We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“More we didn't need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Ranked #44 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More we didn't need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location of the hostel is amazing. And for one night this is perfect.
Room and bathroom were clean enough for our needs. The big amount of people who stayed there,didn't disturb us. The staff was professional.
If you just need a good place to sleep, I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2830GleNn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! We are indeed the perfect stay in Amsterdam if you are looking for a cheap and central hostel / hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    332
    284
    106
    110
See reviews for
18
94
94
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Firstly this place prides itself on being terrible and not caring about their visitors they advertise it around the hostel. The staff also looked like they didn't want to help and took a while to realise you were standing at the door to let you in. The rooms were very small and the bunk beds very flimsy, I was worried about sleeping on the top bunk and it collapsing, and i'm not that heavy. The bath room was even smaller and water would go everywhere every time someone had a shower. The shower head was not adjustable and the water pressure was terrible. there was also no toilet lid which meant you had to be very careful not to accidentally drop anything in, in such a small area. They have metal keys which should be updated so they can also update their entry doors to be swiped instead of waiting for staff to see you to let you in. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard for european hostels. It was in a good location though, it was right next to Mike's Bike tours which i highly recommend and walking distance to most of Amsterdam including the museum the brewery, the red light district and ann franks house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlikestogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review. We are a basic hostel in Amsterdam, but we provide everything you need for a stay in central Amsterdam.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Even though they call themselves as the worst hostel in the world, I disagree. Far from being the best thou. A bit noisy but the what I liked the most was that the bathroom was inside the rooms and the biggest room could fit 6 people maximum. Breakfast was not the best but I could get full.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor, are definitely the noisiest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi,

We do have dorms up to 8 people as well. For breakfast, we also serve freshly made pancakes, several kinds of bread and spreads, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, boiled eggs and coffee and tea.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great time at this place. The breakfast was awesome and the dinners and drinks were a great value. The room was spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful. My 2 20-something kids and I were on a 6 city trip and only stayed in one hostel. I wish we would have booked more because if all hostels were like this, then we would have had a lot more fun and met friends from all over the globe.It is so easy to meet others, compared to the hotels because of the way they have their common area. I must warn you tho, you need to bring your own hairdryer and shampoo. Also the towels are pretty tiny! All in all an EXCELLENT value for the low cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi!

Thank you so much for your great review! Lovely to read you had the best stay at our hotel!! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Simply put this is a hostel not a hotel. It isn't bad for a hostel but as a hotel it's awful. Breakfast was pretty basic. The shower leaked through the bathroom and there was a smell of sewerage coming from the drain. The bunk beds had no rails or ladders which was rather annoying. Convenient location though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank reneeashort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi!

We are a BUDGET hotel, which means a really basic hotel, but with everything you need during a fantastic stay in Amsterdam: we have clean rooms with ensuite bathrooms, a bar, a restaurant, an underground club, free wifi at the bar, 24 H reception and free continental breakfast.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with 4 mates for one night last weekend. We were slightly worried with some reviews but weren't planning on spending much time in the hotel so was just a place to rest our heads after a night out.
We arrived and went to use the toilets downstairs which were full of sick not a good start but we checked in at 14:00 and the room was clean and sufficient for what we needed (Toilet, Shower, lockers and bed).The luggage room was very handy saved us carrying bags around (before & after check in/out time). We had a 6 bed room for 5 of us and were told that someone would be put in the room at some point I don’t think the person was impressed when 5 drunk lads came in at 430am.

Overall location is fairly good although the tram line nearby is currently being refurbished. The room was pretty clean and done the job and you really can’t complain for the money you pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Great to read you had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and you enjoyed staying at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Indeed the nearest tram stop is currently not in use, but you can reach our hotel by tram 5, 16, 24 and 25 and get out at stop Keizersgracht. From there it's a 5min walk to the hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff of the hostel is very nice, and the happy hour is amazing, they also have their own bar downstairs so if you don't want to go out the you just stay in and still have a nice time. They clean the rooms every day at 10 am so if you're planning on sleeping you're just out of luck. It's not the nicest hostel there is but it's pretty cheap and has and amazing location and its huge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcemraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for your comment! Did you enjoy our daily Happy Hour as well?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#31 of 216 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Property: Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, ETB and HotelsClick so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing