We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great value for money”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #170 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Botel for a long weekend away in Amsterdam. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but very clean with a comfy bed and great views. Fully adequate for what we needed as a base. Close to the free ferry which takes you back to Centraal Station and then a short walk to Dam Square. We would definitely stay at the Botel again (and have started plans to already!!!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveh6574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Amstel Botel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great place,great atmosphere,great value for money,would definitely use this place as a base camp again,so close to the main square and easy access to the free ferries,(which run every 30mins), value for money

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

on a recent short break in Amsterdam, we stayed at the Amstel Botel, clean rooms, close enough to the city centre (10 mins on the free ferry) (Ferry comes every half hour all day long, 15 min during peak times), so its not a big deal waiting for it.

What really impressed was the quality of the bed, normally not seen in a budget hotel.

Breakfast was fine, decent variety and filling. Orange juice was really good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Twenty two of us stayed here - its a funky and cool place to stay just out side the city centre and with a free ferry every fifteen minutes to Centraal Station.

The rooms were clean and practical and with great views over the river.

All of us agreed that we would stay here again and plan to do so soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThreeBlackPears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a topdeck trip with 40+ other people, the rooms are typical 90's style accommodation and could do with some colour besides Mint, bathrooms are tiny you have to sit sideways on the toilet otherwise u will miss. But it's quite cool staying out of the city and the ferry is free and departs every 15min into Central Station which is great. would stay here again. Beware the steps are very steep so if you come back late at night after a few beers take care!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frypan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a stag do and it was really good! A great location next to Centraal Station and only a 10-15 minute walk into central Amsterdam. Pretty basic but all you need as a base to explore the city!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0M_ARMSTR0NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived taking the Bahn City Night Line from Frankfurt (that in itself made for a great time on the overnight train). Arrived at the station and headed down to the Botel. Front desk staff were very personable, and we checked into our room early. The room was adequately furnished, albeit on the small side but IMHO that's the way in a lot of European cities. Very clean, and the coolness factor was that we were on a vessel!

Noticed a neat placard warning of the consumption of weed on the premises-obligingly we hit the Cafe's and behaved in the Botel.

Amsterdam is a neat place-culture, awesome views from just about anywhere you're gooping around. The Red light district is just that...all on display if the red curtains in the windows were open Shops catering to a wide scope of tastes. Your call, bring the € if you're steering towards that section.

Hit a great Blues bar one night, had a blast listening to the music and doing the party thing. Bourbon Street Blues Bar by far was my fav. Friendly, loud music, bartenders that kept your drink full etc.

Sorry for going OT here but I had to add the adventure aspect of Amsterdam. Overall we had a nice time during our stay at the Botel and plan on heading there again. Amsterdam, I miss ya!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#252 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,083 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
858 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
West Side Inn Hotel
#303 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $68 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing