We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #231 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney
Level Contributor
751 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Excellent price & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in a single room on the top floor and listened to the dulcet chimes of Westerkerk for a week. Had shared shower/toilet (but only with one other room on same floor). Room was cleaned & spotless everyday, facilities also spotless. Super location to reach everywhere in Amsterdam either on foot to close things or tram stop 2 minutes away to connect everywhere else. You will see on the website or when you contact the hotel they mention stairs. They will mention it over and over again - steep stairs, no lift. After being awake for 40+ hours and in the air for 22+ I almost keeled over when I saw them. When a Dutch person says steep stairs, think no wider than a size 16, think steep like a ladder and think 3 times as many as a regular flight. 38 to get to reception and another 38 odd to get to the top floor. Just one of the quirks of staying in a pretty old building from 1895 or so. If you're not a 24 hour party person, Room 8, the single costs around the same as a dorm with 10-16 itching, farting, scratching, snoring, drunk, stoned strangers. Of course if you like company other than your own - go for the hostel dorm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    50
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
85
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We got a great deal on this place and it's in the heart of amsterdam. Not more than a 15 minute walk to the epicenter of the town. The owner was super pleasant and very informative. He does live in the hotel and kindly asks that you keep the noise at a minimum when coming back late (and if you're in the room above his, which we were). The room was SO clean and it had basic amenities (which is all you need since you'll be out all day exploring this fabulous city!). As most people mentioned, the stairs are VERY steep and there is no elevator. We managed without too much difficulty and we had two big suitcases and carry ons. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in amsterdam. PS-the street view from out room was enchanting and we paid extra to have our own toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWebs619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Watch out when arranging accommodation in Amsterdam as they all say "sorry, minimum of 3 nights". Anyway, don't believe them. The nice chap here let us stay (they do make you feel like they're doing you a massive favour) for 2 nights. Very, very clean although don't expect cosy furnishings or warm lighting and décor etc! No TV. All was kind of alright until they started vacuuming outside our bedroom at about 9am on the Sunday morning and then phoned us at 0930 to tell us that check out was at 10am. Luckily we weren't hung over but we would have liked a lie-in during our weekend break. 10am is ridiculous. Unfortunately it means that I've rated this place poorly. You really do feel that you're part of a money-making factory and they just want you to wake up and get out quickly so the next people can come in!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Basic rooms, but a great place to use as a base for exploring Amsterdam. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Yes the stairs are steep but unless you are injured it's no drama. Just around the corner from Anne Frank's house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyjoejoeshabadooJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is far from fancy and the stairs are really steep, but theres so much to do in the City that you won't feel the need to stay inside. The owners of the place are super nice and even gave me a wake up call in the morning so I didn't miss my flight. Biggest perk is its location! Its close to all the good attractions: Madame tassauds, Van Gogh museum, canals, the mall, etc!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilza12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend in December, 2013. We'd read reviews of how basic the rooms were and how steep the stairs were. This is all true. When we were buzzed in, I burst out laughing when I saw how steep the steps were. Apparently steep steps are common in Amsterdam though. I took my case up the stairs then went back down to take my girlfriend's up, but that was the only problem with the stairs - luggage. Unless you're old and frail or severely overweight, they shouldn't be a problem for you.

When we got to the top, Rudy greated us with a smile. He also gave us a map and some tips about Amsterdam, particularly the past time it's most renowned for. His warm welcome really set the tone for our two night stay.

The room was small, but big enough for what we needed. There was a sink in the room and the showers and toilet were in the hallway. Towels are provided and the room is cleaned daily. I'd advise just taking a towel and soap to the shower, because you can't fit much in there. I'm not sure if we were the only ones staying there, but we didn't see any other guests at all during our stay.

The Wi-Fi worked great in the room. Despite how basic it was, we were surprised how cheap our stay was given the hotel's central location. We had mates who were staying in a shared dorm room at the same time and had to pay more than we did.

I want to go back to Amsterdam and I know where I'll be staying - Hotel Aspen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prez72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really nice place for the price, very clean and quiet. Other than the REALLY steep stairs (can be a little challenging after a night out in Amsterdam), this place is perfect. Good walking distance to most Amsterdam attractions, and also really close to the lovely Jordaan neighborhood.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#215 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,666 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel La Belle Vue
Hotel La Belle Vue
#309 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#258 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing