We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #62 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh and Easy”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For us, this turned out to be a remarkably good choice for a city break in Amsterdam.

Sloterdijk Station is easy to get to, just 2 stops by train from Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. It's easy to reach Amsterdam locations from - one stop by train to Centraal Station. It is a terminus for the 12 tram, which will take you direct to Museumplein, for the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum; it's a bus terminus as well, and the 48 bus will also take to Centraal Station.

We bought 72 hour GVB passes for 16.5 Euros per person at reception, and with the help of the hotel map got everywhere we wanted by tram and bus for 3 days solid. The one difficulty (which we had read in other reviews) is that when you arrive with your cases from the airport, after you come out of the station you have to carry your cases down a flight of steps to reach the hotel entrance. However when you are heading back to the airport, you can use the escalator to take your cases up to the station concourse. Within the station there are lifts/elevators to/from platform level.

The room was nicely appointed and the décor and fittings were fresh and modern, including the bathroom. It lacks some of the niceties of more expensive hotel rooms, e.g. it has compact hanging space rather than a wardrobe, and shelves rather than drawers. However, we fully unpacked and didn't need to live out of our cases for our 4 nights. If you need a safety deposit box, there is none in the room, but reception will quickly set you up with one in a room near to the desk. Our room looked out towards the station and the western horizon, and we happily sipped a nightcap as we watched the sun go down behind the distant wind farm (OK not Sydney harbour but pleasant all the same!).

The bathroom or rather shower room is fully equipped but there is no conventional basket of toiletries. Wall dispensers of hair and body wash are provided instead. The aircon was lacking in power but with perseverance the temperature could be reduced, plus the window could be tilted to an open position as well. With the window closed there was virtually no noise from the station and trains.

These minor quibbles are more than made up for by the free continental breakfast. The range is reasonable, with cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, fresh and delicious bread and pastries, cereals, yoghurts and more. The breakfast room is light and airy, looking out at the station and pretty trees, and it was a pleasure to eat there.

I had read that locating a Dutch restaurant in Amsterdam was like finding hens teeth, but we came across one in Leidseplein called De Blauwe Hollander. I can vouch for the bitterballs and the white asparagus soup, and the generous and comforting main courses. The staff were friendly and giving of their time and sense of humour. A bit like discovering a family of Dutch cousins you didn't know you had. The Hermes across from the hotel serves a good steak and beer for the last evening when your travel pass has run out.

Room Tip: A high west facing room gives a good view of the evening sky, if that appeals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    685
    169
    35
    11
See reviews for
190
634
68
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived much earlier on our check in time (7am) and was super happy we were able to check in and have a shower after 24hr flight. Staff were english speaking and friendly and happy to assist where possible, we were able to gain an ice bucket and wine glass with no issues. There is no mini fridge so u will want to get ice or drinks from downstairs. The room was very modern, clean and free wifi. The breakfast was simple and tasty! Looked forward to it each morning. There is parking available just drive up and speak into the intercom and they will let u in. Use the stairs to the right of the entrance and use the ticket machines which is .50 euro cheaper per ticket. Some take cards or cash. When returning to your hotel you will need to search on amsterdam sloterdijk, tickets are 4.20 for two adults. Dont use the top floor of the train as its first class. Very easy and about 5minto amsterdam central! There is a city tax per day appliedto ur bill, about 4 euro a day and payable on checkout. Loved our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisfoodie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After looking at a myriad of options online for locations in town, we choose this hotel for a two night stay. Our choice was based on the easy access to both the airport and Amsterdam tourist sites as well its very reasonable cost for high season. Given our experience with other reasonably priced hotels in Europe I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised to find a clean, well run hotel right across from the train station and buses/tram. Breakfast was included with ample choices of cereal, breakfast breads, meats and cheeses, yogurt and various hot drinks. All-in-all a real value.

We bought a multi-day transit pass and found the 12 tram into town very workable, with direct service to the museum area and single transfers to many other locations. We took a day trip to the Hague, by way of Haarlem, and the location near the train station made it very easy. The Sloterdijk station seemed safe, though candidly this was the first stop on our trip so we were fighting jet lag and were hard pressed to stay up past sunset.

Overall I'd highly recommend for anyone wanting to save a little money with a quieter location, yet have easy access to all major tourist locations in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam and thank you for your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here with family just before Christmas 2012.

The staff were very friendly and the place very tidy.

No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but this seems to be the norm nowadays for the budget hotels.

We dined in the hotel the first evening as we arrived quite late, the food was reasonably priced and very good. It was typical dutch cuisine.

The only downside about the hotel is the distance from the centre of Amsterdam, it's about a 20 min bus journey with the bus stop about 100m from the hotel. Links to the airport are extremely handy with the Sloterdijk Station about 500m away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
I am really surprised tough, that you did not find tea and coffee making facilities in the room, since this is something we do actually offer to all our guests in all the rooms.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
698 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a room on 7th floor looking away from the bus station and it was quiet, reasonably spacious, clean and with a comfortable bed. However the duvet was too small for the bed. The breakfast had a good range of food, but the staff had trouble keeping up with clearing the tables both mornings we were there. The hotel is 8 minutes by train or 15 minutes by bus or tram from the centre of the city. Be warned that at the weekend the one bar and restaurant nearby is not open so get a meal in the city before returning to the hotel. The staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: High up and looking away from the bus station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peach P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased that you took the time to write this review.
We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel and really appreciate that you share the points where we can still improve. We are aware that it is sometimes a challenge to serve breakfast to all our guests at the same time, and this is definately an area where we can still improve.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of May, and found this to be a friendly, modern and well equipped hotel for our short stay.
Check in as a priority member took seconds, and we were explained the whole business by very friendly staff. The room (7th floor at the back) had good views over the distant city, and extensive public transport links which all stop under the hotel, and can have you in the city centre in 10 to 20 minutes depending on mode of travel. (Train quickest)
The room was quiet (no station noise at all), very clean, and had an impressive shower/toilet room.
As noted before, there was limited space to hang clothes, but due to our short stay, it wasn't a problem.
Flat screen tv, coffee/tea making, very good air con, and comfortable beds. Breakfast ran from 07.30 to 10.30 , and the area, although busy on the first morning, had adequate seating, and was well stocked, and clean. Good selection of meats/cereals/breads and drinks..
Check out was as speedy and friendly as arrival.
Not a complaint, but a helpful tip. If you arrive by rail you need to exit the station and get to the very lowest level (where the trams and buses arrive and depart) as this is the entrance to the hotel.
This was a very pleasant hotel to stay in, and is very reasonably priced compared to the city centre ones. We will be staying again, and I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back are away from main station, so quieter. Hotel entrance is on the lowest r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam and for your time to write this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A planned one night stop over in Amsterdam was made even better staying at this hotel. The location is great, only 100 meters to the train station and one stop (5minutes) to Amsterdam Central (return ticket is 4 euros). The hotel is above average for a Holiday Inn Express. Parking is available on request and you will be greated by pleasant and very helpful staff. Ask for a city map at reception. The rooms are excellent, comfortable beds, Tv, tea/coffe and all the usual items. Windows have restricted opening but at least you get fresh air in the room. A nice bar and relaxation area with large screen TVs. No restaraunt service, but there is a good continental breakfast in the morning. Lifts were a bit slow, but would highly recommend and will definately use again.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor for a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this review.
We are pleased to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#67 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
2.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing