We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #64 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our first trip to Amsterdam”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station hotel from 21st to 23rd November, 2012, and can only give it 100% for service, staff friendliness, free continental breakfast, room cleanliness, everything being so modern, lovely shower facilities, and free internet. What more could you ask for?

Also they provided us with a map of Amsterdam, and were only too pleased to give us tips about how best to get around.

The convenience of this hotel, right by the rail station, gives it a special convenience factor, and yet, it isn't noisy. The rooms are sound proof.

It didn't have a restaurant, but we were recommended to Hermes Restaurant just across the road, and Peter Hermes, the owner, couldn't have been more friendly, and the meals we enjoyed there, were just out of this world. Especially tasty, and a good serving. I had steak and shrimp, with huges baked potator fries, vegetables and sald, and a beer. My wife had ribs. We shared most of the meals between us, to get the best from both.

We would totally recommend this hotel, for being conveniently situated between the Schiphol airport and the Centraal Station, in Amsterdam central.

John and Cheryl......our kindest regards to Daniel, Christina and Yvonne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.
We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    661
    166
    35
    10
See reviews for
175
604
65
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location of this Holiday Inn Express is right next to Sloterdijk Station. It is VERY convenient if you are travelling to/from Schiphol airport, 2 stops, €3.20 and a 11 minute journey and you are at the hotel or vice versa, and there is a train every 10 minutes during peak times.

First thing to point out is that if you have luggage beware, the entrance to the hotel is on the ground level, the exit from the train station is on level 2. So if you have heavy bags you have to carry them down 3 sets of stairs and there is NO lift nearby, you can go back into the station and find one but thats going to take time.

Check in was painless and as an Platinum member i was given a room on the 7th floor room 717. Here some advanced knowledge would be helpful as the hotel is next door to the busy railway station. Rooms with odd numbers overlook the station, even numbers the quiet business district. the room did have an opening window, but with this closed and the curtains closed you could still easily hear the trains.

I did have to complain about the temperature of the room as it was cold. I was advised that the system is slow to heat up but it should get to my desired temperature.....eventually, and it did.

Breakfast is the standard continental Holiday inn Express fare, so no complaints.

The checkin staff were very helpful and did offer to change my room if it did not get warmer. If i had been staying more than one night i would have changed to the other side of the hotel for a quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers overlook the station, even numbers the quiet business district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aircub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend and it was a last minute change of hotels. When in fact, we wished we'd chosen this one in the first place!

Location is excellent, 10 mins from the airport on the train and it's 10 mins the opposite direction into Amsterdam Central.

Staff were excellent and hugely professional and friendly. Rooms were big and comfortable. Check in and out was easy and free wifi throughout the hotel.

Only slight downside was that there was no food service (room service or restaurant) other than breakfast. Although we did find out that they had local take away menus for you to use at reception.

Overall, fantastic stay. Would definitely recommend to all and I would also definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattgilluley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team. We hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Right next to the station although getting into the hotel is quite difficult as you have to use a back entrance although the front door is on the street.
Great new hotel, lovely bar and louge area. Rooms clean and comfortable with triple glazing. Right next to the station but you can not hear any noise whatsoever. Very friendly staff I can't say enough good things about this place. Its only 10 mins and 2 stops from the airport and 1 stop from Amsterdam Central Station. The journey into Amsterdam from here is 5 mins !! there is a train every 5 mins and also trams outside the hotel door which take about 15mins.
Excellent value for money consider this hotel before any of the more expensive ones in Central Amsterdam. Its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Col007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team. At this moment we are looking into the possibilities for making a second entrance on the other side of the building. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 26th October for four nights. We arrived at 10.00 pm and on arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who booked us in very quickly. Our room was on the 4th floor and we found it to be spotlessly clean and everything we could possibly need with plenty of fluffy white towels. The bathroom had a walk in shower and was very modern and the room was lovely and warm. The hotel is right next to the train station but we did experience some noise from the trains as it was a very busy station. If you want a more quiet room it may be quieter on the other side of the hotel. The hotel is in a great location for trains, buses and trams which only take about 10 minutes to Amsterdam City Centre. We paid 16 euros each for a travel ticket for 72 hours which could be used on trains, buses and trams.

Breakfast was continental but was superb and consisted of cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast, croissants,rolls, cheese and hams etc. There was ample to choose from and self service hot drinks. The breakfast area was modern, airy and kept very clean.

If you stay at this hotel it is best to eat whilst in Amsterdam as there is no restaurant for food in the evening. They do have a small counter where you can purchase a roll, pot noodles or a small salad but very basic. There is a bar which opens in the evening and a fridge where you can purchase cold soft drinks. There did not seem to be any restaurants in the area itself except for snack bars in the train station which is a bit of a problem if you have not eaten and you don't want to go back to the city centre in the evening.

Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again for a shot break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience regarding the noise, despite of our sound proof windows. Your opinion is valuable to us and we can assure you that we will look into this. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked into this hotel as I had Priority points to use but couldn't have worked out better. The hotel itself is very modern and at the top end spec wise for a holiday inn express. Continental breakfast was good however what really made this hotel good was the location. The hotel lies immediately above the railway station which is halfway between the airport and Amsterdam City centre. The trains run on this line all night which makes getting back to the hotel from city centre very easy and cheap. Will definitely return to this hotel on next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vadougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and location and we hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a great location for getting into the city. Five minutes by bus or tram and you can buy a 48 hour pass for twelve euro's and the buses and trams run until 0130 hrs. Not many restaurants or bars close by though.
The bed was really uncomfortable as we just rolled into the middle, think this was all the beds though as we stayed there with another couple who had the same problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Regarding the beds, please accept our sincere apologies. we can assure you that we are taking your comment very seriously and will take proper action.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.1 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
0.3 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#75 of 367 in Amsterdam
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing