We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable bed, ok location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Ranked #192 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good basic hotel. Clean, comfortable bed, quiet, and good location (easily accessible via tram from central station, or you can walk into the city center in about 30 minutes - indeed, compact city so most things within walking distance!). Very clean and the bathroom, compared to other easyhotels I have stayed at, was generous in size. Only negatives, shower head needed tightening as it kept slipping down so was difficult to get the water to aim onto oneself! And, our neighbours despite the clear signs everywhere asking people not to smoke were doing so which was incredibly unpleasant (suggest the reception try to keep a closer eye on this).

Room Tip: top floor, not street facing, was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy123traveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Happytraveller86,

Thank you for your kind words.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location so much. We like to be known for our clean, comfortable rooms in a good location .

Thanks to your review we have tighten up all the shower heads.

We agree that it's very unpleasant when people do not obey our house rules by still smoking in their rooms.
We do hand out fines en ask smoking guest to leave the hotel.

Unfortunately it is still difficult to catch everyone who smoke in the hotel. Therefore we do need the help from our other guests. So if you would have let us know we would fine them and aks them to leave.

It has been a pleasure having you as your guest and we hope to welcome with a tighten shower head.

With kind regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is ok, not so close to all the main streets and attractions but easy to access by public transport. There is a tram station right outside the hotel, but you have to use the map to know where to get on and off and change lines, I think it's kind of complicated to find out by yourself if you don't know the city, but the city maps are very good in general. Amsterdam is a very small city and it's built in a circular shape so just imagine you are running in circles, you can't really get lost there.

At the reception the girl that we saw the first time was nice, but they don't help you more than you ask, I mean, they only answer what they think you need to know.

**Maybe this is something they do in Europe in general because in Belgium it was the same thing. They just give you a map and tell you to find out by yourself lol. (I am mexican so I am not really used to this kind of attention, where I live people usually try to help you a lot)**

The room was very clean, we asked for a room with window which was from wall to wall so we had some sunlight in during the day (we weren't there anyway), we had 2 twin beds with just half a meter between each one, the room was very small, basic and clean.

The bathroom was right in front, with a cristal door, yes, you can see everything from your bed. This means that if you are staying here with someone, this person has to be either your lover or your best friend or your mom because they will see and hear almost everything you do.

The tv, and wifi have additional cost, we didn't ask for it. There is a vending machine with snacks and coffee at the reception and some computers if you need to send an email or something, this is causes additional cost too.

Around, there are no open places after 7pm. Everything is closed, my friend and I were hungry at 10pm one day and we only found a small store like 2 blocks from the hotel, enough to get some food and drinks, but they way is kind of lonely and dark.

We bought breakfast at a small cafe in a corner across the street. It was delicious, we got a ham and cheese stuffed bread and a coffe for 3.50 euros, as expensive as Starbucks anywhere in the world but that's the cheapest we found.

The hotel is ok if you only need to rest, not for anything else. I would recommend for a short stay and tight budget like I had.

Room Tip: If your budget allows it, ask for the rooms with a window, they are so small that you could feel tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear KarlaCS,

Thank you very much for leaving such a honest comment on TripAdvisor.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your appreciate the concept that we have.
We pride ourselfs with having clean, comfortable rooms at a low price.

I will also forward your kind words to the reception. We are happy to help our guests as much as we can. But we don't want to overwelm them with to much information.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a very basic hotel. Everything is basic, but the room is clean, has a bed, shower and toilet which is all you pretty much need!

Extra things such as more towels (room already has 2), watching TV, early check-in, late check out, tea/coffee all cost money, but this is expected when you have paid such a low price for the room. The bathroom cubicle is in the room rather than a separate room. The door also doubles up as the shower screen too.

Our room was facing the main street, so it was a little noisy, but not too bad.

I wouldn't recommend using this hotel if you were staying longer than a couple of days, but for one or two nights or a weekend, it would be perfect for this.

Its is in easy walking distance of the Tram 25 stop - Ceintuurbaan. Leidseplein is nearby and the Centre of Amsterdam for things like Dam Rak, Red Light District etc, is about a 25-30 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VodkaQueenNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear VodkaQueenNL,

All your comments are of great importance to us and will help us in our efforts to continuously maintain and improve our standards to the level you may expect from us. Therefore your suggestions are very much appreciated and always reviewed.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the easyHotel Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind Regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we didn't expect too much from this hotel but were pleasantly surprised we opted for the no frills room double with a bathroom. and that's what we got it was clean it had a nice big bed good clean shower and toilet. the location was ok it was a bit of a walk into the centre but there is trams etc close by we walked to dam square etc most days it takes about 15 to 20 mins, it is a no frills hotel that's why its priced as is . if you want extras like wifi , tv , laundry etc then you have to pay but who wants to watch tv when in Amsterdam NOT Me. great breakfast at the omelette place near the hotel and lots of restaurant's within easy walk. if the room is just somewhere to stay then it is perfect if you want to hang out there all day then its probably not for you

Room Tip: we had a corner room which gave you a little more floor space as well as views of downtown Amsterda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardoproudos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear eduardoproudos,

All your comments are of great importance to us and will help us in our efforts to continuously maintain and improve our standards to the level you may expect from us. Therefore your suggestions are very much appreciated and always reviewed.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the easyHotel Amsterdam, or to one of our affiliated hotels, when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind Regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Definitely one of the better EasyHotels that I have stayed in. Does what it says on the tin- provides a cheap, basic and clean room. Very good sized room- similar to most other standard hotels. Lovely big and comfortable bed. Large bathroom. Efficient check-in. While not in the centre of Amsterdam, it is within 10 minutes of the centre via tram. Excellent value for money. Like all other EasyHotels you pay extra for TV, etc but you don't go to Amsterdam to watch TV in your room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theirishleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear theirishleprechaun,


Thank you very much for your kind words.

It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again at easyHotel Amsterdam in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was too basic, no TV (you have to pay an extortionate price). It was honestly like a prison cell, there were bits on the floor so could not walk without socks on. If you are not going to be in your hotel then this may be OK but overall is was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Jackya M.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have discussed your remarks with the entire Hotel Team to take the appropriate actions to prevent re-occurrence. We will do our utmost to prevent this from happening in the future. This certainly does not detract from any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#80 of 374 in Amsterdam
898 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#153 of 374 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#263 of 374 in Amsterdam
775 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#307 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $51 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing