We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #167 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room we had was very reasonably price - which is why we were in the basement of the botel. With that being said, and comparing other hotels around amsterdam for what we had we were very happy. Our room was clean, quiet and unique.
Upon arriving at the airport ( I wish someone told us this), hop on the train to the central station. from there is a short two minute walk to the ferry which you can hop on for free and goes right to the botel. Much quicker and cheaper than a cab :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    673
    481
    152
    100
See reviews for
174
794
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirdum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Friendly service, free parkingplace in neighberhood.
At a quit place in a goog and clean room, own bathroom and toilet. TV and wireless
The breakefast is very good.
There is a free ferry day and night from the hotel to the Central station, that means that you are in the center of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: just make a reservation, or if you like see also "Hotel veiling".It is worth to try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joostwirdum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed her for 4 nights in February and found it to be perfect for out needs.
Personally I didn't think the rooms were too small, nor the shower, but I'm not massively fussy. The only thing I would say is that if you're in a double there's a massive metal bar running the lenght of the bed, so get extra pillows and put them under the sheet.
The free ferry journey (worth noting it is the N.D.S.M ferry, as three leave from the same place and we weren't sure which one to get on the first night!) was lovely, and quite a relaxing way to get back from the hustle and bustle of the city.
If you're after spending lots of time in your room this porbably isn't the best place to stay, but if you're going to be out and about all day its fine.
I would recommend renting the bikes, we had an amazing time riding round the canals and seeing all the lovely houses etc.
Breakfast we lovely, everything you need! Staff friendly and helpful. You can ask for a late check in, in does cost 25 euros but you get the room until 6 in the afternoon so its worth the money.
We would definately go back, plus if you stay once you get your next stay for 17 euros a night!

Room Tip: River view room is the best, you can see when the ferry's are coming in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

rooms very small
not convenient for short stays since ferry arrives almost after 30 mins
breakfast okok
but rooms very small
staff nice and helpful
but rooms still small.
not a nice idea to tk this hotel
altho value for money but rooms very small

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horizonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed 3 nights here and we really liked it. The botel is a free 15min ride by Ferry to the center of a Amsterdam. The room was a good size and had an ocean view. The room came with a buffet breakfast that was really good as well. The only problems we had were that the tv channels would cut out sometimes and the internet connection was poor in the rooms a lot if the time. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the first time. The rooms were basic but comfortable. If you wanted to spend time in your room I wouldn't recommend this hotel. If you need somewhere to change, wash and sleep then the rooms are adequate and the beds comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay. The bar/breakfast area was functional and pleasant enough.
Although there is a free ferry shuttle service to Central Station, across the port, the location of the hotel is not ideal as there is very little around the vicinity of it's moorings. No shops or convenience stores, only a bar/restaurant and a bakery/coffee shop. Both looked very nice, but did not visit/use either.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

First time booking in a hotel ship. Nice experience and was easy to go to central Amsterdam by ferry. Nice to have free Wifi in the room too. Bar is welcoming and the staff is friendly. Reasonable price. Little bit of a small room but enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#156 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#69 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing