We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visiting friends in amsterdam, and looking for a place to stay one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #63 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“visiting friends in amsterdam, and looking for a place to stay one night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Sometimes there is this rare moment you are just looking for a cheap hotel and you wonder how it is possible that the price quality ratio can be that good in amsterdam. For Less than 70 euro's a place to sleep for 2 persons, breakfast for two persons, and a closed parking garage included in the price. Incredible :-) And then the quality of it all was also very good. Well if you want to make a remark the hotel was not in the city centre, and yes it was outside the ring so nothing for people without a car or other means of transportation. Breakfast was good, the bed was good, room was very good, garage was very good, people where friendly. I liked it, and will definitely go back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchWindsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Dutch747,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    641
    158
    34
    9
See reviews for
170
581
60
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn Sloterdijk (pronounced Sloter - dyke) for 2 nights with my sister. Was charged €4 Local City Tax on arrival. Stayed on the 2nd floor and wi-fi connect was strong! Also the TV takes a USB stick, so was able to watch a couple of shows. Hotel 5 minute walk from the station, less than 10 minutes via to Amsterdam Central. Standard Continental Breakfast as well as fresh hot boiled eggs (yum!) Would have given 5 stars, but 1. An alarm went off at 9.20 in the morning and 2. the receptionist tried to charge me Tourist Tax which is the same as Local Tourist tax.

Room Tip: If arriving by train from the airport, take the bus and tram exit out of the station and turn right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Tallie156,

Thank you visiting us, we were very pleased to welcome you as our guest.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay,
Please excuse us for the fire alarm in the morning. Fortunately, we found out within half a minute that the alarm was under control and caused by smoke from the toaster in the breakfast area. We are sorry to read that this was an inconvenience for you.
Due to the Dutch law, all hotels in Amsterdam have to charge 5% citytax over the roomrate. Please contact me personally if you have any more questions about this.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Very good value. Very accessible. Connected with bus, tram and train. Staff very helpful. Rooms very clean. Breakfast was great. Couldn't ask for more especially at the price. Go visit Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side of hotel (opposite side to station)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Brian B,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very pleased with your comments regarding our hotel, product and team.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent location, you have train, tram, bus AND Metro all next to the hotel - So pay less and get a 24 / 48 hour ticket (can't use them on the Mainline trains) tram 12 goes up to the Museums by Vondelpark area and then you can change to a 5 that goes up the main street of shops Via Leindsplein to Centraal Station.
What you save on hotel price you can spend in one of the many restaurants throughout the city. Rooms are small but comfortable, clean and ideal for a short weekend break, Staff friendly and always around - 2 free Pc's in reception that can be used and Wi-Fi throughout (free for IHG members) had no issues with connecting.
Breakfast was great for a free offering - really liked the hams and cheeses (makes a change from a cooked breakfast)
Will be back no-doubt on my return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boeingAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear BoeingAde,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We are very pleased with your kind words and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is well connected to the Amsterdam city. One can reach Amsterdam Centraal either by Intercity Train (roughly 3EUR) or by Tram (covered in City Pass). Both tram stations and Train station are next to the hotel. Breakfast was nice. Helpful staff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subeer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Subeer D,

Thank you for your comment. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family of five stayed for 2 nights 14 & 15 January 2013. We had to book three rooms as the hotel only caters for two per room. The hotel is new, clean, everything is where it should be and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. A good continental breakfast is included. There is a lovely lounge area to sit and do whatever. A small bar, prepackaged food to purchase plus noodles and microwave - great for teenagers.

Next door is the train station, tram and bus depot. We paid 15 euro for a 48 hour pass which includes the tram and bus (not the train). You can either catch the 48 bus to central station in the heart of Amsterdam or the number 12 trams to the Museum district. It is very easy to get around and so easy.

We had a car which we parked for 15 euro per day, which is ok for parking in Amsterdam. Street parking near the canals is 5.40 euro per hour!!!!

Room Tip: some rooms have doors joining each other. As you can only book two people per room it would be help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbesy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Forbesy66,

Thank you very much for your time to write your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend 17th Jan 2014. Reception staff were perfect, hotel was lovely and clean, location was one stop on the train away.
The reason I have not given this 5* is because if you wanted a drink near the hotel! there was only one bar close by, which was ok though. However ever the intrepid explorer, we wandered and found a great bar called Pistols, which was a great little bar and reasonably priced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Tony S,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel, the staff and our location. Please come in and enjoy a drink in our cosy hotelbar upon your next stay, we would be pleased to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.1 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
4.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing