We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!!”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #168 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here in September and loved it!! its so unique. Very easy to access and loved the wee ferry across each day. ideal location for the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms was basic but comfy and ideal for its purpose. Breakfast was good and had plenty for us to eat. Booked up again for next year!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsgoldie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend got home last night after a 4 night stay at the amstel botel. We were really looking forward to staying on a boat rather than in a hotel but we didn't enjoy out stay as much as we would of done. Overall it was very basic; the rooms, the service, the menu, everything. I understand its a boat and I knew the rooms and bathrooms wouldn't be huge but they were so small it was difficult to deal with. Me and my friend are both slim women and we struggled to shower. There was only 3 UK tv channels and when we asked about the free in house movies that was advertised on the side of the boat, we were told it was advertising the free porn channel! The location is good as it's only a 10 minute ferry ride from centraal station and it's free. Last ferry is 11.45 but if you miss it like we did, you can get on the ferry for just 3 mins and then a 10 minute bus journey (24hrs) and a 10 minute walk. The woman that checked us in and out was so miserable and rude! Not a good face for the botel at all. We didn't have the breakfast as the reviews I read weren't great and I was wasn't willing to pay €10 each to eat there when there are plenty of other places 10 mins away. The bar is open until 1am and seemed pretty lively but if you want a drink or sandwich during the day, it's hard to find someone to serve you. We did enjoy staying on a boat but wouldn't stay here again. It doesn't deserve the 3 stars that it's rated, I would say it was more like 2*

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dora89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Bed was ok, no shower pressure, moldy shower curtain.

After ordering a few drinks with friends at the bar I asked for a glass of water (to clear my throat) and the bartender who was busy playing with his phone (guy with dark hair and sideburns) told me to "get it from the bathroom". What a jerk.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capecodgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in September. With my husband. Rooms were basic, (the bathroom is very small) but clean and adequate. A hairdryer is available from reception. A safe can be rented for a small fee and refundable deposit. Breakfast is not included. 10 euro per person is payable on entrance to the dining room. Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. We did feel on the odd occasion we were on a boat with a very slight sway. But mostly we forgot we were. Getting there is straight forward, a ferry runs very regularly from outside central station. Later at night it stops, and a shuttle bus runs all night from another place. We would recommend Amstel Botel to adults of any age for a short stay as it's reasonably priced, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet easy to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Basic, clean, cheap, quiet and the novelty of staying on a boat! Room was also a good size and the view was great as it was a boat lol. Breakfast wasn't great to be fair, I just had sausages and toast. There is a ferry service to take you to the Central station to be honest it does get a bit annoying having to travel but you see a lot of the buildings along the river. I would rather stay on the other side of the water for handiness. Staff were so helpful with places to visit.

Room Tip: Sea view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

just returnedfrom staying at the botel,great place, quite basic but clean and the breakfasts were good. easy to get to from the station free ferry service just make sure you check times because they change throughout the day. shower was tiny but we are used to cruising, its a cheap ideal place to stay. only complaint my daughter found the bed too hard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is very clean and easy to get to via the free ferry service to and from Amsterdam Central Station which takes about 15 minutes. Although the hotel is on a boat, you can hardly ever feel it moving which is good to know if you worry about suffering with sea sickness.
We paid for an en-suite double room. The bed was very comfortable with two separate fluorescent lights above each pillow. There was also a safe and a small flat screen TV but we didn't either of them. The shower was very tiny and initially we had difficulty getting the water to run any more than lukewarm but got there in the end. The room was made up to an impressive standard by the cleaning staff who were also very polite and friendly.
The hotel also allowed us free use of their luggage room when we arrived
(because we arrived at 10am but our check-in wasn't until 2pm) and when we checked out as our flight wasn't until the late evening.
There is also a bar and restaurant on the boat but as we were self-catering, we didn't make use of these facilities so we cannot comment on them.
The room keys consist of smart cards which bear no identifiable markings to the hotel or the room which means that if you lose your key card, you have no chance of somebody finding the card and having access to your room. This also means you don't have a physical key which some smaller budget hotels require you to "hand in" at reception every time you leave the hotel.
Overall, a fantastic budget hotel for anybody who wants to be relatively close to Amsterdam City Center without paying through the nose for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl-and-holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#256 of 372 in Amsterdam
766 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#164 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#83 of 372 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#201 of 372 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $61 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing