We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a few days stay but I would want to stay here any longer”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #330 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad for a few days stay but I would want to stay here any longer”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel having room 28 which is a double and the loft room 36. Room 28 was a decent size with an en-suit that was a good size also. The loft room was ok. It had twin beds at one end and a double at the other with a small bathroom in the middle. Rooms were clean with linen changed every day. The furniture in the rooms was very shabby but serviceable, although in the loft room the sockets were broken, there were several bulbs not working and there was no shower curtain so water went everywhere in the bathroom. We did complain about this and it was put onto the computer but nothing was done!!
The stairs to the rooms are very steep and there are a lot of them, so no good if you have trouble with stairs!!
Breakfast was from 7.30am until 10am, although one morning the lady on duty stopped the teenagers I was with from coming into the dining room at 9.40 because she said breakfast was finished. She did however change her mind when I challenged this and then went on to let other residence in later, but these were families! Breakfast was VERY basic and food was always running out.
The location of the hotel is good, a 5 minute walk from Dam Square, just over the road from the flower market, and 5 minutes from Anne Frank’s house.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, when the TV broke in room 28 on the day before we left, the man on duty did all he could to get it going, changing the TV and cables but when he failed to make it worked, he left an apology note which was nice!
All in all not too bad for a few days stay but I would want to stay here any longer!

Room Tip: Room 28 was a great room, no noise from the street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    96
    53
    64
See reviews for
31
132
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were there for our honeymoon. The staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful with directions.
The room size in general was not overly big, but you don't spend all day in your room when on holiday anyway. The bathroom was very neat and tidy, the bed was comfortable and the window let in a very decent amount of light during the day. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_tuckerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadsund, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel has a wonderful location and the prices were good. We had a triple toom which was spacious enough but lacked storage space and the TV was old. The bathroom was refurbished but there were bare wires exposed and there was no plug for the hairdryer provided.
It is hard to improve on the space in such an historic location but the carpets need to be changed. They smell old. The bedsheets fluffed on everything so my black pants became gray
Other than that the staff were nice enough and I really enjoyed Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiness1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The pros of this hotel is its location. It is in the center of the center of town. The cons are that it's old, the carpets are dirty, the sheets are torn, the walls have holes and the bathroom reeks. No elevator. Although we were assured that there is always a staff person at the "desk", 50% of the time we entered or left the hotel there was no one there. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jekPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brasil
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excelent location budget- friendly in heart of Amsterdam!!! Easy to go to the central station, and near cafes, restaurantes, nightclubs and main young attractions. Typical Amsterdam house :) Cozy and great room :) the staff is great!!! they received some packages for me while i was not in the hotel and kept for me until i arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stecnogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

really liked this hotel. great location, only a few mins walk to Dam Square & all the other attractions. our room was small but comfy. there wasnt much of a view from our room but we didnt mind that. windows opened out wide to let the air flow in. stairs a little steep but not a huge problem. breakfast was disgusting, scrambled eggs & bacon were cold.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wexgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked this hotel back in November 2012, so when we arrived and found that we had a room in the attic of a traditional Amsterdam house was a surprise. Three steep staircases, you needed climbing gear. This would have been a real bad surprise for someone old or very young.
The room was very small and in need of decorating but clean, bathroom was a shared with two other rooms but very clean.
Location good five minute walk to dam square, right next to the bulb market. Breakfast basic but good, scrambled egg, toast, bacon, cheese, ham, cereals and croissants. Roof above dinning area glazed affair which was in a very poor state, cracked glass and dirty.
Hotel needs a bit of TLC all round, shame because very good location.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a low room number below 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#291 of 367 in Amsterdam
558 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#257 of 367 in Amsterdam
171 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#233 of 367 in Amsterdam
360 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 367 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing