We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Botel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #170 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Botel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I was surprised at how comfortable and enjoyable my stay was. A Beautiful Botel with good facilities and extremely helpful staff. Special thanks to Joseph

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    597
    429
    139
    94
See reviews for
153
690
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

There are many reasons why this hotel was not the best.
1. Lack of directions to get there. Out of the central station, there are about 4 ferries, one of which takes you to the Botel. None were marked with the name of the hotel to help us tourists and we weren't told when we booked. We had to call to ask, while on the pier.
2. It's quite far from the centre. Takes half an hour on the ferry.
3. You would really need to love the swaying. I didn't think I'd mind since I don't get seasick, but it got on the nerves (since travelling also includes a ferry ride...) and we were only there for 3 nights.
4. The food! The one time we were forced to eat there was when we first arrived and were starved to death. The burgers we had from the bar were dry and obviously microwaved or something. However the free breakfast was nice and had a wide selection.
5. Bathroom was pokey.
6. We weren't told when our room would be ready before we turned up. When we got there we were told we'd have to wait 2 hours.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tigrisdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Having booked the Botel on the assumption that it was in it's old location, and based on older reviews, we were a little bit anxious to find it had moved and that more recent guests had been less than complimentary about it!

The rooms are quite dated and shabby, but we found our room to be really clean- with the bedding and towels changed daily. The bed itself was really comfy, and though the bathroom was "compact", the shower was nice and powerful. The walls are thin, but we didn't get woken at all by other guests- and the Botel's location makes it quite peaceful at night. Plenty of English speaking TV channels should you want them, and VERY adult entertainment on Channel 50!

The breakfast was perfectly adequate- usual continental type fayre plus bacon, sausages, boiled eggs etc. The bar serves drinks and light snacks, and there are also vending machines selling drinks and snacks just above reception. The staff were helpful, and there's a room for storing your luggage- should you arrive earlier than check-in or are flying out later than check out time.

You now have to get a ferry over to the Botel (really easy to find at the back entrance of Central Station, last landing dock on the left as you walk out), the service is regular (every half hour I think), and takes only ten minutes. If you miss the last boat, you can take the night ferry over the river and a shuttle-bus picks you up for the Botel- we did this twice and the despite reservations, the shuttlebus was there both times! The ferry can either be a right pain or an enjoyable part of your break- depending on your perspective. We didn't really see it as a problem.

If you're after luxury, this isn't the accomodation for you, but if you want somewhere cheap and clean- even if it may have seen better days-then don't be put off.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittylitterbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Rooms are basic , but clean. Small bar and lounge area internet, pool table thats about it. We found booking in easy and there is plenty of free parking near by (50yds) .Ferry takes you to train station incity centre 20min trip. Hotel has cafe's and bistro's 1min walk away. My partner and i found it ideal cheap rooms easy access to city centre ferry was free to use and ran all night and day. Breaffast was ok would not win awards but plenty was avaiable. Going back in 2010 for another fantastic weekend. Useing Botel again easy to find just far enough away to be peace full but close enough to enjoy Amsterdam nite life. if you like luxuary don't use it, it is basic

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

There's not a lot to say about the hotel. The position isn't that good but it's interesting to sleep in a boat. The rooms are small but clean, unfortunately we didn't have a great view. We just slept there, so we didn't see a lot, just the room. We paid too much for what we got, in my opinion, but at least our trip to Amsterdam was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We have stayed in amsterdam before and find city centre hotels to be very noisy, especially early on a morning (people, roadsweepers, banging doors, traffic etc etc). The Amstel Botel is a short ferry ride (10 minutes) from just behind Central Station. The location is quiet and the Amstel Botel is moored next to the Greenpeace Sirius and the Pollux which has a fantastic bar and restaurant.

The staff are excellent. The rooms are very basic (what you would expect to find on a ferry), but the beds were comfortable and the facilities adequate for what you need when spending most of your time in Amsterdam.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately return. We payed 45 Euro per night for a room through Hotelopia which we considered to be a very good deal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I have been traveling all my life and this by far, was the worst hotel experience of my entire 47 year life. A complete rip off......on the edge of Amsterdam at some ship yard in disrepair. Too the ferry over to the NDSM Pier, right next to some abadnoned Russian relic submarine. Walked 5 mins to the floating hotel, and waited while they checked us in. Very rude front desk help. When we got to the rooms, I almost checked out.....it was that bad, but I was too tired to go find another place to stay. Could not fit on the toilet without moving sideways. If you fell down in the shower, you would land in the toilet or sink. Literally, the bathroom is smaller than a closet. No A/C, just a small window to slide open for fresh air. No inside ventilation to speak of. Prisoners at Guantanamo have better conditions. The bar was a joke and the on site restaurant had terrible food. The cafe at the end of the pier was extremely expensive. This should be called the Prison Barge Hotel. Spend your money elewhere......this place is a dump.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeltaPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#74 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#195 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing