We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, good Amsterdam experience”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay, good Amsterdam experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The flying pig upowntown has a great location by the Vondelpark and near all the most important museums,it has a great bar and great people and is clean and has a free breakfast included that actually has juice and tea and fruit as well as bread and eggs (which living the hostel life I find quite rare) so that's a very good deal if you can wake up early enough for it.
There is a smoking room and a nice bar and hang out area, so for those that appreciate or tolerate that side of Amsterdam as well.

The flying pig uptown is a fun and central place to be where you will always make friends.
The uptown location is a bit quieter and closer to cultural attractions as well as the park.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 2 bed ensuite which I was very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittlePegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    302
    119
    31
    21
See reviews for
10
125
159
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Disclaimer: I was there in January of 2008

My travel buddy and I mostly enjoyed our stay at the Flying Pig Uptown location, but we did have a few issues. Our reservation was completely botched, even after showing our confirmation sheet with dates, etc. The staff were not very helpful in sorting out the issue, we wound up meeting a few friendly folk who let us stay in their room for the night. The rooms were clean and the rest of our stay there was just fine. I wouldn't say its in the best location, but we felt safe and the bar more than made up for it!

Room Tip: Go private, the more dorm-style rooms were pretty darn cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! More expensive than most hostels, but Amsterdam is a very expensive city for hotels to begin with, so relatively speaking it's a pretty good deal. We had a private room with shared bathroom, everything was nice and clean.

The staff are very friendly, and the bar/common area downstairs has a great atmosphere. Most people that stay here are nice and easygoing too, so it's quite easy to make friends. Ask the front desk about the pub crawl they're affiliated with, it was a great time and better value than most pub crawls.

My only real complaint is how narrow and steep the stairs are, which made it rather difficult to get our bags up to the 4th floor, so be prepared for a bit of a workout! I realize there's only so much that you can do in an old building like that, but putting in an elevator would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wifi only at the lobby.My room is on the 4th floor,so not easy to climb up and down with narrow staircase.I have a big luggage and not able to bring up to 4th floor.Lucky another guy who stay there help me.When I wanted to check up is not so lucky.not able to find a strong guy to bring down my luggage.
Breakfast was told start at early time but never on time.
8 people sharing a room think is not a good ideas.I have to use touch light when I wake up early morning 6.30am,so that I wont wake up other who are sleeping.At night ,some "roommates" came back late after midnight will disturb my sleep.

Room Tip: Choose not to share with 8 or 10 people in a room unless is a group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hostel was great, above all there's a general feeling of warmth and friendliness that made three girls travelling alone feel very safe. It's in a great location, close enough to bus stops but you can walk to all the main attractions in about 15mins. Along that walk, there are several little restaurants where you can eat cheaply, saving you money for more exciting distractions!

The toilets and showers are small but they're really clean, as is the rest of the hostel. There's a bar which is reasonably priced and a smoking room. If there are party nights on while you're there, you should go! I can highly recommend them and they're a great way to meet the other backpackers.

The breakfast that's included is a great way to set yourself up for a day of amsterdamming. There was coffee, tea, toast with all different kinds of bread, cereal, boiled eggs and fruit. Not many hostels offer this so it's a really welcome touch. It does get busy though!

I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Take a padlock to use on the under- bed lockers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanJayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I really liked this hostel, my room was huge and extremely clean. I met other backpackers everyday in the common area and my room. Its a very easy walk into the main area but I thought it was a little closer I think I maybe got confused with uptown and downtown! Breakfast was great, like others have said though the stairs were a complete nightmare! Extremely narrow and steep. Hospitality was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Flying Pig was ok. I had a private room with a shared bathroom. The room was small but fine if not in need of some redecorating. I had a small storage heater, a tv and a sink. The shared toilets were tiny but always seemed clean along with the showers.

The stairs up and down were very narrow and steep but that's a minor issue.

Smoking area was always full and fairly relaxed.

Breakfast of cereal, toast, tea and coffee served down in the bar area was nice enough if you can grab a seat.

I prefered the location out of the centre as it was quieter. A quick tram ride and you're in the middle of everything. Or if you prefer about a 20min walk. You can get a 3 day pass for around €16.

Staff weren't particularly accommodating except for one of the guys who seemed a lot more pleasant than the rest (forgot to get his name)

Overall if your after a decent priced place for a couple of nights it's fine but I will stick to a hotel in future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganAmyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,273 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#67 of 367 in Amsterdam
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 230 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 230 in Amsterdam
524 reviews
CityHub
#3 of 230 in Amsterdam
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Property: Flying Pig Uptown
Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing