We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great service, great price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #249 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great service, great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This little hotel was the perfect choice for our 36 hour layover in Amsterdam. It was very clean and the owners were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The price is great too (we actually spent more on the taxi from the airport than we did on this room! Fortunately, the owner informed us of the shuttle service and booked it for our return to the airport--lesson learned!) Our room did not have a private bathroom, but we were pleased to find the shared bathrooms to be immaculate.

Be warned, however, that the stairs are STEEP! It was awfully hard for us to drag our very large suitcases up to the 3rd floor. We managed, but this might be a negative for seniors or handicapped individuals. Overall, very pleased and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamForHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
85
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ARGYLL SCOTLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amsterdam is a great city to spend some time in and you will want to be out and about enjoying every minute of it. If you are looking for somewhere central that is basic and clean, this hotel is ideal. We were there for 3 nights and the bed and towels were changed every day. As all the other reviews say, the stairs are steep but its only hard when you are carrying your suitcase up. Our room was at the back so no traffic noise at all just the bells from the clock! Short stroll to Dam square and lots of pubs restaurants and coffee shops

Room Tip: A room at the back will not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOLIDAYWHATUMAKEIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

most of the previous reviews nail it- steep steps beware, basic rooms with no frills, great location, clean & comfortable.

Esam is a great manager, beyond friendly and accommodating. I was traveling alone but hopped around room to room during my stay and he worked with me to those adjustments.

highly suggest booking a good amount of time in advance- found this to be true with most hotels in Amsterdam.

all rooms I stayed in were very clean and the beds very comfortable. the only thing I wish this hotel had we're TVs in the room.

would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenfinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Let me start my review by saying you get what you pay for if you want luxury don't stay here, but if you want clean cheap comfortable place to stay this is IDEAL. The hotel has 56 very steep steps so wouldn't suit elderly or anyone with climbing difficulty. When we arrived we where greeted by Esam the owner a very lovely man, very helpful told us everything we needed to know and marked the map of all the places we mite like to visit. Overall we had a great stay and location was perfect for getting to everywhere. Love Amsterdam it's a beautiful place but very very expensive when you get here so be aware.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed our time here. It was quiet and comfortable and the location is excellent. It wasn't something amazing, but for the price, if you're on a budget, it's worth it. The complaint that makes it cheaper is simply the steep, narrow staircase, but the owners are happy to help you with getting your bags up the stairs and they are very friendly people. Would stay here again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davedude82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Even though we were there during an unusually hot period, our third floor room was very comfortable without air conditioning. Very clean and roomy. We had the front room with the two twin beds. The stairs might be a bit of a challenge for some. Lots of activity on the street, but it did not carry on into the night as expected. Great location! Great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a nice hotel. The best part was the location. We stayed in July and it was very hot and there is no air conditioning. This hotel would have a better rating if they invested in ceiling fans. Very Clean. Nice bathroom. Staff was very friendly. Very safe! 1 minute walk to the Anne Frank House. 3 minute walk to Dam Square. We arrived late in the evening and the staff was very kind and waited up for us to let us in. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building. It is much quieter and pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#216 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,782 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#318 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing