We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Ranked #196 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

For the price you pay for this place, you don't really get anything but a small room.

No breakfast
Pay for WiFi
Bad location, so far away from everything
Really nice reception though!
The rooms, as small as they are, are quite nice. Very clean, good aircon, very modern

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Andrew L,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor for us!
We are delighted that you found the staff to be really nice and the rooms small, but clean modern and quite nice!
Since we do not have our own restaurant, we provide our guests with a reduction card that can be used at several nice breakfast places that are within walking distance from the hotel.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as WIFI access. Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee. This certainly does not detract from any inconvenience caused.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

easy hotel is not located any were near the dam square!! so if you're going to the cafes and visiting the coffee shops and red light do not stay here. The hotel stank and there was no kettle in the room and you had to pay extra for every thing! shops close really early around this hotel!! its located in a ruff part of Amsterdam and the shop next door please avoid going there they are all weird. The food was horrible there the only decent meal we had was mc Donald's and that was a mile away from the hotel. the tram stop is also a mile away and if you stay here catch the 16-24 tram bus. Very standard and the staff only understand a little of English except for this 1 girl she was really nice there's a market by the hotel but it just sells crap to be honest. id avoid staying here if I went to Amsterdam again!! :@:@:@:@:@

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Karina T!

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us.
You are right, we are not located near Dam Square, it is a 15 minute ride on the tram, and the tram stop is only a 5 minute walk away -in front of Mc Donald's ;-) and the lovely famous Albert Cuyp Street Market.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as WIFI internet access. Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee.
Thank you again for sharing your thouhgts and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you another time.

Regards from Amsterdam!
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My friend and I booked this hotel for a short trip to Amsterdam. We were looking for somewhere affordable with easy access to the centre. We arrived early and paid an extra €7:50 to check in early. The man at the reception desk was relatively friendly. We went into our room, everything was cleaned to an acceptable standard and we were provided with towels and a tv with channels in all different languages, and also a variety of different films, including family, action, comedy and also some more raunchy porn films! The room was very harshly lit and had no option to make it feel nicer, the ceiling was VERY high and made it feel like we were sleeping in an office block or warehouse, there was also very little storage/floor space meaning that our whole floor was taken up with suitcases. The blind was also broken so we couldn't open it, meaning that the room had no natural light. The sink was inconveniently small and had a ledge above it meaning that you couldn't use it for shaving, washing your face and even brushing your teeth was difficult. There was only one plug in the room and it was at the opposite side of the room to the bed. The light in the bathroom area didn't work which meant that it was always very dark in there as we couldn't open the blind. The windows don't open meaning that there is no fresh air, and the air conditioning in our room didn't work very well so the room was constantly a bit too hot and airless. The bed was however very comfortable. You have to pay more to get your room cleaned/towels changed and the wifi also costs more. I feel like this hotel charges you for everything which comes as a standard in other hotels. We weren't spending very much time in the hotel though, so it was fine. I would only recommend this hotel if you aren't going to be spending any time in it, apart from sleeping and getting ready!
On a positive note it is VERY central with everything within walking distance!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Liam Wt,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your visit with us earlier and we are pleased you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and thought that the beds were very comfy.
We are happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and the hotel location to be VERY central, walking distance to many main sights or the public transport stop nearby, that can bring you directly into town ;-).
We are sorry to hear that you found the room a little small, we do have some bigger rooms available for your next visit!
We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as internet access. Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee. This certainly does not detract from any inconvenience caused.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we may assist with your room choice.

Warm regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Having stayed at the Easyhotel in Berlin last year we knew what to expect. This hotel is in a nice area with shops and a nice assortment of eating places close by. There is also a good street market. It is a nice walk into the city centre and to Museum Square or very easy by tram (#16 or 24). Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable, but quite narrow and short -anyone who was tall would probably find it a squeeze. Air conditioning was good. Wifi is quite expensive as 5 euros per day only allows for one device to be used - but everywhere in Amsterdam has free wifi, so you could manage without! We used our discount card and ate at Omelegg which is close at hand- lovely food, also Pasta Pasta without discount but very tasty and great value!
If I had any negative it would be that we were wakened by noise in the early hours each night - more to do with selfish guests than the hotel - if I had remembered my ear plugs it would have solved this problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank weekendwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear weekendwanderers!

Thank you for choosing to stay at easyHotel while visiting Amsterdam. We enjoyed reading your positive comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your (clean and small ;-) ) room and our location. We are happy you were able to enjoy the reduction we offer for your breakfast, and appreciate your recommendations for other travelers to choose our hotel!
We look forward to a return visit from you,

Warm Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
easyHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This room had the lowest price for a standard two person room in Amsterdam. I did not expect anything, but the room was surprisingly spacious and the mattras was good. The bathroom was functional and large enough. The hotel staff was very friendly and the elevator was convenient for our suitcase. The neighbourhoud is just fine, nothing special, and relatively close to the museum quarter. Also, there are some nice restaurants located close to the hotel. When I return to Amsterdam and have a similar budget I will definitely book a room at easyhotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Pol S,

Thank you so much for letting us know we succeeded in showing you Amsterdam Hospitality ;-) We are grateful for your business and couldn't be happier that your stay was so great. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#154 of 372 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 372 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#82 of 372 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $68 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing