We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, comfortable on pocket and good on quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #313 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Noida, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location, comfortable on pocket and good on quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Agora is a very nice hotel suited for budget travelers. Located near the Flower Market, it provides easy accessibility to all the attractions of the city. The shopping district, Dam Square are all very close. There is a Supermarket around the corner.The tram station is a minute's walk. It is clean, comfortable with a good hot breakfast. And the rooms are good size compared to other Amsterdam Hotels. The staff is friendly.We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTripathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    66
    87
    46
    51
See reviews for
27
113
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Quaint Amsterdam hotel. Central location, 3-4 tram stops from train station, walking distance to museums, restaurants. No lift. Attentive, informative staff, great rates, fantastic American-style breakfast. Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exptrav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and I was satisfy with room. The room looked to inner yard and it was quite, so nothing disturbe us. Staff was freindly and helpful. Breakfast was good too.
It is very easy to find the hotel, because it is few meters after flower market. If you arive at Central station in Amsterdam just ask for 'Flower market' and the hotel is on the same side of canal where the market is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Valentin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited Agora hotel with my family, so we had 8 hotelrooms in total. I can give a fair view on the standard of this hotel as i saw all of them.

We, like others, had used tripadvisor (which my grandparents who booked the hotel had not) to see what the hotel were like for the weekend in Amsterdam, so we had managed our expectations somewhat (from other travellers reviews).

We were first given hotelroom 21 that absolutely stank of laundry that had been forgotten (wet laundry) so we were given room 35 ( tiny with a bathroom in the hall). Another part of my family were given room next door ( i think room 34).
The room they received were very dirty and some of the worst were: black hair in the bathtub day 2 (they are all blondes) so not ours, underneath frames there were a lot of black marks and fluids also a broken lamp. Our room was dirty, bathroom clean.

Our bed was clean ( even though my BF refused to sleep under the dyvet) but underneath the madress some questionable spots had not been cleaned for a long time.

My brother found blood stains on his pillow and in the bathroom... Most of the rooms needed seriouse cleaning (6 out of the 8 i saw)

Luckily ( thank to tripadvisor) we knew that the club next door could make the night and sleep impossible so we checked out saturday as a party was going on for the night. My family in room 35 did not and could not sleep before 5 am...
So check out if a party is on.

That said: staff were nice to us and location is as central as anything (
that is a big plus). Breakfast enough to start the day.
However they will never get my business again, sorry.

Book this if you dont care about bugs, your health, noise and cleaning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Norden12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Near Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Agora is conveniently located near Tram stops and on a canal near the Dam and within walking distance of many tourist attractions. We only had about 16 hours to spend in Amsterdam and we were able to walk around and get the flavor of the central city, while feeling safe. The room was a bit funky (not a glitzy Hilton) on the order of older European hotels. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was courteous, polite and fluent in English. The breakfast was adequate: it was the usual "petit dejeuner" of older European establishments; not recommended for hearty eaters. Our room on the Canal was not terribly noisy; we could hear the Tram going by, but foot traffic was not raucous, nor did it keep us awake. (Perhaps in high summer, it might be noisier?) As two 60+ American women, we felt safe in the establishment and also in the neighborhood. Considering the cost of other hotels in the central city, the Agora was a good value. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone not wishing to stay in a chrome and glass modern hostelry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#288 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#182 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#274 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing