We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flying Pig Uptown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$396
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$181
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveler rating
365
320
128
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
320
128
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoking roomfree breakfastbed dormbathrooms and showersfantastic hostelbar downstairsperson roomamsterdam signamsterdam experiencevan gogh museumflights of stairsno elevatorfirst floortop flooryour luggagebeds were comfortableenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 875 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

So many stairs! Easy to access location and next to "Fondle" Park. Great bar and smoking room downstairs. Staff are super helpful with directions, attractions ect. Rooms aren't massive but very clean. Showers and toilets are a bit hit and miss tho.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sfaith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was Ok. I've been to over 200 hostels, and I can't see what the hype is all about. They outsource all their activities and it seems like the big attraction is the smoking room. The staff was friendly but thy force to to donate the deposit. It was definitely not worth 40 euro. It was not worth it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
5  Thank Johnnyjappleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had lots of fun here, the rooms are great and the bar on the main floor is great. It's a bit of a treck from downtown but it's alright the pub crawl around uptown is lengendary. Every night they have an amazing pub crawl, which I did four times. They pump you up with free shots for half and hour then you go bar/club hoping. It's the best on thursday and friday, too busy saturday. This hostel also has a room to smoke weed in which is really cool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our second time there as a group from uni...still as good as the first time! The staff are all lovely and helpful. We had an awesome time. The toilets are a bit minging but everything else is great. Eat as much as you can at breakfast as you can then you can save money by not eating lunch!

Defo would recommend the Leiderspiel bar crawl...bargain at 20 euros! And hire pedalos and bikes too! So worth it!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motherowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I got to Amsterdam way earlier than expected since the departure time of my bus was changed. When I arrived at the hostel, the last think I wanted to do was drag my suitcase up a narrow stair case and then down another narrow staircase only to find that you cannot store your bags until 1030am (all this after a 12 hour bus ride)! Luckily we used the free wifi and had free breakfast all before another traveler said we can use the lockers for 2euro for 24 hours and they are HUGE. I had a suitcase with me that is bigger than a carry-on and that fit in the locker with even more space. Back to the stairs, not only are they steep and never ending, but they whole building is kind of confusing, with skinny hallways and stairs everywhere. The rooms were alright; I was in a 12 bed room and the comforters were SO comfy! They clean the rooms thoroughly everyday. The showers are horrendous. Basically a closet, nowhere to put your stuff! Only one outlet in a room for 12 people is also NOT okay. But another pro would be that they have a bar and also a smoking room where people can have joints. It was an alright place. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews