We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting hotel”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #331 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disgusting hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

On arrival we were met by a very pleasant gentleman. First impression of rooms were ah well its somewhere to sleep. Went out for the evening on return to our rooms we took time to have a little look around. bedding was clean, no remote control for tv, curtains hanging off curtain rail, lampshade broken, carpets dirty, both bedrooms dirty. The whole hotel is falling to bits. On taking breakfast in the morning, there was no breakfast tea, and the breakfast was of a very poor standard. staff were very rude. On leaving the hotel the following day, my daughter and her friend were covered in bites which we believe were from bed bugs. Do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Be warned. £50.00 per night per person.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianetall1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    71
    97
    54
    65
See reviews for
31
136
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of two guide books but were bitterly disappointed. We are well travelled and have stayed in better youth hostels!!! We were promised a garden room but ended up with a room that was in the middle of the building with windows opening over an exterior air vent. Mould in the bathroom. We asked FOUR times in our four night stay (twice in writing) for the light in the bathroom to be fixed to no avail. Double room had two single beds with holes in the sheet on one of them. Internet access in the rooms - you must be joking ... there was not even sufficient light to read by!! The breakfast room was grubby with foul carpet, filth from yesterday's breakfast still around the tables, dirty dishes from earlier diners, leaking roof and broken glass in picture window. Full ashtrays in the courtyard outside had been left out overnight and had filled up with rainwater - the stench from this permeating the dining room. Breakfast, we were told, ended at 11.00am but by 09.50 supplies had run low and it was being cleared away. Breakfast was a poor attempt at a continental breakfast. Not even 2 cup's worth of luke warm water in a thermos flask to make a cup of tea! The fact that this hotel was centrally situated (next to a noisy nightclub so don't expect to get a good night's sleep - and we did not even have a canal facing room!) was a blessing because it meant we could spend as little time as possible in the room. The two ladies on night duty were helpful and friendly, the guys on duty in the morning could not care less. On two separate occassions, we were in the lobby while the receptionists were trying to sort out double bookings. If you have not booked a hotel yet, DON'T book this one. We are sorry not to have read the June and July 2010 reviews before booking - they are spot on.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We just stayed in The Agora last week and it was disgusting! We heard about the hotel in a well trusted travel book, so we were surprised at the accommodations. Lobby and dining room were appalling. Carpets and furniture were old and stained...look to never have been updated! Rooms were old and filthy, not sure there is maid service. Quality of sheets and bed were awful...we didn't experience bed bugs, but felt creepy crawlers.
Not sure the club is still under ownership, as we never heard music or crowds. However we did the stampede of other guests passing our door at all times of the night.
Note this place has no elevator and is not suitable for those with carry-on luggage or larger, as there are very narrow steps.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! RUN!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I was going by reviews from two travel books, one of which was Fodor, that said how the place was nice and gave you a feel for an old canal house. The reality was that first, after arranging for two canal view rooms months ago, they tried to to put me in the back overlooking an air shaft. The woman tried to say that I had only made a request for a canal view and they had none. I told her that I had it in writing that I was to have two canal rooms, then an attic room on the canal miraculously opened up. (FYI: the canal view was the only reason I selected the hotel, so it was a big deal.)

The two young folks (18 and 25) with us took the attic room and let us have theirs, which was an actual canal side view room as promised (at least there was one). But it was the attic room that had the bed bugs. I never knew of anyone who had them and I have to admit that I have been skeptical when I see it written, thinking that people might be inventing it to trash the hotel. So that there is no doubt in anyones mind, I am posting two photos I took of her face and arm. She got bites on many parts of her body the first night, even though she was under the sheets. We so wanted to think they were mosquitoes, but the bites were redder and became hotter than mosquito bites, and they were in places that mosquitoes just would not have had access too. Further, her brother, usually prone to mosquito bites, sleeping in the next bed, had no bites.

Then, after the first night, when she slept on top of the bed instead of inside the sheets and covers and/or in a another bed, she stopped getting bitten. But the bites continued to hurt her for several days. We informed the hotel, but since now I know there was a June review with the same problem, it looks like they do not take the problem seriously.

Generally, the place is run very unprofessionally. When we arrived around 5:00, for example, there was a sign that we needed to go the restaurant in back. Generally, there is no one from the hotel there after 5:00. The attic room had a lot of mold and even some body hair in the shower. Our room was just dusty and the shower stall had considerable mildew built up in the tiles. I developed immediately bad sinuses due to the dirt and mold of the room and that stayed with me through the rest of the trip. The hall and breakfast room carpeting look like the worst condition I have ever seen. I saw the same loose pieces of stuff on the hall carpet steps everyday, indicating that they never vacuum them or at least it must be rarely.

The SIngel Canal is the loudest canal, I believe, with parties going on late at night. There is no air-conditioning and it is too loud to sleep with the windows open and there are no screens. (This part I expected, but am just trying to be thorough.)

The told us breakfast was served until 11:00, but on the last day (of a three night stay), the kids were told at 10:30 that the breakfast was closed.

To summarize: it is not clean, not well run, and it has bed bugs. And, it is not even cheap. Do not stay here. I will note that there is one young man who is very helpful and helped us with making calls to deal with a stolen wallet (that did not happen there). But one personable desk attendant is insufficient to make a stay there a good experience.

Donna Hanousek
Washington, DC

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnafromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2010

the hotel is in a great location, but there is a disco next door that gets going around 9 p.m.
the furniture, rugs, and beds are ancient. after our second night , I woke with bed bug bites on my face. the second night I awoke with more bed bug bites on my hands and arms. no soap in the bathroom either.
no apology was give , neither was any compensation. with only being 2 stars my expectations weren't high, but they weren;t this low either. would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I cared about.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Would not go back to the Hotel Agora, the reason's being that the hotel is located next door to a night club, which if your in a front room is very noisey, the rooms were not up to date, no tea & coffee making facilities, seperate beds in a double room, the breakfast IS minimal & consists of a hard boiled egg, toast, fruit and cereal but you need to get down early enough as once its gone its gone! Our TV was tiny and had one english channel. The location of the hotel is perfect and easy to find, only a ten minute walk from all the attractions and the staff in the hotel were really nice and always happy to help. Overall it was a nice hotel but personally i think its WAY to overpriced x

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam-Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

this hotel cost over 500 euro for four nights and WELL wasn't worth it. The staff were very helpfull and the hotel was in a nice area jus ten minute walk from everything but what they didnt tell us is there is a club right next door which is quite loud if your in a front facing room. The rooms were old fashioned with not a lot to offer, no kettle, a tv that had one english channel and 2 beds even though i has stated a double room. Breakfast was minimal, hard boiled eggs to peel yourself, toast, small selection of fruit, cereal and if you come down early enough there was cakes and pastry. Think its way overpriced 300 euro would have been acceptable.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#290 of 368 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#168 of 368 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 368 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#300 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,384 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#225 of 368 in Amsterdam
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing