We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot air rises”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall its a pretty cool joint, designated smoking room, cheapish drinks and clean amenities. Me andy boyfriend shared a pod bunk which is good in theory but the room was soooo hot and there were 6 other people we only had one little fan that sat on the floor. While speaking to others they said their room had air con....so suggest putting it in the rest of the rooms. Oh the breaky was awesome...boiled eggs and real toast!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Flying Pig Uptown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 822 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hostel itself and the staff is good. But it seems that most people go there to smoke doobies all day in the smoking room. The location is good and the rooms too. Some showers and toilets did not work during our 5 nights stay. Don't take the 4 people private room, it's the smallest room and the private toilet is not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggysmallisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the flying pig 4 times in one year! I love Amsterdam that much and of course te flying pig! The staff are friendly, polite and always happy to help! The rooms are trendy, clean and top stuff! The o ly thing I could moan about are all the stairs but that because the hostel is in a Victorian traditional amsterdam town house which is also pretty dam cool!!! The decor, bar, smoking room is great!
Will be back again soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Rooms/bathrooms/showers were all clean and tidy.
This is the first hostel in Europe that has got our booking right and got us all in the same room on the first night.
The bar is awesome and is reasonably priced, did not try the food.
Staff are friendly and has a very relaxed atmosphere
There is a smoking room
Did not use the kitchen in my short stay but seems ok
Breakfast is great and is a nice touch. Eggs, bread, fruit, cereal, coffee/tea and juice

The only negatives are the wifi and lack of air conditioning. The wifi continually drops out or you cannot connect and when you can get on its slow. We were also here in the middle of summer, upwards of 30 degrees Celsius a day so the rooms are extremely hot at night.

All in all a pretty good stay and would stay here again, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleybrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay for a weekend, staff were brilliant and friendly. There's a few steep stairs to climb but I think that's the norm, nice chilled out bar with a smoking room, great location for the nightlife around leidseplein just a 5 minute walk down the road. Will cost you around €25 for a taxi to the red light area, the rooms are clean and basic just what ya need for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b4rrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I it always good to start on a positive and this may be the only one I can muster. The beds are comfy and there is good amount of storage space beneath the beds one more won't hurt the breakfast was pretty good.. Unfortunately the rest of the Hostel failed to impress, we were moved 3 times in 4 nights to accommodate what appeared to be groups. When we were moved on one occasion my companion and I were moved to different floors and we were told there was no space which I accepted however I awoke to a room with four empty unused beds, there was also no working showers on that floor. When I made inquiries about this the following morning nobody could offer an explanation as to why, how or what had happened. I personally found the bar uncomfortable and sparse and I generally got the impression that unless you are there to smoke vast amounts of cannabis and sit in a stupor then the Hostel and Hostel appears to offer you very little. I am personally dumbfounded that this Hostel is part of the Famous Hostel Chain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paynechris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

No real complaints with this hostel!! The rooms are nice, staff are friendly, location is not amazing but its so easily close to tram stops! The stairs are the worst ever!!!!!!!! So many of them! But it's not that bag once your bag is away! Wifi and breakfast are pretty good too!! Overall it was a good experience :)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank ChloeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,348 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,314 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#8 of 238 in Amsterdam
578 reviews
CityHub
#2 of 238 in Amsterdam
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $39 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing