We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a fantastic location, walking distance from the red light district and many other attractions and on the same street is a great bike tour company. There's a bar downstairs which has a great atmosphere and the breakfast is very good. While the rooms are nothing special they are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. A great place to meet people.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexvmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi!

Thanks for your great message! You have described us exactly the way we are: basic, but really cool!

Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

The stay here was exactly what is says on the box. "Budget hotel". You get a bed, a small bathroom and a locker. That's it. The bar down stairs seemed good but we didn't stay there long. The adverts are very funny and I bought their book about the history of the hotel. The staff were very nice, allowing me to leave my heavy bag in their secure luggage room after I checked out so I wouldn't have to lug it around all day before my flight.

Note, NO laundry service. Laundromat 2 minutes down road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleRunner168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi!

Thanks for your nice review! We are in fact a really basic hostel, but we have everything you need for a great stay in Amsterdam: a nice bar, restaurant, club, luggage room, wifi (at the bar and club), free breakfast, ensuite bathrooms and ofcourse the best location in the middle of Amsterdam!

We hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked last minute and saved 15 euro over anything else in the same vicinity. The shower was unusable (like a dripping facet), doors didn't cancel any sound out, no ladders for top bunks, place was ugly and felt rundown, front desk made me wait 20 minutes to check in because of a shift change, the list goes on.

BUT, the breakfast was good (and free), location was good, rooms fairly clean, included towel and sheets, and a new towel each day. And for €22 (vs €40 for other hostels), I would definitely stay again if just looking for a bed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Indeed we are one of the cheapest hostels in town, especially including our free continental breakfast!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a great time staying here, I was travelling alone and the bar made it easy to meet people, the beds were sufficient and the showers were the best hostel showers I have had, free breakfast was also probably the best I have seen at a hostel... On the downside the music from the club was hear almost every night really late (usually this wasn't an issue for me because I was out late anyway) and one time someone threw up in our bathroom and it didn't get cleaned for the entire time I was there, lack of wifi in the rooms was annoying but probably lead to me making friends so in the end not a bad thing. If you are looking for a chilled out time in Amsterdam don't stay here but if you are up for partying every night and things being slightly dirtier than usual this is the hostel for you. Plus being one of the cheapest in Amsterdam it made for an enjoyable stay. Happy hour was also awesome.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi!

We are one of the cheapest hostels in the centre of Amsterdam! Did you get a nice and cheap meal from our restaurant as well? Indeed we are not a really quite hostel, but we are the place to be for the best time in Amsterdam if you are looking for fun!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Hans brinker is in a great spot very close to the shopping street and main action of Amsterdam. It is not as 'terrible' as their marketing suggests, rather an average hostel with all of the necessary facilities.
We recommend the mikes bikes tours down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi Rachel!

Thanks for your review! Indeed we are located in the middle of Amsterdam, just around the corner of the famous Prinsengracht and entertainment area Leidseplein.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed three nights with four friends in 2011 Summer. In spite of disappointing comments, we chose the place as we hadn't had any other alternatives. But, it was quite good, we loved it! 10 minutes walk to VondelPark.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervesezgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi!

Thanks for your review! We are not only 10 minutes from the Vondelpark, we are 3 minutes from entertainment area Leidseplein and Museumplein.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really overpriced for what it was, Stayed in much better places in more expensive citys for almost half the price. Room was cramped, dingy which made it feel unwelcoming and unclean. Happy hour was great. Great location and great advertising is all the place has going for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your comment. In fact, we are one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam (compared to other hostels with the same facilities like a 6-persons dorm).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#6 of 238 in Amsterdam
942 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#47 of 238 in Amsterdam
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $30 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing