We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean small rooms, need to take ferry to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #163 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean small rooms, need to take ferry to city centre”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Small clean room, very very small bathroom, good English breakfast + selection of cheeses and ham. TV is available with channels in various languages, the English channels were mostly news so not much in terms of movies. The room has a safe but you have to pay extra to use it.

Main problem with Botel is that in order to get to the center you need to get on a ferry, which is free, takes about 10 mins but is every 30 mins so if you miss it tiu have to wait. After midnight you have to take another ferry and then a Botel shuttle. Staff will provide you with ferry timetable.

Another issue was the shower water - whenever the other rooms were using their tabs our water got boiling hot or freezing cold.

I personally would pay a bit more and stay in the center and avoid all the hassle with the ferry. Apart from that the Botel is ok, clean and warm, I would recommend it to more budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    709
    499
    153
    101
See reviews for
182
837
59
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I would go back to this hotel, which is actually a floating ship, that has been made into a hotel.
A lot of hotels in Amsterdam are dingy, and you need to be careful where you are staying.
The Botel is about 10mins walk to the shopping district, and about the same to the famous red light district.
It is quiet at night, and is only about 5 mins walk from the train station.
Breakfast is good, and there is a bar.
Rooms are tiny, as you would expect for a boat, but each has its own ensuite, and is comfortable and clean, I would go back again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The first thing to know is the Amstel botel is quite a way from the city centre, however a free boat operates every 15 minutes from the boat to the central train station. The rooms are very small and the bathroom is tiny but for what you are paying it is good value for money. The breakfast, which includes hot food was the best we have had in hostels and you could have as much as you like. All of the rooms are non smoking so you actually have to go off the boat to have a cigarette if you are a smoker. The rooms have everything you need and I will be returning next time I am here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed on the Botel for 4 nights over new years and had a great time! The bar was really good, i think we ate them clean out of ham and cheese toasties, they were so delicious, hats off to the chef! The jukebox had some classic tunes on it to get the botel rocking, we loved it. Staff were very understanding, even when two of my friends had fisti cuffs at 5am on the first night! The guy on reception took it in his stride, future pride of britian nominee i rekon, he didnt kick off at all, even when my friends pillow got thrown In the river!
Be sure to check out channel 27 on the TV, 24 hour porn channel, didnt see one repeat, ! Overall really good experience, well reccomended!!

Helpful?
3 Thank TyronaCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I thought the hotel was just over the river but it's a 10min ferry crossing(free). That said. The hotel it's self is excellent. Great breakfast and very helpful front desk. The shower is small but ultra powerful. 10/10 for our experience. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GibsonsFoodGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great value, unique place to stay, enjoyed the ferry!! Would of liked tea coffee in room, fine to use as a place to rest. It was as I expected it to be for the price.
Great if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of city center.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisasage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

just returned here from a 2 night stay, was a bit worried when reading some reviews, but have to stay I don't know what they were complaining about, the rooms were basic but had everything you need and was very clean, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was really good, the free 10 minutes ferry ride was good and had no problems, the Botel was clean all round, the boat did sway a bit, we were on the top floor over looking the submarine, We would recommend the Botel to anyone, it was very quiet and we heard no noise, we had a late flight back so for 5 euros left our cases in the Central Stations luggage holders, so we could enjoy our last night without having to carry our cases, but one warning you have to pay by either credit or debit card for the lockers No cash excepted

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor over looking the submarine, good views also
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
994 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
694 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
137 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing