We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget-friendly hostel”
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #236 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Budget-friendly hostel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hortus hostel is located in a green, quiet area of Amsterdam, close to the park with a set of trees and close to the city center. On the ground floor of the hostel, next to the reception there was a spacious dining room which has been equipped with refrigerator, TV, pool table and all the necessary kitchen utensils: forks, cups and spoons. You can buy the necessary products in the store and then prepare your meal by yourself. During my stay there breakfast was included in the price, but was rather modest. My room was located on the top floor, where led quite steep stairs. The room furniture included tiny beds, small TV and a sink where I could brush my teeth. The toilet and shower were outside in the corridor.
Overall, I liked this hotel, as it was clean and in good condition, and moreover it had quite reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    170
    93
    59
    35
See reviews for
27
179
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff here were fantastic, very friendly and upgraded our room to a much larger one with a shower. The room was clean and comfortable. We had late nights while staying here so never got to try out the breakfast :s The location is great. In a nice, quiet area of Amsterdam but only a 10-15minute walk to the city centre. There is a tram stop just around the corner so it easily accessible to the train station. No complaints! Would definately recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qld1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Budget Hotel that does what it says.

The staff are awesome, very helpful, chatty, friendly - top people. Late night conversations with Kelly were great - thanks Kelly.,

Hotel facilities are spot on. Free tea n coffee till 11pm.
Well presented continental breakfast.
The hotel is in a really nice area of the city.
I would not hesitate to stay again/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_and_Jean_Crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed here with a friend as the first port of call for a months euro trip and really enjoyed our stay! kelly the owner i think is lovely and so friendly! breakfast was lovely and was generally made to feel very welcome! the rooms are small and very basic but beds were very comfy indeed! to get ur way from the main train station its number 9 tram and takes 10mins tops. if i cam back to amsterdam would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmg2011dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at Hotel Hortus early this September. It was during the IBC and that the rate being charged was ridiculously high compared to the quality of this hotel (if i can even call it a hotel). The room we stayed in was not advertised as not having a toilet in the room. The private bathroom was stinky. There was no exhaust fan and it smells of mould. The staircases are really steep and close to forming a right angle from base. There are no lifts. There is no AC or fan provided to alleviate the summer heat. The towels provided (no other toiletries provided) i reckon would have been at least 5 years old and of cheap quality. The breakfast consists of 3 different cold cuts, a cheese, hard boiled eggs, bread, jam, coffee and tea. Sorry, but i cannot really point anything positive about this place. For sure, i will not be recommending this accommodation to family and friends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

6 of us stopped here and it was great ... Room 8 so we only had to go up one flight of stairs so was all good ...it was comfy very clean .. breakfast was good especially the free tea til 11pm :) .. the staff were great especially our fav Brent ..great guy...
Hotel was only a short walk away from coffeeshops etc .. the artis zoo is only round the corner aswell :), and the pasta place round the corner is absolutely yummmy :)
Defoooo stoppin here again

Helpful?
Thank Stevie-Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#198 of 367 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#226 of 367 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
#218 of 367 in Amsterdam
581 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#232 of 367 in Amsterdam
109 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#257 of 367 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing