We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night B&B”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #169 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One night B&B”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked this from Clever Rooms for £20 B&B so complete bargain. It you want a basic and clean room for the night with breakfast then this is for you. Comfortable bed, hot shower and very good breakfast sets you up for the day to explore the great city.

Don't be put off with the ferry trip because it is very regular and is right next to central station so a ten min journey from there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    735
    518
    161
    106
See reviews for
188
872
61
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good value for money. Basic accommodation. Good breakfast buffet. Bit of a way out of the centre (ferry ride) but the transport is free so good for people on a budget. Check in and check out problem free - reception desk staff very helpful for an early departure arrangements. Good value for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind a five min ferry it's well worth it!
The peace and quite in comparison to staying in the centre was lovely and the views are nice to wake up to, it was -10 when I was the in January but the hole boat was warm and cosy!!!
Il be staying there again for sure!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed here with friends last January, I must say it is great vaue for money and would return again on my next visit to Amsterdam.
The boats over to the the city are every 15 mins we never had to wait for one everytime we went out one was there. the hotel was nice and clean and the staff was very helpful. the breakfast was ok not much choice but still was good.
The hotel was really easy to find came out of the train station and straight to the boat 10 mins and your at the hotel.
would stay again, good value for money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Amstel Botel was comfortable, clean, had a great breakfast and was easy to get to.
Some wonderful graffiti art nearby and an artists area. The submarine view from my window was lovely too and if you enjoy boat rides it is for you.
Worth a trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Can't really complain for the price. Stayed here for 3 nights with 2 friends. However, I fail to see how this is a 3* hotel. Bunk beds were incredibly basic and lacked comfort. The top bunk comprised of an old cupboard door with a mattress on top, which is something I've never seen before. The 'bathroom' reminded me of a caravan. The sink half covering the toilet and the shower again very basic.

The upside, was the bar, which has a pool table, juke box and a pinball machine and of course the main bar. Drinks seemed quite reasonable, which may be handy if you don't fancy the high prices in the city centre! It's open til around 1-2am from memory. We had breakfast included in our deal, which was actually quite pleasant, although the bacon went pretty quickly which was disappointing!

Don't get me wrong, we didn't come to Amsterdam to sit in the hotel all day, and for the price, it was worth the money, but the biggest disappointment was the proximity to the city centre, which admittedly was our fault as we trusted the woman at Thomas Cook! It's a ferry trip away to the central station and from there you can walk into the city centre. Takes around 15 minutes and is free, but means you can't make quick little trips back to your room whilst you are out.

Overall, I wouldn't return to this hotel. However, don't let what I've said put you off if you just want somewhere cheap and simple to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamlead2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Cheap and cheerful. Need to get a ferry to the botel from near the station. We flew and got a train from the airport. The station is rignt next to the station which was handy as we had big bags. Check in was 2pm but luckily they let us check in early. The people waiting behind us were also wanting to do this but there were limited rooms ready!
get what you pay for !
Rooms are basic but what you expect. Beds were really comy actually !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#235 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#158 of 367 in Amsterdam
186 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 367 in Amsterdam
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing