We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #240 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all, please note that I didn't pay too much for this hotel. So I am not going to compare this to a Hilton in my review.

The staff and the manager were all friendly. The showers and the toilet was clean all the time, this is really good for a hostel/b&b.

The breakfast was good - at least good when hungover! They even prepare omelets and scrambled eggs.

The room was tidy. We booked a room for two but given a room for 6! but only two of us stayed, no additional guests. There are fire/smoke alarms in the rooms but their level of tolerance is quite high in my experience, you can smoke in the rooms easily.

You can also hire bicycles and when you ask the guys there what to do, where to go, they are really helpful.

Location is also quite central. I think it took us 10 minutes to walk to the train station and 15-20 minutes to the Harlem Straat. So quite a good location. The neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful.

I guess it deserves 4 stars for the money I paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierdzioszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    151
    82
    54
    33
See reviews for
22
161
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was very basic- more of a hostel than a hotel. There was a shared bathroom and shower, both were clean. The staff was friendly, but getting help/answers was often difficult and time consuming. The location was ok- an easy tram ride from the central station. The ceiling tiles in our room were filthy. The wifi did not reach our room even though we were on the first floor near the lobby. The breakfast was free and there was free coffee as well which was nice. The hotel had bikes that were available to rent which made it easier than finding a company- it was 16 euro for 24 hours- this included insurance and a bike lock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in a double room with a sink and shower which was great although it said private bathroom on our booking and the toilet was still shared with 3 other rooms. Also the room was quiet dirty when we arrived. There was also a safety deposit box in our room so our valuables felt safe. Wifi reached the rooms but was a bit temperamental at the beginning of our stay until fixed. Breakfast had a good selection consisting of cereal, toast and eggs but drink was limited only to tea. Kitchen was well stocked for our needs. Quiet location, about 20 minutes walk away from the centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Found it nice and easily after a 15-20 minute walk from central station. Nice quiet location 15 minutes from the bars and restaurants.

Being 9 lads on a stag do all we needed was somewhere to lay our heads at night! Beds Comfy, shower and sink in the room did the job, toilets 5 paces from room door! Stairs were very steep but seemed to be easily manageable even after a nights full of drinking. Breakfast included was perfect for us. Continental style, salami, bread, cereals etc

All in all would recommend this hotel for travellers, back packs and stag/hen dos. Probly would recommend for familys looking for family friendly hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 265tomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The shared bathrooms are a little strange at first but you'll get use to it. The breakfast is good and sets you up for a solid day of exploring, and the coffee is delicious too. This hotel wouldn't be the best choice for those with young kids as it is more suited for young adults that like the smell of marijuana. The wifi is flakey on the top floor but its not a big deal as there is a computer with Internet access downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago during a week stay in Amsterdam. I found it to be very clean, with fresh bedding provided nearly every day. The breakfast was always lovely and lots to choose from. The kitchen was always clean and i had no problem with cooking most nights pans etc were provided.

Location wise it is really easy to get into the heart of Amsterdam either walking or catching the tram. There was a supermarket also maybe a 5-10 minute walk which made it very easy to get food, snacks etc.

The hotel was open 24 hours a day and i was provided my own key to come and go as i pleased.

The shower was a really nice power shower which was always clean, the shower was not in your room, but i never had a problem with one being dirty.

When i stayed the decor wasn't the nicest however they have updated since then. I didn't go Amsterdam to spend my days sitting a hotel it was more somewhere to rest my head which it suited perfectly.

I found the value of the hotel good as some of the ones in the heart of Amsterdam can cost a fortune and the location was perfect really close to the zoo too.

I would stay here again if i went to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKing91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and nothing much has changed. This place is well run and remains simple, clean, friendly and affordable. Great location with a grocery store near by and 1 block to tram. Helpful and knowledgeable staff. Our room was bright and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#203 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#300 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#257 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#202 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#190 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parklaan 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing