We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing like home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Net

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Net
Ranked #209 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relaxing like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

This place is unique, not cold like other hotels, you feel like home! And the owner, Allan, is very relaxed , cool and helpful for anything and everything. Also in a cool neighborhood and right on a canal. I know all the rooms, have been going there for over 10 years, every year, from smaller to bigger, funky, hippie feeling, more design but always with a computer full of movies, music and also fast internet, all included. You will definitely appreciate this home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanmichel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    1
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
12
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

allan made us feel like one of the family. everyone was so helpful and accomodating. the guest house is in the best possible location in Amsterdam, near eveything worth doing. would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster,Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Quite simply- it's like a slum/squat. The door was opened to us by a girl in a towel who didn't know anything about our reservations or have anyone to direct us to. She had scabby little dogs running around our feet. We were sent away to wait on two separate occassions, despite us having clarified our arrival time with Allan and assured everything would be fine.

Finally we were told that one room was ready (we were with friends and had booked apartment and separate bedroom) so the 4 of us got herded into one tiny room until apt was ready. The 'double bed' was 2 single mattresses with a giant sheet of plywood between them. Far from romantic. Sticky carpet, draughty window right beside the bed. To use the bathroom we had to go to the apt, into the other couple's bedroom- God forbid you'd need a pee during the night. This was absolutely filthy too.

The apartment was grotty with a dirty couch, you wouldn't dare use the crockery in the place.

Felt unsafe from the second we arrived until we escaped two days later into a hotel.

In the end our friends stayed on and were upgraded to the 'penthouse' for the final night. Slightly better, not much. Bathroom was in the corner of the sitting room partitioned off with glass blocks.

If you're looking for seriously cheap accomodation- bear in mind you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TippMunster_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in the South
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We recently stayed at the www.Bedandnet for 6 days! Allan was extremely helpful with the reservations, etc., although unfortunately we didn't get to meet him, as he was traveling. But Mike was great! Accommodations were 'tight', but cozy, and our family of 5 enjoyed our time. The location is great!! and convenient to everything. "Barneys' is the BEST, truly, and even if you don't stay at the flat, go to Barneys!
We did have a mouse in our room, which was creepy, and alittle difficulty with the movies, but Mike got that working, the mouse finally went away.
For us, I cooked all our meals, though it was obvious I was one of the few who did that. A microwave, and little more flatware would have been great, as 'fully equipped kitchen' is a loose term. :-)
We would def. stay again, and WILL highly recommend this flat to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trcfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

I love this place. Fantastic location. Cozy, unique rooms, most with kitchens and all with FREE hi-speed internet (and computers - no need to bring your own).
Allan, the owner/host/raconteur and the friendly staff totally rock. There's no shortage of conversation if you're looking for some, but if you'd rather sit and watch movies at any point, there's a huge online library available at no cost. Wanna call the U.S.? Free phone service. Want a tram? Right out the front door. Want to walk or bike somewhere? You're in the best spot to do either. And at the end of the day, there's nothing like just sitting on the stoop at front and watching the city go by.

For those seeking a low-cost alternative to the Hyatt or Marriott style of lodging, this is not for you. You'll find none of the formal trappings of your standard hotel or upscale B&B. This is a clean, well-run, down-to-earth, home away from home, with the appropriate amount of funk and character necessary to reflect that of the city itself. I've stayed in other hotels, B&B's and at the homes of friends, but given the choice, I'd stay here first.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

This is my second stay at BedandNet and I've already booked my flight for my Dec stay. I found the guesthouse just the way I left it a year earlier. Yes that's a good thing (read my earlier review). Alan was in top form with some great stories of his recent travels through China.
Traveling on a budget, I opted for the small room with the curved door. I LOVED the bed and slept like a baby! It has a glass roof which is relaxing if you happen to be caught inside on a rainy day. The extensive computer library keeps you entertained when the weather isn't cooperating and the central location is wonderful when things are clear. When other places are charging for internet, BedandNet offers it up for free. If you happen to catch Allan in a good mood (99.9% of the time) he'll even let you use his phone if you need to call home.
Thanks guys for once again making me feel at home. See'ya in December!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Not a standard tourist hotel by any means, and not for the standard tourist. For the young, the young at heart, the adventurous. The rooms rock, the owner and all the others that seem to always be here rock, and I drop by and hang out even when my business needs me to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Apartments
Keizersgracht Apartments
#108 of 225 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Keizers Canal
B&B Keizers Canal
#82 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Mokum Suites
Mokum Suites
#74 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#42 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Net

Property: Bed and Net
Address: Keizersgracht 705, 1017 DW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Get Lucky Guesthouse)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Canal House is located in the heart of Amsterdam on the Keizersgracht canal, just blocks away from Rembrandtplein. As travellers ourselves, we have decided to open our house to like-minded people looking for an alternative to the traditional Hotel and B&B. We try to provide a more personal and local experience by creating a home away from home. Our canal house is divided into self contained private apartments, along with some double and single rooms, both with and without en-suites. Free Secure WiFi is available throughout the building and there is a computer in each apartment/room for you to use. See you in our Home Suite Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Net Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing