3 in the morning the doors were constantly slamming shut as the shared bathroom was outside the main door to the bedrooms. About 6 am the noise would start again as travelers left, it was just a genuinely loud hotel i was dying to get home to my bed for a good rest!! The breakfast was pretty straight forward boiled eggs, toast etc..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very bad ostel. anything positive, terrible place! stay away, it is too expensive for what it offers. Shared bathrooms terribly dirty.
blankets full of hair and eyelashes of everyone and all smelled of old. The hallways had bad smell of old.
Shmashed bed, impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place is the pits! The room had 2 bunk beds, with a small shower in the corner which looked like you could catch a disease from it. The beds were uncomfy and difficult to climb upto. Also the whole building smelt of smoke, not good for non-smokers. The steps were steeper than everest, especially after a few beers. The location was the only reasonably acceptable aspect of this establishment, around a 10 minute walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here last week with my friend. Both of us are only eighteen-year-old students, so obviously we couldn't afford and didn't want to stay in a grand hotel and spend a lot of money in Amsterdam. For the small price we paid, the Hotel Hortus was excellent and exceeded expectations; it was welcoming, clean and secure, with a great breakfast (bread, spreads, cold meats, tea and coffee all day, etc and you can have as much as you like) included in the price.

When we first arrived, a very friendly and helpful gentleman who works at (possibly owns) the hotel gave us some great recommendations about places to visit and even, at our request, marked them on a map for us. The places he suggested truly made our holiday and we feel that we experienced the best of Amsterdam thanks to him. Some other people on here have said that he "assumed that they were only there for cannabis" and that the staff aren't friendly and things to that effect but they must have misunderstood his intentions and the staff in general because we found them to be very accommodating, helpful and well-meaning.

The shared shower was extremely clean (and has a very good mixer tap system!). I didn't feel the need to bother with flip-flops as I do with most communal washing facilities. The toilets were also clean and our room had fresh sheets and a clean sink when we arrived. The room was basic but we didn't feel that it was lacking in anything; it had Wi-fi and TV facilities. Smoking is permitted in some if not all rooms as long as windows are opened. We were allowed to keep our bags in a back room until our room became available and we could have left them there for a while after checking out if we had wanted to but we didn't end up doing so. We were also given a key to the front door alongside our room key so that we could go out and come back any time we liked.

All in all, our stay in the Hortus was very pleasant and we would recommend it to any fellow students or young travellers on a budget. We did not feel that we missed out on anything by paying less for our room. If you're going to Amsterdam for the weed and beer or for the fine art, it doesn't matter- the hotel is great for everyone as you can smoke indoors there and there's no curfew, and it is very central (it doesn't take much time at all to walk to places such as Amsterdam Centraal, Rembrantplein, Dam Square and Leidseplein.) If you don't know what you're doing, ask somebody on reception. The staff are friendly and very knowledgable about the best places to go depending on what you're looking for.

Thanks for a great stay Hotel Hortus :)

Room Tip: I heard the stairs were steep, but I don't know because we stayed on the ground floor. Maybe thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#207 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#195 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#261 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#221 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing