We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a BOAT,”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #169 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Lovely stay in the botel! Staff were fab, especially the receptionist Jose...! It was definately an experience... If anything a bit out dated! We will stay again without a doubt. The cheese toasters were good too

Room Tip: Go bottom floor! Ducks come to say hi in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megmog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice stay, friendly and helpful staff, cheap drinks, good breakfast! It was good at night and a weird but cool experience sleeping on a boat. Rubbish soap in the bathroom and stains on sheets, but apart from that a decent place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend back a-in Aug 2006 Great staff friendly Staff. The rooms were nice and and clean.
About 15 min walk from train station.
The city centre was not far from the Botel
We all had a good weekend staying there.
The breakfast was good

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayneworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed a night here as it was the cheapest rate we could find in the nearby area. Small, but decently clean rooms and ok service. Breakfast wasn't bad either.

The fact that this was a boat didn't really add or detract from the experience as a value hotel.

If you find a decent rate here, go for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

7 of us went to Amsterdam for my birthday. We got off to a bad start as the receptionist was rude and one couple were put in a twin as they had no doubles available. They had also booked us extra rooms but we didn't have to pay for their error. Apart from this it was fine! It is what it is basically. The room size for our double was fine. There's enough room to walk comfortably around. The bathrooms are like a washroom but again fine. The room is cleaned daily with fresh towels given. The bar staff are friendly and the drinks are a decent price! Breakfast has a range of croissants, cereal, fry up, yoghurts etc as well as orange juice and hot beverages. I've read reviews of people complaining that you have to get a ferry to Central Amsterdam. Yes this is true but they come every half hour and you'll be surprised how quick that goes! At night after the ferry stops there's another ferry that goes straight across and then a FREE shuttle bus that picks you up when you get there. It's a brilliant service. If you need a place to sleep, wash and get ready it's perfect! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucyscruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I visited here two weeks ago with my partner and family, ages ranging from 21-50. We got off to a bad start when it took the receptionist half an hour to book us in and then put me and my partner in a twin room after booking a double! First impressions were not great but that soon changed. They were unable to accommodate us with a double so we made the most of the twin room. Rooms are average size and cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen. The bathroom was the most disappointing aspect, it was barely big enough to stand in. Although shower resembled a hose it was powerful with a good temperature! Breakfast was delicious, worthy of a 4* hotel. Buffet style: Continental- croissants etc with jams, nutella and other spreads. Also a cooked option with bacon, sausages, toast etc. Unlimited Tea and Coffee too. The bar area was reasonable with a pool table and Juke box, we had great fun putting on some old classics! Alcoholic and soft drinks served and were well priced. Vending machines available on the floor we were on too. As a sufferer of sea sickness I was concerned before arriving, however you cannot feel the water at all on the boat making for a comfortable stay. There is a free ferry service every half an hour which run until 12am and 2am on a Saturday, after this time they run a free shuttle mini bus so you are never without transport. The Botel is a 15 minute ferry journey to central Amsterdam and the train station. The Airport is a 20 minute straight train journey from central Amsterdam and only 4 euros. There is a restaurant across from the boat which was reasonably priced and had a lovely atmosphere, I would recommend visiting if you want to enjoy a quiet night away from the business of central Amsterdam. Staff overall were friendly (apart from the receptionist). If we were to visit again we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FDeuchars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room we had was very reasonably price - which is why we were in the basement of the botel. With that being said, and comparing other hotels around amsterdam for what we had we were very happy. Our room was clean, quiet and unique.
Upon arriving at the airport ( I wish someone told us this), hop on the train to the central station. from there is a short two minute walk to the ferry which you can hop on for free and goes right to the botel. Much quicker and cheaper than a cab :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#256 of 372 in Amsterdam
766 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#271 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#165 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#82 of 372 in Amsterdam
875 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#201 of 372 in Amsterdam
359 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $71 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing