We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #171 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I thought the hotel was just over the river but it's a 10min ferry crossing(free). That said. The hotel it's self is excellent. Great breakfast and very helpful front desk. The shower is small but ultra powerful. 10/10 for our experience. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GibsonsFoodGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Amstel Botel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great value, unique place to stay, enjoyed the ferry!! Would of liked tea coffee in room, fine to use as a place to rest. It was as I expected it to be for the price.
Great if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of city center.


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lisasage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

just returned here from a 2 night stay, was a bit worried when reading some reviews, but have to stay I don't know what they were complaining about, the rooms were basic but had everything you need and was very clean, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was really good, the free 10 minutes ferry ride was good and had no problems, the Botel was clean all round, the boat did sway a bit, we were on the top floor over looking the submarine, We would recommend the Botel to anyone, it was very quiet and we heard no noise, we had a late flight back so for 5 euros left our cases in the Central Stations luggage holders, so we could enjoy our last night without having to carry our cases, but one warning you have to pay by either credit or debit card for the lockers No cash excepted

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor over looking the submarine, good views also
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Estelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Botel is in a lovely quiet location with a free ferry service connecting it directly to central station. The rooms are small but clean and the breakfast was good. The staff all seemed friendly enough. We did not go to Amsterdam for the nightlife so had some long days sightseeing followed by an evening meal then headed back to our room to chill out - this is where the hotel let us down somewhat. Our room (323) was situated directly above the jukebox so getting to sleep before midnight was never going to happen! We also had some incredibly noisy and inconsiderate neighbours - the walls must be pretty thin! There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the shelf above the bed meant that there was nowhere you could sit comfortably to read or watch tv. Minor niggles but would have made all the difference to our stay. Despite this being a non-smoking hotel we noticed a lot of guests smoking out of open bedroom windows and the smell is noticeable in hallways or if you want to leave your own window open - a real pet hate of ours!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not above the bar area if you want any sleep!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkHamiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We've have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Botel, first trip to Amsterdam, and because it was reasonably priced, we didn't expect much. We were pleasantly surprised!! It's in a beautiful, quiet location, with just a couple of restaurants on the doorstep! There's a free ferry service every half an hour, to take you into the town centre, and a free bus throughout the night! Fab!!!
The place itself is immaculate. Yes, rooms are fairly basic, small, but the amazing views from your window, more than makes up for that!!! The staff are so, so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast isn't amazing, but hey, it's foreign, so naturally, the sausages/bacon etc have a slightly different taste! There are lots of things to choose from, so you will find something you like!
We recommend hiring a bike from the hotel (15 Euro for 24 hours) It's a fab way to get around - the only way it seems, in Amsterdam!! You can ride on the free ferry and explore the whole town...brilliant!!
So, would we return to the Botel?? You bet we would...without a doubt!!!!! The incredible views across the water, as opposed to the town, are just unbeatable!!!
See you next year!!! ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaMartin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the botel, booked through jet2 holidays.
A bargain at under £200 for flights from Leeds, accommodation and breakfast.
The botel is fine for a short stay, clean ,comfortable, and very quiet.
We had a top floor room and had great views, there was just a slight movement on the boat,every now and again, due to other passing boats etc.
The breakfast was fine, breads cheese meats , and bacon and eggs if you wanted it. There is also a small bar on board as well, which is handy for a drink in the evening.
The only way to reach the city is on the free ferry near the botel, which goes to central station, if you walk through the station it's then a short walk to take you into the city.
The ferries run till midnight and start around 7 in the morning. In central station are lockers for luggage, handy if you have an early or later flight home. Think they were about 8 Euros for 24 hours.
If you can try the Mata Hari bar and restaurant, it has a website, it was a great place to enjoy an evening drink and the food was excellent.
I would recommend the botel for a reasonably priced short stay, clean, comfortable, and perfectly acceptable .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guccigirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#251 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,083 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
857 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
West Side Inn Hotel
#303 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing