We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay If You Want to Save $$”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay If You Want to Save $$”
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I was extremely surprised on how cool this place was bathrooms were descent, hence a lot better than a gas station. I am very anal about public areas and cleanliness and this place was not too bad.

We shared a double bed in a room with another 10 people and I personally thought it was ok.

The cafe in the basement was awesome, they sold some food and drinks. I do not remeber if they sold any "smoking accessories" but I was pretty "tired" the entire time we were there. LOL!!

My friend on the other hand was not so happy and ONLY due to the fact that people kept coming in and out of the room.

NOTE!!! Take a good pair of ear plugs and a good pad lock, to lock your valuables.

  • Liked — Cheap and Descent
  • Disliked — I did not have my own bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wizeazzgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    297
    119
    30
    21
See reviews for
10
124
154
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Six of us stayed here for three nights in july 07 in a mixed dorm of about 30. First impressions were bad as security seemed abit lax and there seemed to be a few oddballs wandering around(think they were just stoned though and were probably rather nice people). Anyway, we had no problems, just remeber to take a good padlock for your locker. Clean enough, always hot water when i wanted it, good breakfast and free internet. What more do you want from a hostel?

  • Disliked — poor lockers for bags
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Honkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Stayed here June 2007. This place is ok if you're a bit crusty but it's not really my scene. Would definitely recommend booking out your own room as that's what we did, which meant we were only sharing with each other and could leave valuables etc in our room without worrying or having to share with creepy randoms.

The room itself was clean enough, and the sheets were clean. One of the toilets was ok, the other was a bit dodgy. I really didn't like the showers though, they were weak and not very clean at all.

On the plus side though the location is really good, the bar area is cool and free internet is handy. Must say though I wouldn't stay here again as I know I could easliy pay not much more money and stay in a two or three star hotel. We came to amsterdam to have a smoke and are chilled as much as anyone else, but i would have rather stayed somewhere with slighly less... 'character'.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andy2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Very bad experience there!
It was so dirty!!!! Indeed we had a mouse in the room!! I´ve never been in such a dirty place!
I´ll never be back there!

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beawallabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

The flying pig palace (also known as the Flying Pig uptown) was without doubt the best hostel I've ever stayed in. I've just come back from a mini tour of Germany, Holland and Luembourg staying in hostels and this was easily the best one I've come across. It was close to the centre and right next the famous Vondel Park. The rooms were clean, adequately sized and we didn't have to make our own beds as I usually have to in hostels! The bathrooms (which is normally the worst part) were really clean too with proper working showers which don't completely soak the floor so you can get changed afterwards- which I find everywhere else! The free included breakfast was great, with a toaster to make your own toast, bolied eggs, cereal and hot drinks. The bar downstairs was amazing with cheap drinks, great music and special deals and entertainment nights. The internet was free with skype phones so you could call home too and there was loads of information about what's going on in Amsterdam. The staff were helpful and friendly also. All in all an amazing hostel, it was all these little points that made it such a great stay, as they're not usually things you'll find in hostels!

  • Liked — The great breakfast, nice bar and free internet
  • Disliked — having to walk up 3 flights of stairs to get to my room!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carucymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

The flying pig was tight. They put me in a room with two bunkbeds, so four people. I was by myself, however all the people that stayed there were cool. The bar in the basement is radical, you can stay down there till the early morning. The kitchen was very suspect, i didnt eat in there. The water closet-bathroom was really small, not ideal for a large person. The location is nice because its close enough to everything, but gives you some distance from the wild side.

  • Liked — party atmosphere
  • Disliked — turks
  • Tips/Secrets — vondelpark is wicked
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GiggaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Stayed at the palace in june 2005 with 2 friends in a 8 person dorm. the room was clean and the beds were comfortable, good if you just need a place to sleep. The atmosphere of the hostel is what most people come for - you meet a lot of people around the hostel. There is a kitchen where you can cook full meals and keep things in the fridge, and a bar and chill area where you can drink and uh..chill.

The hostel is located right beside Vondelpark which is cool place to hang out (during the day) if you can avoid getting hit by a bike while crossing the path. The area is pretty quiet and clean, if you want more of a party you can stay at the downtown hostel.

The hostel provides a great breakfast in the morning (worth waking up for) consisting of croissants, juices, cereal, bread, etc etc etc... Great to save a few bucks because decent food in Amsterdam isn't cheap.

2 complaints though - 1- our toilet broke and our room smelled absolutely disgusting for 2 days before it was fixed. so if you want something fixed, bother the reception ever 20 minutes until it gets done. 2- the room gets extremely hot in the summer and the rooms aren't air conditioned, so if this bothers you watch out.

Overall I would stay at the flying pig again. Central Amsterdam is a 10 minute walk away but the hostel is only about 2 minutes from Museumplein (the museum district - van gogh, reihksmuseum etc). WAtch out for the bikers!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#11 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Property: Flying Pig Uptown
Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing