We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #62 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Happy Customers”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just spent five nights here. We commend the reception staff on both their friendliness and helpfulness. Our bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and our bed was very comfortable. Large walk-in shower in bathroom. Tea and coffee were replenished daily. For those who enjoy their TV, an added bonus was that apart from other English programmes, there were BBC1 and BBC2. Re breakfast - staff were very efficient and polite. Food, drink and crockery etc. were replenished quickly. There was only one day that we found the breakfast room quite full, but staff were clearing the tables as soon as people left, so there was no need to queue. Food/drink were of excellent quality and this was a continental breakfast 'plus' re the variety of items available, including hard-boiled eggs. The hotel is next to the buses/trams/metro and train station. If you only want to do a return journey into Amsterdam, i.e. not use any other form of transport whilst in the city centre, the train is brilliant and costs 4 euros 20 return; journey time five minutes, and there are six trains an hour.
If you know you'll want to use transport in the city centre, then it's more economical to buy an OV Chipkaart. (You cannot use these on the trains.) A 24-, 48- or 72-hour one can be bought at reception, or 96-hour from the machine at the station. Unfortunately, if you want one for 120 hours, you can only buy these from the GVB tourist info. place opposite Amsterdam Centraal station. They are activated at the start of the journey, not when bought. No 12 tram goes from Sloterdijk, and then you might need to change depending on which part of the city you want. Bus/train maps are available and very easy to follow in oder to plan your journey. Timetables are available on the buses/trams from the conductor.
When arriving at Sloterdijk station from Schipol airport, there is a lift to the main concourse. You do NOT have to struggle with luggage to get to the hotel entrance as a lift is available. On the concourse in the main entrance, head for the AKO shop. Go to right of shop following signs M, pictures of buses/trams and 'Chaniway'. At the end of the passage on right is the metro entrance. Exit through doors here. Go over very small bridge and at the end of this turn right to lift. Exit lift and do a U-turn. The Holiday Inn Express is a few metres ahead. Enter and take the lift to floor 1 which is reception. However, if your train stops at platforms 9 or 10, you will have to walk approx. 150 metres to the main entrance in order to follow the above directions. Again, no stairs are involved because there is a lift from platform to street level.
To sum up - excellent value for what we paid for accommodation. Much cheaper than staying at something comparable in the centre, including buying our transport tickets. Anyway, you'd pay extra for return journey from Schipol airport to Amsterdam Centraal, and the chances are you'd use the trams once there.
Thank you Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DHSLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    651
    161
    34
    9
See reviews for
174
593
62
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here as we arrived late to Amsterdam from Brussels after hubby finished work and it was convenient as only about 3 mins walk from public transport centre. But I would not recommend it for exploring Amsterdam as there is not a lot in this area. But if you don’t mind traveling each night back to your hotel then its not really a problem as there is an excellent transport service.

We stayed here as we had points to use a so it only cost us €20 extra and it included breakfast too. The reception staff are friendly and efficient in checking us in but failed to mention that to exit the hotel was via -2 not 0. We found this out via another guest – (who found it out from another guest!) although it does mention it on the wall – but who reads notices on a lift wall.


The breakfast was very good with variety of items- bread rolls, cheese, meats, croissants, yogurts, fruit, cereals, toast, juices, coffee…buffet style. So really enjoyed a good breakfast to start our day. The staff were friendly and very efficient at cleaning the tables and re-stocking as I went to get a croissant but none, then hubby refilled coffee and came back with a croissant as they had re-stocked. The breakfast room can be very busy but we found a table no problem at 8:50am.

We had a room on the 7th floor with an excellent view which hubby loved – the train station. And also he loved all the train pictures on the wall to our room. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. There is a choice of pillows. Tea, coffee and small kettle is supplied in the room.

Really enjoyed our stay and made it easy to travel onto our next hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLou3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We enjoyed both this hotel and the other Express in Amsterdam. Unfortunately it was booked so we had to change between the hotels. But this one was also fantastic. Great people working in the hotel and fantastic links to the center (the other hotel was great too but a little further to reach the city center) of Amsterdam. We felt the price quality was great. This was the reason that the hotels where sold out.The rooms are well appointed and very clean. Going back to Amsterdam we will be back at either Holiday Inn Express. Its a difficult choice between the two but maybe we can then make a choice based on the current price. Easy!

Room Tip: Don book to late....they might be sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here two weeks ago after booking a late deal weekend through British Airways. Although this hotel is not in the centre of Amsterdam i thought it was perfect. Its right next to the station which takes you into Amsterdam Central and i was pleased to see almost every train out from central stopped here. Its literally 7 mins max away from the centre. The staff were absolutely delightful and the breakfast choices were good. I would recommend this place to anyone and i will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikNikScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is right at the Sloterdijk Station, so it is easily accessible. The hotel was very quiet. The room was large. The only negatives that you have to take the train back and forth to city center. While it is only a short train ride, the costs mount up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOLSON3992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent day and night in Amsterdam waiting for flight. Stayed at this hotel as it is connected to the train station which is only minutes from downtown and the airport. The rooms are standard Holiday Inn Express and are great. Staff were very friendly, providing maps and directions for site seeing.Breakfast was great with a lot of choices, including great fresh breads, fruits, eggs.
Would highly recommend booking in advance as the discount for advance booking is great.

Room Tip: Booking early on the web site provides a fantastic discount for a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Location:
Adjacent to sloterdijk station. Exit station, turn left, walk down stairs and hotel entrance is on the right hand side.

Check in:
Greeted by courteous and friendly staff on arrival. My request for early check in was granted fuss free during our stay 24-29july12 as our flight arrived ams early morning.

Room:
Nice, bright, clean. Large flat screen tv had plenty of channel options. Handy kettle for coffee/tea.

Bathroom:
Modern and fitted with high quality sanitary wares.

Breakfast:
Selection of cold meat, cheese, cut and uncut fruits, yoghurt, fresh bake croissants and other pastries. Plenty of tea and condiments to choose from. Daily variation was lacking as food offering was same throughout our stay. Consolation was the food was fresh, of good quality and regularly replenished.

Staff:
Reception was staffed by 2-3 regularly seen faces who smiles and acknowledges guests when they walk by. A request for dinner reservation at a city restaurant was handled efficiently. They even queried how dinner was when I saw them the next day.
Breakfast lounge was kept clean by a couple of staff who worked quietly and efficiently clearing tables. Others were busy replenishing food.

Points to note:
An in house laundry/ironing facility should be provided.
Rooms lack a personal safe.
Room air conditioning issues mentioned in other reviews ought to be looked at and rectified.

Overall:
Excellent hotel conveniently located providing clean comfortable value for money stay. I'm planning to return to ams in december and would definitely be staying with them again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surya_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.1 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
4.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#111 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing