We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Ranked #10 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I really liked this hostel, my room was huge and extremely clean. I met other backpackers everyday in the common area and my room. Its a very easy walk into the main area but I thought it was a little closer I think I maybe got confused with uptown and downtown! Breakfast was great, like others have said though the stairs were a complete nightmare! Extremely narrow and steep. Hospitality was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 847 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Flying Pig was ok. I had a private room with a shared bathroom. The room was small but fine if not in need of some redecorating. I had a small storage heater, a tv and a sink. The shared toilets were tiny but always seemed clean along with the showers.

The stairs up and down were very narrow and steep but that's a minor issue.

Smoking area was always full and fairly relaxed.

Breakfast of cereal, toast, tea and coffee served down in the bar area was nice enough if you can grab a seat.

I prefered the location out of the centre as it was quieter. A quick tram ride and you're in the middle of everything. Or if you prefer about a 20min walk. You can get a 3 day pass for around €16.

Staff weren't particularly accommodating except for one of the guys who seemed a lot more pleasant than the rest (forgot to get his name)

Overall if your after a decent priced place for a couple of nights it's fine but I will stick to a hotel in future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganAmyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

It's a very cool hostel.
The rooms are clean and the common area is nice.
Bathrooms are small but quite clean.
The position is good, although "downtown" is more closed to the centre!
It's better to make a reservation!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mberna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A bit far from the station (30-40 minute walk), but close to Leidseplein, Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum and the square with "I Amsterdam", Hard Rock Cafe and casino. Hostel very clean and great hospitality! There is a pub open in the evening and a smoking area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location and not much of a walk into town. Friendly staff and a decent breakfast is included. Always deals at the bar etc, I found the other guests clicky which is weird for a backpackers and the stairs are a nightmare after a few to many. But other then that all good.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Really cool place with a bit of character.

Great location next to Vondel Park, few decent coffee shops nearby, close to lots of bars and still walking or cycling distance from red light district.

We stayed in a 4-bed dorm that had 2 bunk beds and an ensuite. Room was very very small, hardly any space between the bunks. Was a struggle to have all four of us in the room at any one time but we spent the majority of our time out of the room anyway!

Ensuite had a pretty bad smell coming out of it before we'd even used it so we tried to do our business off-site as there were no windows so ventilation was an issue.

Smoking room was fun and the bar had good prices and a bar crawl left from Flying pig every night.

Free breakfast was really good and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay but would have loved it if the room was a bit bigger and bathroom facilities a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairygarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

First and foremost, It is hostel right, so forget about comfort and those things. I think this place as a hostel is very good, probably the best HOSTEL I've ever been, It's really funny and it has a "special" atmosphere. I wouldn't definitely go there with my parents (Unless they're open minded) or with some business partners. But if your plan is having fun and having good memories (if you can have one :-D ) I really recommend this place.

Room Tip: We have really good parties there :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vextropk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
ClinkNOORD
#8 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 242 in Amsterdam
632 reviews
CityHub
#2 of 242 in Amsterdam
345 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $31 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing