We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was very impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #163 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Was very impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was a little worried about staying here becaus of all the bad reviews.
But it was brilliant cheap and cheerful comfy staff very nice .

Would defo stay there again me and my friend really njoyed it

Natalie platt and Debbie Stratton

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    711
    500
    154
    101
See reviews for
183
838
60
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has some good and bad points, let's start with the good, rooms were clean and tidy on arrival, handy location and free ferry to and from cities edge, 24/7 reception and friendly, helpful staff and the breakfast's were pretty good. Now the bad, the rooms do smell of smoke of different varieties, (but this is Amsterdam) smallest bathroom I have ever seen and we had people break in and go through our luggage. I personally wouldn't be visiting twice, but value for money in staying.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cricklade, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a great time in Amsterdam. Botel was very clean and friendly. Room sufficient and warm, lovely view across river. Good choice of food at breakfast. Would definately stay here again. So much to see in Amsterdam and many museums to visit also a great zoo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

just back from amsterdam and can recommend the amstel botel as a cheap, safe place to stay when in Amsterdam. located on the river Ij it has free direct link with central station by ferry which runs every 10 minutes during the day and every half hour in the evening. The Botel has a bus shuttle service which runs after midnight.Buffet style breakfast with things like bacon, hard boiled eggs, beans, sausages,bread, croissants, jam, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Rooms are adequate with TV, wardrobe and drawer space, and bathrooms, although small have hot shower, loo and wash basin.ask for a room with a view of the river.Can be noisy at weekends but you are away from the main noise of the city. Roof top veranda is great on a fine day and the downstairs bar is open till 12.45am

Room Tip: a view over the river Ij
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ole12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with our 3 year old daughter. We were forced to book a triple room and we ended up with 3 bunk beds. Even though, we paid for a triple room, we asked them to give us a double room but they said no because of security reasons. At times, you can feel the sway. The shower is tricky with the water turning cold and hot on and off. Ferry to boat is free. You are not allowed to take anything out of the breakfast even a single banana! Wifi works well. This is definitely not a family hotel but more for young travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Ill mannered staff, never said please, thank you or excuse me. Poor breakfasts, bacon which was 80% fat, no fried eggs and boiled eggs which had black yolks instead of yellow. Smelly drains in the toilet/shower room, in which you had to hold your breath with every use. Extremely lumpy beds, which if you didn`t have back ache when you went in, you would definately have back ache when you came out, which we did.
I wouldn`t go back to the Amstel Botel even if they paid me to, stay well away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petenamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Showers small but okay, bed comfortable, sleep quality would have been good but for the bars noise upstairs (see traveller room tips), service was average, location was great, free 15 min ferry every 30 mins to central station in Amsterdam, advice.... Rent bike from hotel and use it the whole time your in Amsterdam, it is a boat and it was a novel experience all things considered.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side of the boat for the view rather than the dock side and do not take a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sendlukealetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#226 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing