We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest place in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coolest place in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the flying pig 4 times in one year! I love Amsterdam that much and of course te flying pig! The staff are friendly, polite and always happy to help! The rooms are trendy, clean and top stuff! The o ly thing I could moan about are all the stairs but that because the hostel is in a Victorian traditional amsterdam town house which is also pretty dam cool!!! The decor, bar, smoking room is great!
Will be back again soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    271
    101
    27
    19
See reviews for
6
104
129
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Rooms/bathrooms/showers were all clean and tidy.
This is the first hostel in Europe that has got our booking right and got us all in the same room on the first night.
The bar is awesome and is reasonably priced, did not try the food.
Staff are friendly and has a very relaxed atmosphere
There is a smoking room
Did not use the kitchen in my short stay but seems ok
Breakfast is great and is a nice touch. Eggs, bread, fruit, cereal, coffee/tea and juice

The only negatives are the wifi and lack of air conditioning. The wifi continually drops out or you cannot connect and when you can get on its slow. We were also here in the middle of summer, upwards of 30 degrees Celsius a day so the rooms are extremely hot at night.

All in all a pretty good stay and would stay here again, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleybrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay for a weekend, staff were brilliant and friendly. There's a few steep stairs to climb but I think that's the norm, nice chilled out bar with a smoking room, great location for the nightlife around leidseplein just a 5 minute walk down the road. Will cost you around €25 for a taxi to the red light area, the rooms are clean and basic just what ya need for a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b4rrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I it always good to start on a positive and this may be the only one I can muster. The beds are comfy and there is good amount of storage space beneath the beds one more won't hurt the breakfast was pretty good.. Unfortunately the rest of the Hostel failed to impress, we were moved 3 times in 4 nights to accommodate what appeared to be groups. When we were moved on one occasion my companion and I were moved to different floors and we were told there was no space which I accepted however I awoke to a room with four empty unused beds, there was also no working showers on that floor. When I made inquiries about this the following morning nobody could offer an explanation as to why, how or what had happened. I personally found the bar uncomfortable and sparse and I generally got the impression that unless you are there to smoke vast amounts of cannabis and sit in a stupor then the Hostel and Hostel appears to offer you very little. I am personally dumbfounded that this Hostel is part of the Famous Hostel Chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paynechris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

No real complaints with this hostel!! The rooms are nice, staff are friendly, location is not amazing but its so easily close to tram stops! The stairs are the worst ever!!!!!!!! So many of them! But it's not that bag once your bag is away! Wifi and breakfast are pretty good too!! Overall it was a good experience :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChloeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms are clean and relatively compact, and the lockers under the bed are big enough to store a large e.g. 80L backpack. Breakfast is free, (and tasty! Cereal, bread, egg if you're early enough, oranges etc.) Staff are nice, Rooms are clean, what more would you need?
They have a smoking room next to the bar where all the socializing goes on (meals, drinks etc.) for cigs, weed, etc. The shots and drinks here are really cheap, so take advantage of that. This hostel is very close to the Rijksmuseum and you can easily walk to different areas of Amsterdam easily without having to take public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpesHK852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

There is nothing to complain about this place. Everything was how it should be - clean rooms and bathrooms, comfortable beds, and all. Above all, however, I liked the bar downstairs, including the smoking area, which was a great place to meet people. The location perhaps not as central as other hostels, but still very good, close to Rijksmuseum. And it wasn't very expensive. So even though there are better hostels in Amsterdam, this was pretty good too, so I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IzaH324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Property: Flying Pig Uptown
Address: Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing