We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Aspen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #247 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aspen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent budget hotel very very clean and friendly staff... Our flight from Glasgow was delayed and we did not arrive until 3am ... We phoned to advise hotel of this and were delighted with their response... Arrived ... Got keys and had a comfy nights rest ... First class service would recommend this hotel and will definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank graeme m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
85
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel Aspen is a gem. There are other hotels on this stretch of a convenient, major street, but the others all receive poor reviews. Aspen is clean, convenient (in location, not in the steep stairs that are common to all such hotels), and has a terrific manager in Rudy. He is cheerfully willing to research for information needed to see the city and the specific places that are not necessarily on tourist maps. We have stayed at the Aspen twice, and would go there again when we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have a great view, but have the street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is about 10-15min walk from Centraal station. The room was very clean as was the shared toilet and shower. With the window closed the room was very quiet. As with most hotels in Amsterdam the stairs are steep so it's best not to be loaded down with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall we had a great stay at Aspen Hotel. The location is ideal for exploring Amsterdam. It is located in the heart of the 'central' part of Amsterdam, and very importantly, within comfortable walking distance from the central train station. The owner of the hotel is a friendly and approachable man. We were allocated a 'double' room (two single beds put together) in the top floor. However this room overlooks the main road, and as such we were kept awake by traffic noise. Windows are single glazed so I can just imagine in addition to the traffic noise, during the winter it must be very cold. Some people have commented on the steep stairs. All buildings within the historic central part of Amsterdam have very steep stairs. If you want to be in the central then this is something you will have to accept. The room and en-suite bathroom are both very clean. They are very basic but you pay for what you get. We researched very carefully before we made our booking. Overall hotels/guesthouses in central amsterdam are not cheap. In the grand scheme of things, Aspen Hotel represents a really good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank SirElmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

people have moaned about the stairs but this is amsterdam i have stayed all over the city and stairs are steep its the nature of the way the houses were built i stayed for 3 nights with 4 friends in a quad room with en suite room was spacious very clean and very comfy beds we paid 100 euros each for 3 nights which was very very good value the location was great and the owners were excellent could not do enough for us we will be back please note none of the rooms include breakfast which for us was ok as it meant we could get up at our leisure and enjoy a nice brunch

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

€30 per night per person, you dont expect the ritz but the place was spotless and you couldn't be any closer to the centre unless you pitched a tent in Dam Square. Rudy, the guy that owns the hotel was very nice and helpful. just remember to turn the light off in the toilet when your done. we shared a toilet but honestly, they were immaculate. as was the shower (also shared) the only problem with the shower was you had to be literally inside the shower to get undressed, no big deal really! the stairs are STEEP, setting base camp half way began to look like an option at one point. the rooms again were spotless and very basic. the bed nice and cosy and I loved that there were two single duvets on the bed, it ment no tug of war mid sleep :D there is no food in the hotel but there are so many nice places to eat so close by, it didnt matter and literally 3 mins up the road was a supermarket. we left our bags with Rudy all day after we chcked out as our trian didnt leave until that night, no problem.

its cheap, its cheerful, its spotless and less than 1 mins walk from all the action. its perfect really

Room Tip: go for a room out the back, your away off the road, its nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 650S_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#212 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#318 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing