We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #169 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It was a little far walk from main square
rooms were small
bathroom was too small
but the feel of being on the ship was good
no breakfast was there
In September it rained a few times so was a little tricky to walk up and down

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venudhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    654
    477
    150
    97
See reviews for
170
775
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torfaen, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff were very helpful. The room was quite basic, but very good for the price. It was clean, the bathroom was small, but how much room do you need? We would certainly use the Botel again. The double bed was large and we had two very good night's sleep in a very quiet room. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The free ferry to the centre of Amsterdam (Central Station) runs every 30 minutes and was no problem at all. There is a room where you can store luggage after check out for the day which was very useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

RECEPTION-very friendly and helpful, the lady with the dark curly hair was full of useful info, she advised us to hire a cycle each, which we did , 30 euros each for 24 hours, defiantly worth it !
ROOM- bigger than I expected to be honest , shower, toilet and sink room are a bit cramped , but don't forget this is really a cabin , not a luxury suite, room had a little wardrobe, writing desk with draws , and shelving above the bed , which suited us fine , beds are a little hard, but not a massive deal ,I asked for extra pillows ( good tip),rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily , we had waterside view , its not a 'dreamy',view , but not horrid , lovely sunrise in the mornings , and you can see the ferry coming in.
FOOD- we had paid for b and b , there were cornflakes, various meat and cheese, hot bacon , sausage, beans and hard boiled eggs, plenty of bread and fruit toast (to toast yourself), tea/coffee/juice is ALL self service, its a typically European b/fast so don't expect typical English things( when in Rome ).
They have a bar serving hot,cold,and alcoholic drinks, but we didn't use it much as we were mainly out.
My only downside was that because our flight home was so early that we missed b/fast and the botel didn't provide a takeaway b/fast box or something similar .
You can hire a spare adaptor if needed from reception for a 5euro deposit .
I would highly recommend hiring a 'yellow bike' for at least 1 day , its a lot of fun , but keep your wits about you, and take a map /guide, EVERYONE seems to cycle here , its fast paced and a bit scary at times , but is still a must do experience x

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsoverall2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here in September and loved it!! its so unique. Very easy to access and loved the wee ferry across each day. ideal location for the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms was basic but comfy and ideal for its purpose. Breakfast was good and had plenty for us to eat. Booked up again for next year!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsgoldie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend got home last night after a 4 night stay at the amstel botel. We were really looking forward to staying on a boat rather than in a hotel but we didn't enjoy out stay as much as we would of done. Overall it was very basic; the rooms, the service, the menu, everything. I understand its a boat and I knew the rooms and bathrooms wouldn't be huge but they were so small it was difficult to deal with. Me and my friend are both slim women and we struggled to shower. There was only 3 UK tv channels and when we asked about the free in house movies that was advertised on the side of the boat, we were told it was advertising the free porn channel! The location is good as it's only a 10 minute ferry ride from centraal station and it's free. Last ferry is 11.45 but if you miss it like we did, you can get on the ferry for just 3 mins and then a 10 minute bus journey (24hrs) and a 10 minute walk. The woman that checked us in and out was so miserable and rude! Not a good face for the botel at all. We didn't have the breakfast as the reviews I read weren't great and I was wasn't willing to pay €10 each to eat there when there are plenty of other places 10 mins away. The bar is open until 1am and seemed pretty lively but if you want a drink or sandwich during the day, it's hard to find someone to serve you. We did enjoy staying on a boat but wouldn't stay here again. It doesn't deserve the 3 stars that it's rated, I would say it was more like 2*

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dora89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Bed was ok, no shower pressure, moldy shower curtain.

After ordering a few drinks with friends at the bar I asked for a glass of water (to clear my throat) and the bartender who was busy playing with his phone (guy with dark hair and sideburns) told me to "get it from the bathroom". What a jerk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capecodgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in September. With my husband. Rooms were basic, (the bathroom is very small) but clean and adequate. A hairdryer is available from reception. A safe can be rented for a small fee and refundable deposit. Breakfast is not included. 10 euro per person is payable on entrance to the dining room. Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. We did feel on the odd occasion we were on a boat with a very slight sway. But mostly we forgot we were. Getting there is straight forward, a ferry runs very regularly from outside central station. Later at night it stops, and a shuttle bus runs all night from another place. We would recommend Amstel Botel to adults of any age for a short stay as it's reasonably priced, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet easy to get to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#205 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing