We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for a budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #163 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good enough for a budget hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was the cheapest solution we found in a city where hotels are quite overpriced. It was quite clean - which is my priority when booking a hotel- though the housekeeper had the habit to through my sleepwear on the little table by the bed and once she even left the cover of the trash can on our clothes on the chair, which was quite frustrating. Breakfast is decent though it gets quite crowded at the buffet. To visit the city center you need to take a little boat (for free) that takes about 15 minutes and this is quite fun but you need to know the timetable so as not to need to wait half an hour at the peer. Overall it's a good budget place but comforts are limited, since the rooms and bathrooms are quite small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMel1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    709
    499
    153
    101
See reviews for
182
837
59
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A convenient mode of transportation with a hop-on/hop-off at various locations throughout the city. There is an informational audio track that places in key languages telling a bit about the canal and buildings lining the canals. If the weather is nice, the windows and roofs slide open.

Helpful?
Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amsterdam was a real issue for us, trying to find somewhere cheap and reasonable. This turned out to meet both criteria.
Arriving in the middle of the night (well about 11.30pm), we were checked in quickly and sent off to our room. Those stairs were difficult with packs on our backs!
The room was comfortable, although a bit small, with a really tiny bathroom. But it was suffifcient.
Breakfasts were good, although options for special dietary restrictions were limited.
Our second night there were two TopDeck tour groups at the Botel, and you really would not have known they were there if you hadn't seen their bus - apart from when a whole pile of them wanted into the 12 seater (already full) van from the overnight ferry stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights and honestly couldn't wait to leave!

We were greeted by a smiley female receptionist who turned out to be a very rude and abrupt person. We had booked a double, to be told that it had been changed to a twin. After complaining to her she couldn't have cared less, no customer service what so ever.

The room was as we thought it would be, basic, warm & clean. Bring earplugs, there are people running up and down the corridors giggling, shouting, banging and screaming until 5am.

The breakfast was a shambles! I asked for bacon and was told "Yes, it's coming but you have to wait" I laughed to myself as I had been waiting for 20 minutes, ended up not eating breakfast, wouldn't have fed the food offered to my dog!

The management of the Hotel on the whole is very poor. Some members of staff are really nice but the other 80% are not. They promote it as an inexpensive place to stay, for what you get it is a rip off! Pay an extra 20Euro/night and get a proper hotel somewhere where the guests come first.

I cannot communicate enough how disappointed with this Hotel I am. Please please please don't stay here no matter how attractive the pricing looks.

Room Tip: Room tip no.1 - Don't book a room in the first place. Room tip no. 2 - Ask for a room thats sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week and was pleasantly surprised. Room and shower small but that's to be expected as it's a boat. Rooms very clean and warm. Bed/mattress really comfortable. Breakfast was good, great strong coffee, fresh orange, croissants, toast, fruit bread, ham, cheese etc. Hot food was boiled eggs and bacon. Nice quiet location and great regular and free 10 min ferry trip. Just make sure you get on the right ferry.

Room Tip: Ask for waterside room as noise from the harbour side might be noisy with late nighters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luveurotripsglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were in the Amstel Botel in November 2012, it was a nice break, great staff&tasty breakfast - continental, yummy, excellent criossant&pastry&other stuff:-) If you like the hotel on facebook you get a free drink in the bar:-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank renawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved it, loved it, loved it! I loved the fact that it was a bit different and not your average hotel and we had cabins instead.

Met some fantastic people whilst we stayed here to, would definitely be back! cannot comment on the food as we missed breakfast everyday and had to eat out!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomis2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
994 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
694 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
136 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing