We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amsterdam continues to be a great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #169 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“amsterdam continues to be a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2005

From Jim, Dundee, Scotland.

Visited Amsterdam again from 13-16 April 2005, and stayed at the Botel which is approximately 3-4 minutes walk from Centraal Railway Station.

This is a good and very clean floating tourist hotel and with its central location you can access all the major attractions by tram or by foot .

The Botel does not take children. The free channels on the Satelite TV will probably explain why, but then again individuals have the option to watch or turn off. Anyway Amsterdam is so vibrant most people only want to use their rooms for crashing out in after the excesses of the day and night and only the extremely sad would want to stay in and watch TV.

The cafe bars are something else and the general atmosphere in the city is one of being totally chilled out. Restaurants are freely available to suit any price range. My personal favourite is the Ankara, a good quality Turkish Restaurant with excellent food at very reasonable prices.

My wife and I have visited Amsterdam 6 times in the past 5 years and will doubtless return next year.

Helpful?
9 Thank jimdundee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    649
    474
    150
    97
See reviews for
170
768
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2005

me and my boyfriend r only back from amsterdam on friday. we stayed at the amstel botel. i thought it was very nice accomodation yes it is basic but its very nice. the only thing i didnt enjoy about amsterdam was that it was a blizzard the snow is a half meter deep and i nearly broke my neck i wasnt prepared for this i thought it would hav been nice weather. so if there is any1 goin soon b prepared wif ur winter clothes as it is freezing its actually been snowing ther for the past 2 months. the rooms r small but its a boat and its only £54 a night so wat do u expect.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2005

Walk into the Boatel and you are immediately hit with the fragrant whiff of a certain notorious herb. O.K. this is Amsterdam but despite an 'official' policy of discouraging weed-use, in practice, it seems to be well-tolerated. This raises several issues. First if you are remotely asthmatic avoid this place like the plague. Secondly, if you dont like the smell of cannabis/tobacco smoke pervading your clothing, then avoid as well (unless you have written confirmation of a non-smoking room). There are some non-smoking rooms but even then past-guests seem to treat this as advice rather than instruction. Booking a room here is really Byzantine as well and this almost guarantees an argument upon check-in, so bring copies of every scrap of correspondence or email, and if you ring, the name, date and time of conversation. The rooms are basic but adequate but the showers have an alarming tendency to go from scolding to ice cold at will. The cleaners, no doubt used to airing rooms well, have a tendency to leave windows wide open in -2 Celsius temperatures while the central heating is simply not up to the job. I know this sounds negative but on the positive side, the river view rooms have a superb aspect (insist of this or otherwise you will enjoy a wonderful view of a railway track and all-night trains to soothe you to sleep). It is also brilliantly placed for Central Station and at 84 euros per-night (what we paid) for a non-smoking room and a hearty breakfast, you can put up with paper thin sound-proofing and the proclivities of your fellow guests.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2005

I felt I needed to write something because of all the strange, bad reviews this place has got. I've stayed there a few times and am about to go back there for a 3 night stay on Saturday - hence me looking at recent reviews

For what you pay, the Botel is great. The rooms aren't massive and the bathroom is quite small but everything is clean and tidy and the novelty of staying on a boat cannot be underestimated. You MUST stay on the canal side of the boat. There's nothing wrong with the harbour side but to open your curtains each morning to see and hear the water is brilliant. Not to mention that fact that you can look over the city; especially great if it's a weekday and you can watch people hurrying off to work before you take the short walk into the city centre for a nice smoke. Speaking of which they don't 'allow' you to smoke weed in the rooms but they don't do anything to stop you either.

All in all, a great hotel and really friendly staff. Clean rooms and very good value fo rmoney.

While sometimes people may get bad service off a member of staff who may have had a bad day or maybe a mistake is made and a room isn’t cleaned, 99% of the time the place is great – go and see for yourselves. You won’t regret it.

I will post again when I get home after Tuesday.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2005

Yes the rooms are TINY, the bathrooms are MINISCULE and the rooms do smell a bit smokey! But I found the Botel to be generally clean, friendly and in a great location! If you are expecting a huge, airy hotel room you will be disappointed but if you just want somewhere to shower and sleep, right in the heart of Amsterdam, then this is ideal! I don't understand the reviewers who said it was too far out of the centre! Perhaps they would rather stay right in the Liedsplein with all the noise and tacky pubs?? I have been to Amsterdam several times and I consider the city centre perimeters to stretch at least as far as the Botel! You can walk anywhere in the city from here. The nearest pubs and restaurants are perhaps 2 minutes away, with the red light district a bit further. If you are flying to Amsterdam, get on the train from the airport, get off at Centraal Station and after 5 minutes walk you are at the Botel!

One thing though - we paid extra for a canal view but our window was right above the metal walkway which leads to reception. This was pretty noisy when anyone with heels clattered past so I would stay on the other side if I went back again! You can pay extra for the breakfast, and although it's a good spread, you can eat better for less if you go to one of the cafes on the way into town.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2005

I was happy with the desk people and satisfied with the room. Coming back late at night can be a bit indimidating due to the long, relatively isolated walk to the "pier thingy". My only complaint was with the microscopic restroom, in which one has to virtually squat sideways under the sink in order to use the toilet. The shower was quite rusted, and the tiny bathroom quickly turns to a sauna when showering. But after all, this IS an old converted cruise ship of some sort.
I was a bit surprised to turn on the TV and find XXX porn playing 24 hours a day, but I suppose that could be a bonus. Might not want to leave the kids unattended, though, if you're the sort that brings children to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Westchase72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2004

The location is excellent right next to Centraal Station.
The rooms are small but clean
Breakfast is adequate
Free Porn channel for those interested.

To sum up it is what it is a cheap hotel at a cheap price.
If you want a luxorious hotel pay more and get one if you
just want a nice clean cheap room in an excellent location.
This is for you.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#206 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#71 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing