We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“the love boat:)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #168 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the love boat:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2006

just back from staying in the botel and it has to be praised! granted the rooms are not going to leave you week at the knees but for €78 for a double room including breakfast for 2 people, that is great! location is quite good, myseLf and my friend did get a taxi home (although the taxi man tried to over charge us by 10 euro, but we sorted it out!:) ahmmmmmm, if yiou do get a landview though the building works are vv noisey! but other from that great hotel and the staff are lovely, receptionist and bar maid were both lovely!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank salutkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    649
    474
    150
    97
See reviews for
170
768
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2006

My boyfried and I just returned from a weekend away at the Botel (3 nights) and we loved it! It is a fantastic location, you can walk everywhere. We were in Amsterdam in March 05 and we stayed miles away in an expensive hotel and it cost a fortune for taxis.
The room was really clean, warm and the bed was comfortable. The staff clean the rooms everyday and bring fresh towels etc. If the porn channel isn't your thing there are loads of other channels (at least twenty). The Bathroom is small but not tiny it does the job.
We didn't hear any noisy and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I can't comment on food because we didn't eat there but the Bar was nice and inexpensive. It is also very safe and secure at night.
After reading some of the reviews on this site I was worried but need not have been. This is a great place to stay, really different for your normal hotel. Oh and the view from our front room was beautiful and there is the most amazing chinese restaurant next to the hotel.
We would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2006

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights for our anniversary. I have stayed in several hotels in Amsterdam over the last 10 years, and expected the tiny room, uncomfortable bed, etc. etc. (If your lucky a 3 star hotel will be almost as good as a Motel 6, but smaller)

What I didn't expect was to have a room below the bar. We checked in at 10am, and I asked for a quiet room (explaining our celebration). We were not only below the bar, we were below the bartenders station. We heard constant footsteps, things being dropped, etc from 1pm-1am. Finally thinking we were going to get a good nights sleep, we were awakened at 4am as they started to set up the room for breakfast.

We asked to be moved the next morning, again explaing the circumstances, and were refused.

I have stayed here twice before without a problem. Perhaps if you get a room at a discounted rate through the web they give you one of their worst rooms?

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cal59nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amstel Botel three nights. We just returned from our trip. I was extremely pleased with the accommodations. The botel is in a perfect location, a 5 minute walk from the central train station, within walking distance to one of the main streets in Amsterdam (Damrak), to the canal rides, to the red light district, gay neighborhood, and many coffee shops. I had requested a quiet room with a view and they had let me know that they were going to do their best. Surely, they did. We had a wonderful view of the canal and historic buildings. Our room was quiet and clean. The bathroom was a little small, but it was completely managable. The X-rated movie channel was fun. The breakfast was included in the relatively low price of the room (75 Euros on a week day, 85 Euros on the weekend) and it was delicious. The rooms were warm and you could adjust the heat (we were there in the middle of January). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us city maps, provided us with directions to where to make phone calls, take the tram, etc. If I had to complain, I would only complain about the unfriendly bar tender. Unlike the hotels in the US, it is not common for hotels in Europe to have ice machines. My boyfriend and I wanted to have some cocktails before venturing out into the nightlife (we wanted to save money, Amsterdam IS expensive) and we asked her for ice. She gave us the weirdest look and almost was rude giving us the ice. Other than that, everything was perfect. The staff really did their best to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. When I read the reviews here, I was a little hesitant and worried, but I realized that my worries were unfounded. I must say, however, we were there during the off season (middle of January), it might be a different story in the summer. However, my experience was great and I recommend Amstel Botel to everyone.

Helpful?
9 Thank Onat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2006

My husband and I stayed here with 2 other friends. Both rooms were very clean, with everything you needed. (Along with the free porn channels!!) The breakfast was good and plenty of it. Nice friendly reception and bar staff was refreshing. We also used the complimentary room to leave our luggage on our last day as we only travelled home late that night.

The location was superb, just a very short walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the Red Light District.

For the price of this hotel, you can't really complain. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the ducks quacking very early in the morning!!! (That'll teach us to stay out too late!).

Would deffo stay again.

Michelle - Wigan, England

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michelle&Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2005

We stayed at the Botel during Xmas and it was great. Good value for money, the rooms and hotel are clean, nice breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location. Cant fault it.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OEKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

After reading the reviews, I was a bit worried. I stayed here for 5 nights with my 2 kids age 5 and 8. It was suppose to rain all 5 days and it was the 1st time my daughter was without the stroller. I needed a hotel close to public transportation. This fit the bill. Central station was a stone throw away and we could get busses, trams, and trains very easily. The kids LOVED it. We had a triple and I thought there was plenty of space. Remember - this is a boat. I expected everything to be smaller, but it wasn't. The shower was tight but I've been in much smaller ones. Only one night did we hear anything and it wasn't that loud. We had a room on the 3rd floor - I would recommend 3rd or 4th. I was worried about the porn on the TV but they turned it off without me asking them. We also had 2 or 3 English kids stations to keep the little ones entertained while getting ready in the morning.

I would recommend the Botel for families and groups. If you're there with a spouse there are plenty of other small hotels. Amsterdam is great with kids especially Nemo and Tun Fun. The Van Gogh musuem has a wonderful free pamphlet for kids - searching for art, puzzles, etc. 5 days was not enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveling_mom-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#205 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing