We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Price, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #339 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO USA
15
Reviewed January 7, 2005

I agree with the reviewer from England that the person from the US is off the mark with comments about security. We stayed at the Agora during October 2004 and never felt the least bit unsafe. There is plenty of security, and we enjoyed our stay there. We had a canal-side room, and are thinking of getting a garden-side room when we go back, because there is quite a bit of street noise on the canal side. But at night we just plugged in the fan that was in the room and it drowned out most of the streetcar noise. And it was nice to look out the window and see the passers-by. At any rate, we found the Agora very comfortable, the staff was very nice, and the location is just great. We also liked the breakfast. There's plenty of choice with coffee, tea, toast, cereals, soft-boiled eggs, meats and cheeses. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 324 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2004

The person from the USA who complained about security is way off
target. The bedrooms are secure (three swipe cards) at least three
cctv,s and staff on hand. The doors are secure, rooms have large
safe's. ONLY THE CARELESS WOULD GET ROBBED, and the doors to the rooms are good and solid (fire reg's).
Our bathroom was brand new, there were downsides but like for
like it was reasonable value for money, and very Central. Not the
best presented breakfast, or the best choice, but adequate, there is no
need to go hungary.
GET IN THERE TO BE IN THE CENTRE FOR THE PRICE.

2  Thank purgatorypugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Canterbury, Kent UK
12
Reviewed December 9, 2004

We stayed at the end of November 2004.Centrally situated, quiet at night, trams stop right near it. This hotel was excellent. The only slight complaint was that we are ex-smokers, and the room had obviously had a cigar smoker in it before us. Having said that, the room overlooking the canal on the first floor was warm, comfortable, quiet and had a great view.
The stairs take a bit of negotiating, but are soon got used to. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend, and hope to return next year. Amsterdan and the canals are wonderful!
It was so easy to get a train from Schipol, the station is below the airport. We had planned to get a taxi, but everything is so simple, we caught the train to Central Amsterdam, then got a tram outside the railway station (No. 1.2 or 5) to Konigsplien, to the hotel.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2004

I stayed at this hotel November 25-28, 2004. My room was #35. The room was a bit small and the covers a bit threadbare. The room was slightly drafty, but o.k. (how much time are you going to spend in your hotel room?). The bathroom across the hall was EXCELLENT. Looks like it was just refinished. The room and bathroom were always clean. Breakfast was o.k. The staff were very nice and helped with any questions I had. There are many bars and restaurants in the area. Tram stop for trams 1, 2, and 5 are just around the corner. The hotel is very easy to get to from Central Station, and you can get to the the museum area, or any other destination very easily as well. The location of the hotel was very good. I felt safe at this hotel. FYI there is no elevator, so if you do not like stairs, you want want to find another hotel. This was my 3rd time to the city and I had a pleasant time. I would stay here again.

kilmistr@hotmail.com

1  Thank kilmistr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2004

We chose the Agora having read other reviews on this site and were happily not disappointed. We stayed for a 3-night stay, and, having arrived early were able to check into our room at 1030 am. Check in was friendly, speedy and efficient and secure, the room we had booked was a double with ensuite facilities we did not pay extra for canal view and as it was had a view of nearby offices, allowing plenty of people watching , the huge windows were screened by full length voile and long lined curtains. the room was of average size with a huge comfortable double bed, wardrobe with safe deposit box - at no additional cost - and bureau and chairs. The bathroom was modern and clean with a massive walk in shower dispensing hot water every time we used it. There was a hairdryer & shaver point and large soft white towels which were changed daily. We were situated on the 2nd floor and the stairs were quite steep but we soon became acclimitised to them. We found the hotel to be quiet at night times even allowing for its central location . The room was warmly heated and we were able to open the windows to allow additional ventilation. Buffet breakfast was available from 730-10 and there was a wide varied selection to choose from. The Singel is a very pretty canal and the location of the Agora is very handy for Spui , and the Flowermarket about 5mins. away ; the Leidesplein, Vondel Park and Dam square are about 10 mns. away and Red Light area and Station about 15-20 mins walk. There are lots of bars , cafes and a wide choice of varying eteries all close by. Just watch out on the walkways for the bikes !

6  Thank kalimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

The rooms at the Hotel Agora are uncomfortable, there are no screens on the windows, no air conditioning and mosquitos are rampant at night. We were bitten from head to toe. If that wasn't enough, the doors on the rooms are made out of particle board, the locks are flimsy, front desk security is non-existent, and we were robbed! The Hotel did nothing to help us. Don't stay here; its' unsafe!

1  Thank LaurieMillvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2004

First time I've stayed at the Agora but would definately stay there again. Staff helpful and welcoming, great location, very clean. Has the charm often lacking in chain hotels but retains the high standards.

We stayed in the attic room - a long haul up the stairs but definately worth it!

1  Thank tazandhooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#231 of 373 in Amsterdam
382 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#122 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#324 of 373 in Amsterdam
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#235 of 373 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $65 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing