We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lovely place,well connected although bit away from central amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #63 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sibsagar, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely place,well connected although bit away from central amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Located right at the sloterdjik station this hotel is very easy access to trains,trams,buses and metro to travel accross.The entrance initially looked very uninviting with the reception at second floor.But the helpful staff,clean rooms made the stay really memorable one .Staff was helpful ,were ready to have a chat with you,discuss food and roads around.
rooms were spacious ,tidy quite big for European hotels with all facilities.Only thing different i would wish in the hotel was a restaurant and regular meals.Breakfast was complimentary buffet but lacked variety.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of entrance are quieter as they are away from the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abdul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear abdul a,

Thank you for your kind words! I am happy to learn that you appreciated our service and cleanliness, something the team and I work for very hard every day. Our continental breakfast buffet is indeed offered complimentary. We hope to welcome you again to the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk!
Kind regards,
Paul

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    557
    135
    28
    8
See reviews for
151
487
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was located at the Sloterdijk train station, one stop away from Amsterdam Central, which was easily reached by tram, bus or train. Stayed on 7th floor, could not hear any train traffic. Rooms were very clean, staff was exceptionally helpful and very friendly. Day trips to other cities made easy as hotel was at station. Good free breakfast (rolls, cheese, meats, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee (not very good coffee)), only complaint would be the beds, the beds were pretty uncomfortable, have stayed in European hotels before so know what to expect, but the beds felt like you were sleeping on a box spring, other than that, would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay on 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimeyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear LimeyFlorida,

Thank you for your kind words! I am surprised to read you did not like our beds. Only last month we have finalised a complete swap of all the mattresses. Please be so kind as to let me know in which room you stayed so I can have a look at the bed myself. You can contact me via gm.amsop@hiex.nl.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights also to attend a congress at the RAI. First off, the link to and from Schipol airport is fast (around 10 min), cheap (€3.70 one way) and very convenient. The hotel is right next door to Sloterdijk station. Then, the link to the RAI by Metro is also convenient once you get the hang of where to get the train, how to use the ticket machine, etc, at Sloterdijk station. The room was modern, clean and relatively spacious for a European hotel. The bathroom was also modern and spacious; it also had all the appearance of being clean but there were some areas around the toilet that had been routinely neglected or missed. The bed unfortunately was not very comfortable (very hard, cheap feeling mattress). The free breakfast however was good. Finally, the hotel front desk is on the first floor while the front door is on ground level, and looks nothing like a main entrance actually - this was a source of confusion for taxi drivers and guests alike actually. Having said all this, the stay was comfortable and better than some Holiday Inns I've stayed at, as this Holiday Inn Express feels quite new and therefore still fresh.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeemui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear yeemui,

Thank you for the time you have taken to evaluate recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and is warming to read that you where happy with the layout and condition of the hotel and its rooms.

Please rest assure your feedback regarding the bathroom will be shared with our housekeeping department. Only last month we completed a full swop of mattresses in the entire hotel and thus you feedback in this matter is quite surprising to me. Would be so kind as to contact me via gm.amsop@hiex.nl to tell me in which room you stayed? I would gladly take a look at the condition of the mattress myself.

Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Winnebago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is extraordinarily clean and modern. The location is excellent as the train station is right next to it with a 5 minute ride into Central Station of Amsterdam city. We saved some money by staying on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sara M,

We are happy to read that you appreciated both the hotel and location. I have share you enthusiasm about the cleanliness with my colleagues in the housekeeping department, who were very happy to hear about your comments.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was in for 4 nights for a trade exhibition at Rai, Very easy to get to and from Schipol, Rai and the tourist sites as there is a major transportation hub,Sloterdijk Station, right below it including:train, metro, tram and buses. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free wifi connection was excellent and there is a desk to work on in the room with an ample quantity of electric sockets. The hotel looks new and both the room and facilities were well kept and clean, The breakfast buffet had a nice selection.
I would gladly return to this hotel for biz or pleasure when not seeking a luxury stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have minimal train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yarden61_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear yarden61_13

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back either on business or pleasure.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from a 12 day Baltic Cruise which began with two nights in Amsterdam before departing on the cruise. This hotel is very accessible for a pre-cruise stay. Upon arrival it is only a 10 minute train ride from Schiphol Airport for a mere 3.90 euros. Adjacent to the hotel entrance is the end of the line tram and bus stop for travel into central Amsterdam. We purchased a 48 hour transit card at the hotel front desk which covered our travel for our entire time in Amsterdam. The bus takes you directly to Amsterdam Central Station in 20 minutes. The trams take you to the museum areas and Dam Square in 15. The bus also took us directly to the Amsterdam Cruise Ship Terminal but the bus stop was about 500 yards from the terminal - very doable if not pulling a lot of luggage. I choose this hotel because many of the quaint boutique hotel in Central Amsterdam have no elevators and the rooms are smaller. The HI Express has large rooms and great facilities. The free WIFI throughout and the generous breakfast buffet got us off to a great start each day. You cannot go wrong in using this hotel as a base for any trip to Amsterdam and the surrounding area. Many excursions by public transportation can be taken from Amsterdam Central Station including half hour bus rides to the scenic fishing villages of Volendam and Marken. The Brasserie Hermes is the only restaurant nearby (directly across the street) but we had a wonderful dinner with great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear SteelerFan17701,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. It is always great to read that guest have an experience as we would like it to be: pleasant, convenient and hospitable.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is situated right above Sloterdijk Station - the upside is the convenience (just a couple of stops from the airport), the downside is the railway noise -despite double glazed windows. Sloterdijk is a great hub from which to connect to the local train and metro systems. The hotel is minimalist - like most of its type, but my room was modern, clean and all the basics were there, including fee WiFi. The price was a little high compared to other hotels of the same brand that I have stayed in, but occupancy was nearly 100% that night which could explain it.

The breakfast quality was poor and totally self-service, with queues for most things. If you don't want bread, ham or cheese - you have to make do with tea/coffee and fruit juice/cereal. Given the price of the room I would have expected a little more and perhaps some hot food.

I would stay again for the convenience of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front side of the hotel to reduce the impact of the station noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HielanDrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear HielanDrover,

Thank for taking the time to share your experiences with us. The hotel open little under two years ago and we are doing are utmost best to upkeep the property to its current standards. It is warming to read that our guests notice this as well.

The concept of the Holiday Inn Express brand is based on Select Service, a part of the services provided is our Free Continental Breakfast buffet, the same applies for the WiFi.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#135 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing