We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean facilities”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #170 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel was good value for money and I was impressed with the cleanliness and tidiness of the rooms. Good location to the centre of Amsterdam. The cooked breakfast was not really edible and I had to keep asking for extra cutlery etc as it was not on the table.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Amstel Botel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here as part of a group trip. With just two people in the room, space was tight! It was basic and cheap, and reasonably clean. While it is close to the city by ferry, the ferry is infrequent and quite irritating to manage if you have a bike. I visited Amsterdam during the hot Summer, and the room was very hot - ask for a fan at reception. Not a bad option for the budget-conscious, but not great either!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Good price but thats about it. Its 10 mins away on ferry from the station. But the ferry is once in 30 mins. Cleanliness and basic stuff is ok but staff courtesy is not great. Kitchen staff for breakfast were rude to us.....every morning. I'm not going back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Prasanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

i have just returned from 3 nights here. Our twin room was perfectly big enough though the shower room was tight- like on a boat. Plenty of hot water for showers, very clean and the linen was changed every day. After reading reviews I took soap, shampoo and hairdryer with me. Safe and WiFi worked well. Rather hot at night but we were there in a minor heatwave, but overall slept well in a comfortable bed. Staff mostly friendly and eventually we managed to arrange an early breakfast as we had an early flight home. The ferry to the station is fast, frequent and free. Highly recommended budget accommodation in a pretty expensive city

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

For a cheap place to stay it is fantastic. Rooms are basic. There was three of us in our room and there were bunk-beds in ours. It was a fun experience! The breakfast is continental and there is a good choice. You will feel like you are rocking for days afterwards but that is all part of the fun! The Botel is clean, and comfortable. The only downside is the location isn't central, although ferries do run every 15 minutes to take you into Amsterdam square. The bathroom is a bit of a squeeze, but for a place to rest you're head and refuel with a good breakfast I would recommend. Plus the location of the botel is lovely and we took some fantastic photographs around there. Perfect if there is a large group of you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferDawn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

very close to the center, you can reach the central station by ferry, which is free and runs 2 per hour. you can take the ferry behind Central Station
the rooms are large (very large if you compare with other boats, and normal if you compare with a hotel room. The bathroom a little bit smelly, but O.K

the breakfast was excellent - English and continental. helpful staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doru c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

stayed for a rugby weekend. not a bad base to visit Amsterdam. frequent free ferries into the centre of Amsterdam make it very accessible. the hotel is basic but is clean and comfortable. bathroom is a bit small and the shower is a fine balance to have at a decent temperature. and the advertised free movies are targeted more toward the adult market!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank leeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#252 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,083 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
857 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
West Side Inn Hotel
#303 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $68 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing