We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than 5 mins walk to Tram services, countless restaurants, and coffee shops.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
Ranked #193 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Really nice place to stay if your on a budget. We stayed in the 'Superior Room" with 2 double beds. They give you a fan for the warmer months that you plug into the wall. The beds were alright to get a good nights sleep. A 5 mins walk to Tram services we mainly used Route 1 or 5 that brings you straight to Central station. To many restaurants to count at a "stone throw away". And coffee shops dotted throughout the area.

One negative would be the breakfast they provide. 8 euros Per person everyday. with a meal spread of little more than cereal, toast, and jam. Walk to a pancake house just over the bridge and dig in.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room that looked onto the main street with no problems of noise for traffic.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Joshua,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Maybe you expected a full American Breakfast Buffet in the morning. In stead we serve a Continental breakfast wich is less extensive but, in my opinion, at a fair price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

The main issue I had with this hotel was the reservation system. We turned up after booking and requesting a double room to be given a twin room. The explanation for this was that we book a room type and not a bed type and that the room type we booked only had 2 doubles, and a host of twins.

Why isn't this raised at the point of booking? If we were told at that stage that a double wasn't available we would have tried a different room type. The hotel staff we not very accommodating in trying to arrange a double room (do you have a record of when people are checking out of doubles rather than telling us to "come down and check in the morning"?).

Anyway, we stuck with the twin room and tried to make the most of it which was difficult when the room was only cleaned 1 night out of the 4 we stayed so had to make trips to reception for clean towels.

Aside from very poor booking/customer service/maintenance, the location of the hotel is ok, a short walk from Leidseplein square which has access to the centre via tram.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Richard,

I am very sorry to read your review after having sat down with you and explaining the booking procedure and reason why we can not confirm bed types at time off booking. I also remember from our conversation that my explanation was understood and I was able to arrange a room move the next day. I will not engage in a furthure discussion with you publicly, so in case you wish you reach me at info.theatredistrict@hampshire-hotels.com, I will be more than happy to explain again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had reservations of this hotel when I checked in as the woman, Anjana, I believe her name was, she was ever so cold and frosty. After walking to our hotel from the station, in the pouring rain, I expected a warmer welcome. However everything else was perfection! Our room seemed small at first but we grew to love our cosy room as it was so quiet and clean. Considering this hotel is on a busy main road, we heard nothing. Even in the near hurricane like winds, we got a lovely nights sleep. Free tea & coffee in the lounge was a godsend with the appalling weather and is a nice addition to the service provided by this hotel. Obviously we obeyed the strict no smoking policy that this hotel had in place and felt very comfortable leaving the hotel and smoking around the corner in the early hours of the mornings when the coffee shops had shut their doors. The hotel staff kept themselves to themselves and didn't bother us once, which is what we wanted. A couple smiles were exchanged here and there and that was perfect. The cleaners always came in and made the beds/hoovered and the entire hotel was just generally well kept. Would definitely stay/book here again.. The only fault I can put on this place, and trust me, it seems like not a big thing but the pillows to sleep on are genuinely SQUARE. Pillows are not shaped that way for a reason and it was hard to drift off at night. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, it's exceptionally quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah-Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Hannah,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and its "cosyness". Your points raised will be addressed internally to even better our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Hampshire Hotel (theatre district) from the 7th-9th February. We checked in quite late at around 9pm and found the staff to be very efficient, friendly and helpful. Room was nice and had all the amenities we needed including a hair dryer,shower gel and free WIFI and the Cleaners made our bed/changed towels on both days which was unexpected but appreciated. There is also a free coffee and tea machine downstairs. Hotel is in a fantastic location just over the road from Leidseplein square, so you have the benefit of being in a lively place without the noise. Also lots of tram and bus routes nearby but we found it easy to get everywhere by foot. We were able to leave our luggage in the hotel in our last day and staff proactively organised a taxi for us on our return. Fantastic service and would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room for extra space and and a view facing the canal
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Kirsti,

Thnak you for your kind words and appreciation of our hospitality and service.
You are "More than Welcome".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at the hotel and it was alright for sleeping and relaxing between trips in the city. You Get what you pay for. Central location, but in a quiet street. Good service in the reception. The room need an uppgrade, especially the shower which changed temperature of its own free will. But all over - okey and we enjoyed it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Christinasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Christina,

Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed her 31/01/14 - 03/02/14 and found this hotel to be good, the lady that checked us in was bit cold with us at first but apart from that everyone was polite , we requested an iron twice but never got it but apart from that it was a well run hotel clean rooms perfect location.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Martyn,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not provided an iron after requesting for it twice. I will discuss this internally, so we may prevent this from happening again. Please accept my appologies for this inconvenience.

With kind regards,
Stefaan, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here in Sept 2013. The hotel is fantastically situated close to all the attractions we wanted to see. A variety of transport modes are nearby. There are a plethora of charming eating establishments in close proximity. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was tasty, plentiful and healthy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Tim,

NIce to read about your positive experience with our hotel. Although you stayed with us a while ago your feed back is much still appreciated.

With kind regards,
Stefaan, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#149 of 371 in Amsterdam
528 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,992 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#244 of 371 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Address: Nassaukade 387 /390, 1054 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is the ideal place for culture vultures. The hotel is located right in the centre, just behind Leidseplein and close to the city's large theatres: DeLaMar Theater and Stadsschouwburg. Famous music venues Paradiso and Melkweg are also around the corner. Various internationally-renowned museums are just a few minutes walk away, such as Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing