We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Nearby Hotels
$330
$294
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$506
$491
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$302
$266
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
$230
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$471
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,698)
Filter reviews
1,698 results
Traveler rating
653
791
195
43
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
791
195
43
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehi expresstrains runspar shopminute train ridecontinental breakfasttravel cardtakes minuteshotel is locatedtrams and busescold meatseasy accessboiled eggsconvenient locationthe breakfast areaexcellent locationpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,698 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location of this Holiday Inn Express is right next to Sloterdijk Station. It is VERY convenient if you are travelling to/from Schiphol airport, 2 stops, €3.20 and a 11 minute journey and you are at the hotel or vice versa, and there is a train every 10 minutes during peak times.

First thing to point out is that if you have luggage beware, the entrance to the hotel is on the ground level, the exit from the train station is on level 2. So if you have heavy bags you have to carry them down 3 sets of stairs and there is NO lift nearby, you can go back into the station and find one but thats going to take time.

Check in was painless and as an Platinum member i was given a room on the 7th floor room 717. Here some advanced knowledge would be helpful as the hotel is next door to the busy railway station. Rooms with odd numbers overlook the station, even numbers the quiet business district. the room did have an opening window, but with this closed and the curtains closed you could still easily hear the trains.

I did have to complain about the temperature of the room as it was cold. I was advised that the system is slow to heat up but it should get to my desired temperature.....eventually, and it did.

Breakfast is the standard continental Holiday inn Express fare, so no complaints.

The checkin staff were very helpful and did offer to change my room if it did not get warmer. If i had been staying more than one night i would have changed to the other side of the hotel for a quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers overlook the station, even numbers the quiet business district.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aircub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend and it was a last minute change of hotels. When in fact, we wished we'd chosen this one in the first place!

Location is excellent, 10 mins from the airport on the train and it's 10 mins the opposite direction into Amsterdam Central.

Staff were excellent and hugely professional and friendly. Rooms were big and comfortable. Check in and out was easy and free wifi throughout the hotel.

Only slight downside was that there was no food service (room service or restaurant) other than breakfast. Although we did find out that they had local take away menus for you to use at reception.

Overall, fantastic stay. Would definitely recommend to all and I would also definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattgilluley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team. We hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Right next to the station although getting into the hotel is quite difficult as you have to use a back entrance although the front door is on the street.
Great new hotel, lovely bar and louge area. Rooms clean and comfortable with triple glazing. Right next to the station but you can not hear any noise whatsoever. Very friendly staff I can't say enough good things about this place. Its only 10 mins and 2 stops from the airport and 1 stop from Amsterdam Central Station. The journey into Amsterdam from here is 5 mins !! there is a train every 5 mins and also trams outside the hotel door which take about 15mins.
Excellent value for money consider this hotel before any of the more expensive ones in Central Amsterdam. Its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Col007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team. At this moment we are looking into the possibilities for making a second entrance on the other side of the building. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 26th October for four nights. We arrived at 10.00 pm and on arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who booked us in very quickly. Our room was on the 4th floor and we found it to be spotlessly clean and everything we could possibly need with plenty of fluffy white towels. The bathroom had a walk in shower and was very modern and the room was lovely and warm. The hotel is right next to the train station but we did experience some noise from the trains as it was a very busy station. If you want a more quiet room it may be quieter on the other side of the hotel. The hotel is in a great location for trains, buses and trams which only take about 10 minutes to Amsterdam City Centre. We paid 16 euros each for a travel ticket for 72 hours which could be used on trains, buses and trams.

Breakfast was continental but was superb and consisted of cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast, croissants,rolls, cheese and hams etc. There was ample to choose from and self service hot drinks. The breakfast area was modern, airy and kept very clean.

If you stay at this hotel it is best to eat whilst in Amsterdam as there is no restaurant for food in the evening. They do have a small counter where you can purchase a roll, pot noodles or a small salad but very basic. There is a bar which opens in the evening and a fridge where you can purchase cold soft drinks. There did not seem to be any restaurants in the area itself except for snack bars in the train station which is a bit of a problem if you have not eaten and you don't want to go back to the city centre in the evening.

Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again for a shot break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience regarding the noise, despite of our sound proof windows. Your opinion is valuable to us and we can assure you that we will look into this. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked into this hotel as I had Priority points to use but couldn't have worked out better. The hotel itself is very modern and at the top end spec wise for a holiday inn express. Continental breakfast was good however what really made this hotel good was the location. The hotel lies immediately above the railway station which is halfway between the airport and Amsterdam City centre. The trains run on this line all night which makes getting back to the hotel from city centre very easy and cheap. Will definitely return to this hotel on next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vadougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and location and we hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews