We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PIQNIQ

PIQNIQ
Ranked #10 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European, Soups, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: PIQNIQ: for your breakfast, lunch & high tea in the Jordaan area in Amsterdam PIQNIQ as in picnic? Yes, something like that. PIQNIQ is derived from the French word for picnic; pique a nique. Pique means 'choose or pick something' while nique stands for 'a litlle something' means. So PIQNIQ refers to a variety of small dishes of which you can choose from, just like a picnic in the country. At PIQNIQ you are invited to choose from our variety of small sweet & savory dishes and enjoying them in our nice natural restaurant in a typical golden age Amsterdam surrounding while looking at the life on the street, reading a newspaper/magazine/book or take pleasure in a conversation with your table companion(s).At PIQNIQ we serve breakfast, lunch, coffee and tea with sweet bites, fresh juices, smoothies, a quality glass of wine and cold beers. You can also order for a special treat at the office or to take with you to the park or on your boat tour. Take a look at our website for the different possibilities and the menu. We are open daily from 09.00 am. till 05:30 pm.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I really enjoyed my experience at Piqniq, the prices are fair and the food was delicious. The portions are small but they make you aware of this, I ordered two items and a smoothie and was quite satisfied. I also loved the atmosphere, the restaurant is so cute and our waitress was warm and helpful. I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    226
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A disappointment - we ended up leaving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We travelled across the city to get to this place for brunch. It's situated on Lindengracht which is a lovely street, Admittedly I cannot comment on the food. The service was a huge let down.

We were particularly keen since we'd heard they catered for the gluten free diet. However upon arrival there were no seats inside so we decided to order some drinks and sit outside to wait for a table to become available. We ordered a hot chocolate, a black coffee and 2 capuccinos. It took over 20 minutes just for the drinks to be served. We felt this was a rather long delay so we ended up leaving and going to 'G's Really Nice Place' instead - and I'm glad we did.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merkur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Amsterdam lunch ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Don't miss this place. A must try when in Amsterdam... The soup was great and the hot sandwiches were delicious!

Helpful?
Thank ShayAf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What is this, food for ants?!?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Piqniq was just downstairs from where we were staying, and we saw it was ranked highly on TripAdvisor,so we thought we'd check it out. It was OK. The food was good, lots of interesting choices, but the portions were weirdly small. I had a "sandwich" that could be eaten in one or two bites. The soup was served in what looked like a bourbon glass. I had a forest fruit smoothie, which was also quite small... but an appropriate size for my tiny sandwich, I guess. Also we were the only guys eating there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLuciw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“GLUTEN FREE SANDWICH YAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness we discovered this charming little cafe. Our 13 year old with celiac/nut allergy had been gazing longingly at our sandwiches all week until we found this wonderful lunch spot. The sandwiches are fresh and delicious, and the gluten free roll was focaccia bread warmed in a sandwich iron, not the usual dried-out anemic stuff. Just cannot say enough. Would have eaten lunch here every day if we'd discovered it sooner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsvanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PIQNIQ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to PIQNIQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing