We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #241 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    149
    81
    53
    33
See reviews for
22
159
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed there for 4 days in November. Easy place to travel to and would definitely stay there again, the only downfall was the noise. For the price we paid for the room i felt as if we couldnt really complain about the room. Our room was quite large with very high ceilings and we had a view into the small back garden, as I said before the only downfall was the noise. After walking up about one million steps we arrived at our room on the second floor, you go in one door and there was 6 bedroom doors, from about 12 at night to 3 in the morning the doors were constantly slamming shut as the shared bathroom was outside the main door to the bedrooms. About 6 am the noise would start again as travelers left, it was just a genuinely loud hotel i was dying to get home to my bed for a good rest!! The breakfast was pretty straight forward boiled eggs, toast etc..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very bad ostel. anything positive, terrible place! stay away, it is too expensive for what it offers. Shared bathrooms terribly dirty.
blankets full of hair and eyelashes of everyone and all smelled of old. The hallways had bad smell of old.
Shmashed bed, impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place is the pits! The room had 2 bunk beds, with a small shower in the corner which looked like you could catch a disease from it. The beds were uncomfy and difficult to climb upto. Also the whole building smelt of smoke, not good for non-smokers. The steps were steeper than everest, especially after a few beers. The location was the only reasonably acceptable aspect of this establishment, around a 10 minute walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here last week with my friend. Both of us are only eighteen-year-old students, so obviously we couldn't afford and didn't want to stay in a grand hotel and spend a lot of money in Amsterdam. For the small price we paid, the Hotel Hortus was excellent and exceeded expectations; it was welcoming, clean and secure, with a great breakfast (bread, spreads, cold meats, tea and coffee all day, etc and you can have as much as you like) included in the price.

When we first arrived, a very friendly and helpful gentleman who works at (possibly owns) the hotel gave us some great recommendations about places to visit and even, at our request, marked them on a map for us. The places he suggested truly made our holiday and we feel that we experienced the best of Amsterdam thanks to him. Some other people on here have said that he "assumed that they were only there for cannabis" and that the staff aren't friendly and things to that effect but they must have misunderstood his intentions and the staff in general because we found them to be very accommodating, helpful and well-meaning.

The shared shower was extremely clean (and has a very good mixer tap system!). I didn't feel the need to bother with flip-flops as I do with most communal washing facilities. The toilets were also clean and our room had fresh sheets and a clean sink when we arrived. The room was basic but we didn't feel that it was lacking in anything; it had Wi-fi and TV facilities. Smoking is permitted in some if not all rooms as long as windows are opened. We were allowed to keep our bags in a back room until our room became available and we could have left them there for a while after checking out if we had wanted to but we didn't end up doing so. We were also given a key to the front door alongside our room key so that we could go out and come back any time we liked.

All in all, our stay in the Hortus was very pleasant and we would recommend it to any fellow students or young travellers on a budget. We did not feel that we missed out on anything by paying less for our room. If you're going to Amsterdam for the weed and beer or for the fine art, it doesn't matter- the hotel is great for everyone as you can smoke indoors there and there's no curfew, and it is very central (it doesn't take much time at all to walk to places such as Amsterdam Centraal, Rembrantplein, Dam Square and Leidseplein.) If you don't know what you're doing, ask somebody on reception. The staff are friendly and very knowledgable about the best places to go depending on what you're looking for.

Thanks for a great stay Hotel Hortus :)

Room Tip: I heard the stairs were steep, but I don't know because we stayed on the ground floor. Maybe thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location as its in a nice quiet part of the city and a nice 20min stroll and you can be at Dam Square. You even walk past a biggish supermarket on the way so you can pick up some supplies if required. Our room was tiny. Walls were thin. Corridor outside our room stank of weed at all times. Shared toilets were good, as was the shared shower. Stairs are VERY steep, but this seemed to be a common theme of Amsterdam!

Staff very helpful, although the guy assumed we were there for the cheese, drugs and chocolate and highlighted all those areas on our map. We would have found other things more useful to know but we used the tripadvisor app for the rest!

Free breakfast of toast, meat, eggs, tea, coffee was a bonus.

Room Tip: don't choose room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I want to highlight first that never judge a book by its cover. My girlfriend I were left a little baffled at the commencement of our stay. One hotel employee on our arrival asked it we came for the cannabis cup, to our complete ignorance not knowing what that was. Shaking us off a little as we are non smokers, we instantly painted a negative picture of the place. The size of the room didn't help us either. But as the title says never judge a book by its cover. This place grew on us like a bad cold. We left the hotel in absolute awe that the next part of our trip was starting. We made friends with some pretty cool people whilst staying there. The place is filled with young tourists like us exploring the world. Yes the hotel is packed full of bong heads but what do you expect from a budget hotel in AMSTERDAM, the weed CAPITOL of the world! So to Kelly, the lovely receptionist and 'mum' of our stay, thanks for making us all the more welcome; you are nothing but a complete asset to the place. To anyone asking if I would go back, most definitely. If you have children and a family then it may not be suited, but hey I've never tried. This place fitted the criteria for us. Ticked all the boxes and with free coffee and a pool table, you'll be up all night versing those Americans that think they're that good, at your game. Look forward to seeing you all again soon and thanks heaps for having us!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#207 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#195 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#194 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing