We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Amsterdam with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #164 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holiday in Amsterdam with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here with family for 3 nights. Hotel was good also friendly staff and very helpful. Bedroom was a little on the small side also was the shower. But everything was clean. Towels changed everyday. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. Would definitly stay again. Ferry to the central station ran every 15 mins in the day then 30 mins in the evening. When you come out of the station at the back entrance turn left and the free ferry is just a short walk away and is the last ferry on the right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadviser187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    717
    501
    154
    102
See reviews for
185
841
60
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Low class hotel. Maybe nice for the real budget traveller but was below standard. Unfriendly staff at reception to start, very small rooms with dirty carpet and towels that needed to be replaced for newer ones. Beds were old, dirty and not ferm at all.
Breakfast was poor (very standard)
Location attracted but the hotel itself was just not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJdB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here as part of Top Deck Tour. Room was on bottom floor with great views on to water. Room very small with only just enough room to walk around. Toilet and shower combined and very cramped. Everything was clean though. Breakfast was pretty good as well. Ferry is 2 minute walk away which is good. Very small and basic, but clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyMerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Botel at the beginning of september on way back to ferry at Ijmunden. Staff are very helpful and rooms very clean. The breakfast was plentiful. There is a ferry running regularly to the cetral station, which is free, the shopping, food and drinks area are a few minutes walk from the station. Would definately stay again. We were able to park motorbike on the quayside in front of the botel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed here for a weekend in August 2012, and we were impressed. We arrived at Amsterdam Centraal Station very late but we were able to get a free ferry to the Botel (during the night there is a free shuttle bus). When we arrived, the bar was open til 1am so we were able to have a quick drink. The room was nice, though the bed was a bit hard. The view from the room depends which side of the hotel you are on, we were lucky enough to get a room facing the city rather than the docks. The TV had English channels as well as the local ones (including some rude channels!). The one disappointment was the toilet/shower, it was very very small. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. All in all, it was a good experience, and we never got seasick once!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Amstel Botel at the end of a fortnight touring Europe on our motorcycles.
The room was comfortable though a little small, but what was expected as a cabin on a boat. The bathroom was badly designed, it was very small and would have been better if a corner sink had been used. With the sink in the position it is it protrudes into your shoulder when using the toilet and would be very difficult if it was a larger person using the facility. The bed was comfortable and the view from the window was really good. There really was no movement noticeable on the boat as it is really well secured, even though there was a really strong wind bloowing whilst we were there.
The free transport means that although you are 'on the other side of the water' this is not an issue and this transport runs regularly enough and 24 hours a day.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was the most English we had had over the fortnight, with bacon, sausage and beans, along with the usual continental choices.
Overall you get exactly what you pay for. This is a budget hotel. Personally I would not stay here again, although there is nothing wrong with it I would rather pay a little more and have a little luxury and on the right side of the water.
They were happy to store our luggage after we had booked out (we did not need to set off for the ferry home until mid afternoon and booking out had to be by 11am) and this was stored in a secured room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenbikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staff great and breaky pretty good. Rooms smelt of smoke and for those that suffer sea sickness it was a little rocky. (only those who suffer would notice) free shuttle across to the mainland is easy and runs every 30 minutes in peak times and every hour all other time until 1145pm.
Rooms are clean but tiny, can only have one in the bathroom at a time.
Friends of ours had their bags searched through when their room was broken into. we believe that the key was given from reception to a stranger so make sure no extra keys are handed out.
All in all an ok place to stay

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#66 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing